August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ringtastic

by Vectorious - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fly through the rings! (Or don't!) And don't run out of time! You start with 10 seconds (and that is the maximum), running into the red rings with take away 2 seconds. The blue rings will add 1 second.

Controls: Mouse movement.

Blue rings: +1 point, +1 second, and a boost of speed.
Red rings: -2 seconds, and slows you down.
Yellow rings: +1 multiplier.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#86Fun3.62
#202Overall3.46
#426Audio2.76
#522Mood2.77
#535Graphics2.92
#773Theme2.92
#862Innovation2.54
#1359Coolness42%

Comments

CuberToy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Ok so, made a score of 532 (is that good ? :p) Really fun, totally enjoyed it. Reminds me of Dejobaans Games (Aaaah, 123 Kick it...) wich I like, so, yeah, great game (and graphics, and music).

jcvsmc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:22pm

The screenshot doesn't do this game justice! it's really fun! and fast! =)

Vectorious says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:27pm

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Funny that you see the resemblance, the original idea was a bit more similar to AaAaAA!!! actually, (reach the end in 10 seconds by hitting boosts and avoiding obstacles), but I didn't want to get stuck on level design as this is my first game, so I opted for something more arcadey! The music is actually procedurally generated (thanks to http://www.abundant-music.com/). Music is an aspect I definitely need to work on. :)

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Nice and simple. On the balance side, i think, it should start on lower speed, and space rings out a little bit. And then get harder and harder by increasing speed and amount of rings. Music is a bit dull though, one should never use plain midis :)

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Very fun and competitive game. I'd love a leaderboard somewhere ;)

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:18pm

The sense of speed in this game is very good. In-fact the whole game is rather well-done. The only problem that I can see is,that while it is well implemented, your design is a bit lacking.

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Nice and hectic

Anton_D says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Really nice game! Plays really smooth (topscore = 196)

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Great game with simple visuals, I thought the music doesn't fit with the game...

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Good game, 153 was my top.

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53pm

This is really good fun! For such a simple concept it works surprisingly well. I got a top score of 256.

blay09 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:44pm

I liked the music, it might not fit the speed of the game, but it sounded nice.

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Man, you really nailed the sense of speed on this. I hope you decide to develop it more. High Score: 456

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:14pm

PLEASE MAKE A SONIC GAME!!!!!

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:59am

Really nice. I like this graphics style, and gameplay is originally :)

Diptoman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:20am

Felt like the speed was too much at times, but yeah makes it even more challenging. Had fun playing though. And yeah, great music.

Tinard says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Nice! Well done!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Cool idea, not really much to say, it is a simple take on the theme, but really well executed. The fact that the rings give off light is a nice graphical touch. Keep it up!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:41am

Whoa! Really great entry! =D
Remembered me a lot of AaaaaAAaaaAAAaaAAAAaAAAAA!!! for the Awesome (yeah, that's the name of the game).
Really fun, loved it!

IHateATMFees says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:19am

Loved the sensation of speed, very satisfying

Sascha says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:52am

Fun game! I actually really liked the music track, but I thought it didn't fit the speed and the type of the game at all...

Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Nice game! :) I like the music, but not so much the sounds. Quite addictive. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]