August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Seconds To Home

by MrSecretUnlock - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a time-travel text adventure based on the idea that you can visit ten different time zones but only spend a given second in history in each one.

There's no audio and I'm not an artist but the main reason for the text approach was it interested me when I had the game idea. Proving that a game's structural logic is solid through text only is quite an intriguing tool imo.

The game's very simple once you work it out. I didn't work on it as much as I would have liked due to other commitments over the weekend - only did about 18 hours in total. It needs a lot more work and testing really. but, hey, I'm sure lots of entries are like that.

Disclaimer - Mac and Linux builds are provided blind so let me know if they don't work (and if you can see the problem, even better.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#282Mood3.11
#328Theme3.39
#787Innovation2.67
#820Overall2.78
#912Humor1.58
#937Audio1.44
#972Fun2.37
#1146Graphics1.73

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:59am

Submitted with 3 minutes to go. Had to kick the shit out of Unity for half-an-hour to get deployment working.

Terrabyte says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:54am

Suggestion: Unity Web player is unavailable on Linux, so if you provide a linux build, you'll increase your audience slightly.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22am

Good match to the theme, i think.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:51am

Linux and Mac builds added (untested by me).

LiamJPeters says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Gotta love a a time-travel text adventure! :)

small trouble says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Interesting idea which matches the theme very well. Writing is quite good.

leedo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:38pm

I wonder if it would have been doable with twine

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Yeah, maybe Twine. Only had a quick look at it before. Certainly was a pain in the ass editing xml and getting the logic right (well, almost).

ibilon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42pm

I've tried the linux version, I went to the first era, I returned to the void but could go to the previous one, then I pressed the space key and stuff went and leaved the screen.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Good gameplay design for a text based game.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29pm

@ibilon - Yeah, ok, problem with keys. Thanks. Just use the mouse and click the buttons and you should be fine.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Well written, and fits the theme very well. I kinda got stuck though - I found the medical dart, but I never found any injured, dead or dying people anywhere in Time to use it on, and never saw anything else useful. Did I miss something?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Yeah. Some of the clues are a bit subtle because it's mostly first-pass text. (SPOILER --- The first step is to see the Roman connection.)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Have updated builds with:
Fix game completion stopper bug.
A couple of typos in the text.
Changed font to a free one. (Not sure if there was an issue using the default Unity one but done just in case.)

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:25am

Excellent use of the theme! I really like your idea of ten discrete seconds rather than a single ten-second period. A bit of Chrono Trigger here, yes?

The very first puzzle -- the Roman bit you allude to in an earlier comment -- is by far the hardest in the game. Once you're through that, it's pretty straightforward.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:06am

@Darien Thanks. Obviously had no time for gameplay balancing. Puzzles and text were all a first-pass job. So thanks for the feedback. Hopefully will develop the game further in future.

Reyn says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 11:59am

Hi, I'm missing something, you are going to have to spell out what 'see the roman connection' means :-O I cannot use the DDD or the dart in the roman time. Thanks!

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Nice one. Only issue I had was that I used the medical dart on the guy before I could pick up the papers, then couldn't get them after that so had to restart. Very nice take on the theme, and fun to play. Good work :)

X-0r says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Unable to get any further than the medical dart. Travelled everywhere, even to that museum, etc. There is nothing to use the dart on, no way to find any other equipment part, nothing to use the DDD on. Is the order of visits even relevant?

X-0r says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Ah. Solved it. Spoiler(?) You *can* use the DDD in order to have an effect.

Reyn says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:56pm

I assume someone is suppose to die when you use the DDD ? So that you can use the dart ? Still doesn't work :(

Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:24am

(SPOILER) OK. First step is to use the DDD to interrupt the fighting Romans so that there is no skeleton and hence no museum in present day. (Apologies for the subtlety of it all.) And, the medical dart is a bit of a red herring at the beginning - I didn't have time to lock it away until later.

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Nicely polished and moody.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]