August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Next Gen Cat Gameplay

by UltraRat - Jam Entry

Try to keep cube cat entertained for about 10 seconds. Your mouse controls a laser pointer and you can't move too fast or too slow.

Requires WebGL aka REQUIRES CHROME OR FIREFOX. Won't play in older IE versions.

Mainly just me wanting to play around with WebGL and Three.js to experiment so not as much gameplay as I would have hoped.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#192Humor(Jam)2.81
#454Innovation(Jam)2.55
#468Theme(Jam)2.68
#533Fun(Jam)2.23
#548Mood(Jam)1.72
#584Graphics(Jam)1.94
#595Overall(Jam)2.19

Comments

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Interesting concept that is relatable, though the actual movement connected to the slider seemed pretty random or overall finicky, and a little bit of sound or music would have done wonders as well. Stuck to the theme well though!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Cat-based gameplay!

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:57pm

I like the cube cat. The game itself was pretty confusing, and short.

brodavi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Seems you can "cheat" by just moving back and forth at a certain pace, slowing down or speeding up if necessary. I was expecting more of a "you just did that movement, the cat is bored" sort of mechanic. Nevertheless, fun! :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:12pm

This game said it has next gen cat gameplay and it delivers!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:26pm

At first I didn't quite get what you were trying to say.
It was fun, but a little too minimalistic, at least for me.

Good job ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:32pm

I fun concept but the technology feels over-engineered for what it offers - maybe if the cat moved around so that it feels more interactive, and meows once in a while ^_^ Will version 2 offer cats in boxes?

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:25am

I'm not sure how can I stay in the green part of the slider, but is a surprising concept.

Per says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:52am

The game mechanics was interesting.
I hope you found three.js useful. I sure do :)

Almax27 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Easier in real life! :D

vvolis says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:39am

Not much to say about the game, but the cubecat is awesome! :)

manuq says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:20pm

I like the concept, its fun! I would like it to be more predictable so the gamer could master it. The text in the end screen could be better: "you were in range for X seconds".. is X good or bad? Maybe add different phrases according to the seconds, like "not bad!".

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:49am

Now I only want three next-generation cats.

brobutter says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:53am

I understand what you were trying to do but the controls didn't really do your idea enough justice for it to be fun.

dekart says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:29pm

It's pretty simple, but I like it.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:10am

Well, I never had a cat, but it seems it's difficult to keep it entertained! Good entry! I'm interested in studying Three.js too, it would be nice if you share your source code. =)

UltraRat says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:45pm

@Marcos Rodrigues Most HTML5 games are shared source, you just need to Right Click -> Inspect Element in Chrome or have Firebug in firefox. I didn't bother to minify my code or anything secure although I am using the minified/obfuscated Three.js lib. But the code is a really terrible fast hack job so it's not that interesting, "here be dragons."

X-0r says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:36am

That's almost a reality simulator! Works on dogs, too, btw^^
From what I've experienced, distance pointer to pet also plays a role somewhat. If the cube followed the pointer at speed depending on it's attention, it would feel a bit less minimalistic =)

Andresh says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:17am

Took a while to understand what I was supposed to do to get the cat moving :P But once I got it, had some fun with it ^^

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]