August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Rupture

by Tanser - Jam Entry

*Update* - Fixed minor bug which was stopping our game over screen and one little text in the beginning of each game to respond and be drawn.

Controls:
WASD or arrow keys for movement.

Story:
Future days are here, humanity has invented time machine. After many tweaks and experiments in order to achieve the perfect prototype everything has gone wrong. The machine is now bending time and space.

You are a navigator of time vehicle, who finds himself invariably in different eras and places. Everything glitches and after every 10 seconds time and space alters and you find yourself in different locality. Your machine, which is unstable at the time spits its metal guts all around you. The need to collect these segments and return them just in time is constantly upon you.

Created by: Petar Dimitrov - art
Miroslav Dimitrov - code

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#69Theme(Jam)3.64
#140Graphics(Jam)3.82
#175Audio(Jam)3.19
#255Mood(Jam)3.02
#346Innovation(Jam)2.85
#354Overall(Jam)2.98
#399Humor(Jam)1.96
#415Fun(Jam)2.62

Comments

TheCze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:43am

Good idea. Would be nice if the parts you are picking could be used to fix the time machine and win the game.

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:43am

Pretty good, I love the graphics and was fairly fun and innovative, good luck on future projects, you should definitely expand off of this!!

Danex317 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:43am

Cute idea. I liked the art and music a lot.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44am

Pretty cool game with a nice graphical style to it. Seems to hang on me at game over though. Everything else looks like it works fine.

madk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47am

I got up to about 47,000 points. Fun! It only needs a goal, or some other variance.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47am

The graphics are cute and the sound is amazing. Yet, i couldnt' pass the first level XD

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48am

I'm a sucker for good pixel art, but the concept didn't keep me invested for long and I was even a little confused on what exactly I had to do when I started. Nice presentation though. It really helps the game.

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:31am

The art is nice and is a good use of the theme, but I always get game over. I think I just didn't get it.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:29am

Nice graphics! I like that time machine. But I didn't see happy-end of the game.

raincole says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45am

Not bad, but how could I restart after death?

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55am

The music sounded very random. The graphics were good. Gameplay was ok (I didn't figure out first that I need to get back to the machine).

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:22am

I am not sure the game is running correctly (Linux). No sound at all, and I run around collecting stuff but I can never do anything except get a game over after 10 seconds. Do I do something wrong or is it something else? Great visual style though!

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:53am

@GSM Productions
Thank you I am happy that you love the graphics, though for the sounds I can't check because I don't have Linux, I am only sure that everything is fine on Windows and Mac.

@raincole
The game have restart screen but we did not have time in the last few minutes to add it, its simply 1 line code but now I don't want to upload it because I'm not sure if it wont be against the rules.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:33am

I just can't help myself, wherever I see pixelart - I give 10/10))

Great job, thank you for this experience!

Jools64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:47am

This seems like a cool idea but I could not manage to even complete the first level. It's a shame because everything else was really nice like the graphics and sound.
The fact that you had to restart the game every-time you died just made to frustrating to continue playing though.

All the same, good work. The game has some potential, I'd like to see future entries from you guys!

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:21pm

@Jools64
We have restart buttons and images but bug caused them not to respond. We fixed it and uploaded keeping it as minor change as it could be, sticking to the rules to only apply small bug fixes. :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:51pm

I love this style of pixel art - reminds me old adventure games. I know it was the theme, but I wish it was limited to 10 seconds, because I'd love to be able to explore the worlds you've built :)

JHollands says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:52pm

I like the graphics. Would be nice if the game really progressed.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Nice idea and artwork, and I liked that the worlds were randomly generated, though I spawned in a rock once, haha. Nice entry!

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Great idea, and I love the pixel art. I kept "spawning" in the middle of crystals/structures and was therefore unable to move but at least I was safely stuck near my ship. :) Nice job overall!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Nice game. Pretty simple and fun, but gets repetitive once you've beaten 5 or 6 levels.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42pm

good job

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Nice ideas and really cool graphics and music! Gameplay wise, it would have been cool if the parts would give you something other than score. But I enjoyed playing!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Pretty cool art-style, really captures the exotic atmosphere. The premise is pretty awesome too!

Only complain I have is that there's really no incentives to collect the parts...maybe each level, you need to collect X amount in order to warp out.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:21pm

I love the art style very cool.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Nice concept, good style. I like.

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Like it, but add some uses for the parts you collect, like upgrades or something.

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Bounding-box of the travel machine isn't where it should be (it's not intuitive).. I've to repeat the game few times to actually jump to next level instead of game-over. But the idea is nice, graphics too. Good job :-)

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Nice graphics and music.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Had a lot of fun playing, and the music is quite good! Nice use of procedural landscape but a few times my ship materialized in a rock or tree, although it didn't break the game. Great work!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:58pm

I like the graphics and the idea is simple. Perhaps too simple though. The game gets rather repedititive and twice my character got stuck in an object as soon as I changed times.
it obviously needs work but it has good potential.

-AlucardX60

GigaBass says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:39am

Eh, it's a kind of do 5 or 6 levels, get bored and rate kind of thing. Not much aim to it, I liked the graphical style though.
Also, please limit the FPS up to like 60 or such instead of burning our CPU/GPU if it uses it :)

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:38am

@GigaBass
Don't worry yourself the game is not burning anyones CPU/GPU, it is using as much as it needs and that cost is incredible low and always shows big numbers.

johntheperson says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Fun game. A little repetitive. Seems like there could be a lot of directions to go if you wanted to build upon it.

emveyh says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Good job. Music and art are great :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]