August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tense Conds

by Afal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So.. I just realised that I was meant to declare any base/library code prior to work on LD. Didn't realise this til now. I've been using my homebrew canvas (https://github.com/dafrancis/Juicy) there's a few differences in the version in this game (work I haven't pushed to github yet)

My interpretation was tenseconds or tense conds. I'm not sure how often condiments is shortened to conds but somehow I imagined a jar with a really tight lid on it. This game is where you have to open a jar. I am sorry.

I should also note that the only other external resource I used was the "A Safe Place to Fall" font, which is free for personal use (if http://www.dafont.com/a-safe-place-to-fall.font is telling the truth)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#32Humor3.90
#426Audio2.76
#497Theme3.24
#647Innovation2.83
#789Mood2.44
#981Overall2.58
#1026Graphics2.08
#1136Fun1.90

Comments

Fritzendugan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:12am

hilarious.

Tegu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:30am

+1 for using "tense conds"

netguy204 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29am

i was amused by the chariots of fire humming. Does the jar ever open? I admit, I gave up.

Afal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:59pm

The jar is openable. Promise!

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I gave up trying to open the jar after a while. It's just not playable!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Wonderful. That's the only word I can use to describe this game.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Pretty funny one. Still the collision on the jar felt really odd. I just kept slipping off and it was really frustrating.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Hmm... not sure if my mouse is broken or this game is terrible...
No, my mouse is working fine!

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Phew, when I was almost giving up I did it! Hilarious game!

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:11pm

While I get the humour, the game was just a bit too difficult. While I did eventually get the jar open, it took way too long and was simple far more frustrating than it should have been.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Too bad I keep losing my grip so I cant listen to chariots of fire in peace =)

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:45am

hit detection on the jar is too tricky and makes it more frustrating than fun. Great idea though and good humour!

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Ok this was a bit weird but still liked it.

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:15pm

LOL, never realized that it is so difficult to open the jar. And just when i wanted to give up for real, I DID IT, yippieh. Interesting time of contemplation it gave me, like "why am i wasting my time with this" and "what the hell is this good for" and "is there life on mars".
Great piece of ... no idea what this is, but me like :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Meh, not my cup of tea, I must admit. I get the intention but the execution is slightly too poor for me to fully enjoy (the poor colision detection ruins the song, which is bad since there is not much else to enjoy here).
5/5 for the theme and humor though, I like this kind of a twist! :D

Also, +1 for the Regular Ordinary Sweedish Meal Time reference :D

KeithE. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Funny use of the theme.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Pretty hilariously awesome sound effects.

panurge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Having rated yet because the web link doesn't seem to be working. :(

Magdev says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:40am

Dude, on the real? Those were these most tense conds I've ever seen.

BNeutral says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:48am

Pffhahhahaah.

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Okay, it worked this time. Man, that was hard going! And I don't even like mayonnaise... Nice concept and execution. I feel a little stronger now.

filtoid says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Haha - nice interpretation of the theme. :)

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:30am

Hahahaha This is so awesome and stupid. Loved the soundtrack. I totally felt like I was a pro-athlete finishing a marathon.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:40am

I opened it. Great use of theme :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:54pm

This game takes loads of patience. I like it, best Jar simulator ever. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GZNeIKxvyg

Hayawi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:39pm

the abnormal hand was pretty funny but i dont get how the theme fits in, but i'm glad i'm not the only one who read
"tense conds" XD

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Ha. ha! I did it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]