August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Still Charging!

by xfxian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You find yourself and your spaceship inside of a fierce asteroid field - It's looking bad! The only way to go now is to charge up the jumpdrive and get the hell out. But this will take at least 10 seconds and leave you unprotected with no shields and weaponry.

Good luck anyway!


--


Here it is, my first LD48 entry and also the first game that I've ever released to the public.

It's written in MonoGame, so Linux users and maybe even MacOS Users might have luck using Mono - unfortunately I have no time to test this right now, so please let me know how it works out for you! UPDATE: I need to recompile it for Linux/MacOS - maybe I'll have time in the next days!

It might be necessary to install the OpenAL library as the only real dependency of MonoGame (besides Mono or the .NET Framework). The installer oalinst.exe can take care of this at least on Windows!

I started somewhat late on Saturday afternoon but have been working almost non-stop (only some sleep) since then, and it's been great. I even like the final product, even if it's far from done (no sound, animations, enemies, etc.) or even polished.

Maybe you have some fun with the nice physics (Farseer Physics Engine for XNA/MonoGame) anyway!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#356Graphics3.24
#686Theme3.03
#718Overall2.91
#768Humor1.91
#809Mood2.41
#811Innovation2.63
#929Fun2.44
#930Audio1.47

Comments

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:59am

Haha, you tricked me. :) The game doesn't have any OS X distributables.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02am

A nice game, even though the lack of sound is very noticable.

xfxian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:04am

You're right, no Linux/OSX binaries, but it can run on Linux and OSX using Mono. If you had Mono installed on your OSX machine it might work for you if you'd call "mono StillCharging.exe" from command line.

But as I wrote in the description that's completely untested as of now, sorry!

xfxian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:06am

@ashdnazg: Thanks! Yeah, I would have loved to add some sound, but ran out of time :/ But I'm thinking of doing a polished out-of-competition version soon!

Thinkofdeath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:12am

Fun game, some sound effects would of been nice but the graphics are really good. Just a note: the game will sometimes crash for me when going into jumpdrive.

xfxian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:16am

@Thinkofdeath: Oh, after you jumped or while you're still holding spacebar?

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41am

Where are the 10 seconds? Am I missing something? The gameplay is pretty cool. Although the turret feels a bit weird.

manabreak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:42am

Congrats on your first LD!

The theme wasn't really there, and I had to read the first screen again to actually find out where the theme is. Nice job nevertheless. :)

Fede3751 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:42am

Fun, but too easy!
I managed to warp out without even shooting once :(

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43am

Nice game. I like the idea of having the option to use weapons, even though they aren't really necessary. I really like how the shields worked.
It did crash once, when I was jumping in the middle of the jump animation.
Sound would have been nice though. Great first entry!

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:46pm

It's a bit easy, yeah... But I like the reflection physics, shields, and the optional laser gun. First game you say? Damn, you're good =)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:48pm

I'm not sure that workaround for Mac/Linux will work, since Monogame has different implementations and references for each platform :)

ezolotko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Cool looking ship and text details. This could use some audio though.

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:51pm

The concept is really nice, has potential :) Especially if it was to become level based. I completed the game two times in one session, and on the end of completing the second time, the game crashed.

xfxian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:53pm

@Diogo Muller: Ha, right, thanks! Maybe I'll get around to put up some Linux/MacOS referenced versions in the next days (and test them, too...)

I really need to put in some harder levels in future versions (outside of the compo)!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Pretty cool but too easy as it stands. I moved around a bit while charging and 10 seconds later I finished the game. :) Asteroids too dark in my opinion also.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Your game matchs the theme really well. While charging a was like "COME ON, only X seconds to GO, C'MMON" :) That was fun.

I missed the audio. The rocks could have been a little brighter.

xfxian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Thanks for all the great feedback so far! The 'roids really seem to look much darker on other screens than mine, huh. Much room to improve!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:31pm

$ mono StillCharging.exe

Unhandled Exception: System.EntryPointNotFoundException: GetCursorPos
at (wrapper managed-to-native) Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Input.Mouse:GetCursorPos (Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Input.Mouse/POINT&)
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Input.Mouse.GetState () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.OpenTKGamePlatform.OnIsMouseVisibleChanged () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.GamePlatform.set_IsMouseVisible (Boolean value) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.OpenTKGamePlatform..ctor (Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game game) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.GamePlatform.Create (Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game game) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game..ctor () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at XFORGE.StillCharging.SCGame..ctor () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at XFORGE.StillCharging.Program.Main () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
[ERROR] FATAL UNHANDLED EXCEPTION: System.EntryPointNotFoundException: GetCursorPos
at (wrapper managed-to-native) Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Input.Mouse:GetCursorPos (Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Input.Mouse/POINT&)
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Input.Mouse.GetState () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.OpenTKGamePlatform.OnIsMouseVisibleChanged () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.GamePlatform.set_IsMouseVisible (Boolean value) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.OpenTKGamePlatform..ctor (Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game game) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.GamePlatform.Create (Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game game) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game..ctor () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at XFORGE.StillCharging.SCGame..ctor () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at XFORGE.StillCharging.Program.Main () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

$ mono --version
Mono JIT compiler version 2.10.8.1 (Debian 2.10.8.1-1ubuntu2.2)

It might be a library thing too... I'll try this when I get into Windows.

vrld says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Cool idea, but the game is a little too short. A neverending mode with an increasing number of asteroids could be fun.

Lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:11pm

I see someone was heavily influenced by FTL. The game crashed when the charging was finished though.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Nice idea, although i had problems playing it because i had problems with the keys (i use a Dvorak flavour and it somehow blocked Win7 from changing the keyboard layout.
So i guess it is a bit monoton, although i couldn't play it far as i had problems navigating :)

xfxian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Ha, didn't expect that one, sorry. Next time I'll include arrow key movement.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Congrats on finishing your first Ludum Dare! The game is fun but I wish there was more of a challenge to it. And I agree with the other comments, the lack of sound is quite noticeable.

panuo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:51pm

love the idea behind this game, but at the moment the best strategy seemed to be just holding space pressed from the begining

HopHop says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Too easy too jump while just avoiding the asteroids but otherwise good first game.

nicotr014 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Cool. I like the charge-up while avoiding damage gameplay!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]