August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Watching Them Go

by IronyInteractive - Jam Entry

Watching Them Go is an atmospheric, retro, pixel-filled platformer. In the game you play as a more-than-average Pleb, fighting back against a much larger race of invaders known as The Executors. Help your fellow Pleb, and they may help you too! Climb walls, push boulders, solve puzzles. Use your Plebs shouts to command others to do your bidding, or use a bow and arrow to strike down The Executors, as well as maniacal Plebs that are lost in blood lust. Ten second powerups, and ten seconds to heal from damage.

Controls:

W,A,S,D: Move, Climb.

S: Fetch Water/Use Slipgate

SPACE: Shout/Throw Water

CTRL: use Bow And Arrow (Acquired in level 1)

E: Talk to Plebs


----

Minor fixes:
v1.10 Player start location fix.
v1.12 Executors chase distance bug fix.

Switched hosts.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Mood(Jam)3.76
#105Overall(Jam)3.53
#123Fun(Jam)3.35
#210Audio(Jam)3.06
#297Graphics(Jam)3.24
#312Innovation(Jam)2.94
#538Theme(Jam)2.41
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:46am

You weren't kidding about the atmospheric part. Really like the feel of this one, it's got a really great, weighty animation style to it and a fantastic soundtrack. Very stylish stuff.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:52am

Really pretty. I'm have a lot of trouble at the first part after the long fall, I can't seem to climb the wall. Any pointers?

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:54am

Great work.
But too depressed for me.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:14am

Thanks, guys... We put alot of work into it, so we appreciate the recognition. =] @KhaoTom Try rolling the rock up to it so you can latch on above the door, you have to tap the directional key against the wall to latch on, too.

-Davey @IronyInteractive

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Nice game mate :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Cool man, really nice aesthetic. The weightiness of everything added to it as well. It was certainly challenging, I didn't make it too far haha.

One little thing, you should probably find a better file sharing host. Sites like 2Shared that have trick download buttons are dubious and can lead uninformed people to downloading spyware and whatnot. Have you tried dropbox?

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Very awesome mood going on here. Nice music too. The controls feel a little clunky though, I thought. And the link to the theme is a little bit tenuous, but other than that, very cool.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:12pm

wow. lovely dark platformer, solid gameplay and lots of content. reminds me of the oddworld saga. shooting the bow was awkward, could use better contols. also took me a while to figure out how to climb.

acro says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:13am

I'm rating this higher than anything else I've seen. There's just so much gameplay here, great atmosphere, a nice feel to the gameplay/physics, and real challenge. Those Executors are reminiscent of Scrabs from Abe's Oddyssey, and I get an immediate terror reaction seeing them. Killing one feels amazing. The bow feels amazing. The fact I accidentally killed the guy who gave me the bow... feels amazing. The pixelly death animations are brilliant. And somehow, the hapless bridge-helper guy at the start of the yellow-background area always gets shot in the face by the arrow I loosed to drop the suspended rock. I am currently pleasantly stuck messing around with the placement of rocks at the old guy, but I know how to do it on the next attempt. Did you really make all this within the time limit? It's absolutely fantastic! The only annoyance is the glitchy player state machine for wall grab/climbing and facing direction. I'm choosing to mostly ignore that because the rest of it is so goddamn good.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:30am

@Acro and Kibertoad: Thank you guys for the feedback, yes we're aware that the controls kinda suck. That's a result of our lack of sleep and lack of enough time to properly debug it, so we sincerely apologize. But we will be launching a Kickstarter Campaign soon to expand this into a full game: More levels, more enemies, and a complete control/physics overhaul. (We'll post a link on here when that's up and ready, but it make take a week or two.)

We'd really like to thank you guys for catching what we were going for. The Oddworld feel is certainly not coincidental. Those games were a very big part of our childhood and much of our inspiration admittedly. (in fact, the Scrabs were mentioned during the animation process of the Executors). Yes, we did make this all within the timeframe aside from a very rudimentary husk of a movement engine which I had started a long time ago but never used; since we entered the Jam, not the Compo, we figured it would be alright. But The atmosphere is what we spent most of our time on, we wanted that to be perfect. So we really appreciate the recognition on that account. Thanks guys.

-Davey @Irony Interactive

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:55am

What an excelent atmoshpere this game has! It's quite an engaging experience and really worthwhile, it's a shame it's a bit buggy and as was mentioned before the connection to the theme is a bit superficial.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:56pm

very deep game and well polished, hard to believe something like this could be made in such a short time!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]