August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hack It All!

by noom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hack It All! is a "beat the clock" puzzle game, where you must work your way through levels by capturing (aka hacking) various types of computers.

=============================
YOU ARE AN ELITE HACKER.
THE POLICE ARE HUNTING YOU.
IT TAKES ONLY 10 SECONDS
FOR THEM TO COMPLETE A TRACE.
=============================

Written in JavaScript with a touch of jQuery, using the HTML5 canvas element. All graphics were created using GIMP.

About The Author :
This is my first ever Ludum Dare entry (my first ever programmers jam). I'm not afraid to admit that I have no formal education in programming, that is to say, I'm entirely self taught. I've never worked in a professional environment as a programmer and I've only ever completed one other game.
I choose to work in JavaScript because I feel that OS independent applications that run natively in a browser are the epitome of functionality. With things like webGL and three.js paving the way for hardware accelerated web applications, the sky is the limit.

I hope you enjoy my game, I sure enjoyed making it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#488Theme3.25
#508Innovation3.03
#582Humor2.19
#841Mood2.35
#857Graphics2.38
#937Overall2.64
#1036Fun2.24

Comments

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:45am

not sure how to make it faster >.>

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:13am

A good game, but the difficulty was relentlessness nearing the end.

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30am

Yeah the "Hack the world" level was really tough, I didn't realize until after submission was over. You *CAN* beat it though, I promise!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54am

"I won the game" xD... Though that was difficult and confusing, it took some time before I get how the game goes ... Good game :D
"Hack this thing" was very hard.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:19am

Might a good puzzle game overall. But needs adjustments.

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:33am

Nice. This kind of feels like the hacking minigame in Deus Ex HR. The error margins are a little slim, though; it gets difficult in the "click fast" way, rather than "what's the best strategy." I'm also still not really sure what the quantum computers did differently.

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49am

It was definitely inspired by Deux Ex HR. And Level design isn't my strong point, something I need to work on, I did want it to be more of a puzzle than a twitch game but ran out of time in the end to tweak the engine and make better levels. The difference between the quantum computer and the printer is slowing the ingame clock (printer) and slowing the entire game (quantum). The latter allowing you to squeeze more clicks into a second, the former just allotting you more time. Thanks for the comments guys!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:10am

Cool. Love the concept. Nice execution, though I did get stuck on the level after the one shown in your primary screen shot. Just could not get thorough quick enough. This game years for multitouch.

slymatt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21am

Great game! Would recommend this game, although hard very good fun!

wrongcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:27am

Great job, especially for a first try. I would have liked to see a bit more feedback that hacking had started on something I clicked on. That's partially because the winning strategy seemed to be clicking as fast as possible on everything directly ahead.

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:29am

I wasn't able to "hack the planet", but the other levels were good and I got close!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09pm

I kind of wish there was more to the puzzles than just "click this as soon as it's available" and "click all these things in succession quickly," but then again anything more complicated would be tough to figure out within the 10 second limit... I did enjoy the concept though!

Per says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:44am

Reminds me of the mini game for hacking in the latest deus ex. Fun concept which fits the theme well.

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Didn't manage to pass level 2, sorry

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:41am

I beat it, but I was getting frustrated by the end. A reset button would have alleviated that a bit. I liked the hacker theme though, and I thought it worked well, but I feel like the 10 second time limit actually hurt the game. By the end it just felt like a "how fast can you click" game. Never the less, well done being self taught, and participating. Hope to see you at the next one.

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:17am

This game makes me nervous after clicking ! the idea is funny)

loxo says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Can't play the game, because the server isn't responding.

manuq says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:50am

loxo same here.

Andresh says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:37am

Had fun with it, needs some polish on level difficulty but overall it's a good game ^^, add some music do add to the tension.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]