August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hadean Rampage

by Zephyr89 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hadean rampage is an old school FPS in the style of wolfenstine-3d or DOOM.

Recommended : watch the tutorial first! : http://youtu.be/QMW0FNYrgDg

Controls are the standard ,WASD. However, there is one addition... ...Bullet Time with shift.

You have 10 seconds of time to play. However, if you kill something you get more time. There are also false walls that look real, but are hiding cool power-ups.

made using unity,blender,gimp,sfxr and garageband!

Also just noticed that my source was out of date, so I fixed that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#323Mood3.05
#336Graphics3.28
#435Overall3.17
#442Audio2.74
#476Fun3.00
#652Humor2.07
#944Theme2.68
#986Innovation2.32

Comments

gbear605 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Interesting game. The time limit isn't working. The shooting is unclear about how far you have to be from the enemy for it to work.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Thanks, forgot about the win and loss conditions they're on my computer but forgot to update the build. Also I think i should just make it infinite

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 1:31pm

They are now fixed.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Could someone give me some crits please?

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 2:39pm

At the end of the game, Unlock the cursor so that you can click the button without pressing escape :)

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Thanks.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Thanks

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Fixed

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Nice new level, (nice for me at least :) ).

Aug 24, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Cool

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 6:08pm

There is a secret added. Al-la DOOM. :)

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Thank you.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Could every comment on what os they are using. It just helps the Build order.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 6:29pm

everyone

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Sleep, then levels next.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 4:30am

Hello, is anyone there?

Fanvadar says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:47am

wow this game has so many jump scares,
i know this would be hard but if possible could you let me look up???

Fanvadar says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:50am

the first level sort of thing is too long aswell

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:00am

Well, I can tell you one thing... ... They are all random, also the game is in the style of wolf3d and doom. (as well as there is nothing to look at there :) ).

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:00am

Thanks about the first level comment.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:02am

Also added a 4th level, ammo, and lots more!!!

joekinglake says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:41am

Only found one minor bug, the gun clips through the walls. Really enjoyed the game though :-) Great job!

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:41am

press shift to time warp.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:44am

Trying to fix that.
Thank you!

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:44am

for your comment

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:47am

Gun clipping fixed. :)
Now working on more levels.

shatley123 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:07am

Very fun. I like the old style FPS feel.
My only criticisms are it would have been nice if the mouse script had a smoothdamp and the spawns are really annoying, because of how unpredictable they are. I like hard games but i don't like unfair games.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:23am

Good point. The final versions will have adjustable sensitivity. Will fix the spawners, they bug me as well.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:30am

Fixed the unfair spawners

shatley123 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:59am

so much funner with the new spawners :)

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 12:01pm

So, how far did you get?

wolfadex says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 1:31pm

I tried to play but I Dropbox can't find the page.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 2:26pm

works fine with me? what os are you on?

wolfadex says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 3:11pm

It's working now. I like the vibe of the game.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Thanks.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 3:31pm

One thing I have to ask. How long does it take you to finish the game?

BobmooJ says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Oops, odd that we both came up with the same name...

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Yeh, that was funny.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Next in line, GUI.

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Really good game, loving the art style!

cbear_wallis says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:45pm

The game is pretty fun but I would say that it doesn't really fit well with only ten seconds(os-windows7). But don't get me wrong it is cool ^_^

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Well I have a small feeling it's too late to change enough. I'm just happy it all works. :)

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Also who says it has to be only? I've seen some entries that use it too mean "Ten second-in-commands", and they don't have a time-limit at all. :)

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Yay, this is my first ld and these comments make it all worth it.
/\
_/_\__
!^_^!
!___!
| | | |
| |

Supernours says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Good game !

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Play on full screen for a full retro experience.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Now 4h to do some chip-tune.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Some last minute tracks, maybe an options menu.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:34pm

As no options menu, as there are no real options. :)

Khopa says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Good game, sounds are cool.

shatley123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:04am

I made it to the level with the big guy

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:10am

Did you win, How long did it take?

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:50am

Also, how do you see your ratings and comments?

HoWseR says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:52am

Pretty fun but sometimes you die for seemingly no reason, guessing it's that theres someone behind you, takes the game down a bit unfortunately

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:58am

Um, Did you run out of time?

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:00am

Because when I play, I keep moving so nothing can sneak-up on me, so I've never had that problem.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:03am

Fixed a bunch of typos.

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13am

Awesome game!
I'm able to run the game on Xubuntu 12.04 x64, but it freezes very often(probably a Linux-only problem). Nevermind, I didn't take that in account while rating, as it's not your failure :)

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:54am

Thank you. It means a lot to me. :-)

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:07am

Interesting to a see a game made in unity using this style of movement. I found the gameplay to be enjoyable although turn speed seems a little fast.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:31am

Thanks does anyone know if I can fix this now, after the compo is over? It's just that I got used to this so I don't know if it comes under typo.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32am

It's a good idea, but the game is way to big for me screen to play it right (I have a 13" laptop). I like the feel it reminds me to doom hehe

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:42am

What do you mean? The GUI?

pikkufighter says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:45am

nice game. i little higher to the roof maybe?. and also like the hidden room.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49am

Which one? There are some in every level.

st33d says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:18am

On OSX I just get a zip containing a folder full random stuff. There's no app :(

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40am

Ok
One min.
The thing is I'm deving on a mac.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:41am

In the mean-time try the webplayer.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:49am

Should be fixed, just testing it now.
It works!

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03am

Re-uploading for organizations sake.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:12am

Sensitivity fixed.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Not bad for my first time!

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03pm

It's pretty good, however I keep getting overwhelmed in the second level and getting pushed back to the first level is really annoying.

davidwparker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Interesting little FPS. It was pretty tough though- never really did find anything. It was also a little too dark.

How did you like Unity? I've been meaning to check it out.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41pm

I use unity almost exclusively, but I did try other engines like UDK and CryENGINE. For things like ludum dare (speed events, game jams and the like) it by far is the better contender and let's you do things your way.

>Positives
1) Vast amounts of control. (don't like the interface, change it!)
2) Ease of use. (For programmers unity is one of the better engines)
3) Asset Pipline (Dear god this is good. Save your file in photoshop/maya unity auto-imports! It also can read most native file formats like .blend, .3ds as well as the usual ones).
4) Many programming languages(Unityscript,C#,Boo).

>Disadvantages
1) Bad out of the box rendering (No lighing presets, hdr is disabled, no post-process, however don't panic Advatage 1 comes in here also with custom shaders!).
2) Free version is rather limited with only one shadow-casting directional light.
3) Bad rep(think slender, slender clone #1 - 100).

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Also I am using unity free.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Good and fun indie FPS!!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Nice work.

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Fun game, but I keep dying on the second level for some unknown reason. No enemies are around and I didn't run out of time so I have no idea how it keeps happening.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:22am

The unity window was bigger than my screen resolution and fake walls are really annoying

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:53am

They spawn right next to you. Also will do a small tut on my game to ease the confusion. Now to rate more games

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:54am

for the unity window just zoom out.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:54am

i actually did quite well at first without using the slowtime.. a little wonky as far as shooting.. but its a game jam.. =).. first shooter ive played so far.. pretty cool especially since i got back to the doom days..

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:24am

Thank you did you find any secrets? Those are the real way to play. Actively look out for them and the game will be tonnes easier. I will be doing a small playthrough my game later and you can see if you missed one.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:31am

JUST FOUND A GAME BRAKING BUG WHERE YOU CAN HAVE NEGATIVE BULLET-TIME! just going to fix it. Just shows how little bullet time I use ! ;)

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46am

Webplayer is fixed.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:03am

All builds are now fixed.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Nice small shooter. Has a nice Doom vibe to it. Getting more time from killing enemies would be nice.

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19pm

I think it would feel a little better if you rotated the camera down a bit or something.

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Real fun and I like the style a lot. I found myself dying a lot to enemies offscreen, so I guess the spawns were kinda frustrating at times. Overall pretty solid.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:36am

Wow, nice job! Probably the most fun entry I've played thus far. Graphics are very nice too.

Having now played your entry, I'm confused as to why you took issue with me using a literal ten seconds (well, actually three sets of ten seconds) in my own submission, since you also use a literal ten seconds (in a different way, of course).


Anyway, good job.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:50am

I would have given myself 3 stars for the theme as well. ;) PS. I gave 3 stars to everyone with a 10 second time limit theme. More for different variations.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:52am

Also, your game was the only one that I consistantly found myself going back and saying "One more level"!

Orni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:50am

great game

this doom-esque fps games are just great - maybe I'll install doom 1 again :D

solid use of the theme, good job

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:43am

Wow really hard game haha. The secrets were cool though it would have been cool if there was some indication of where they were it seemed like I would just be running against a wall and go straight through heh.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:56am

I love these old school entries, you werent kidding though its a hard game!

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:19am

Nice one, too bad you don't restart in the same level though :)

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:20am

Very challenging, but its fast to jump into so that makes up for it. Like a hotline miami of fps.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:37am

I don't mind the difficulty, but there's some bad design accompanying it that makes it worse. Level 2 should totally be level 1, and you shouldn't have to start all over when you die, just restart the level.

The audio seems to get louder as you clear levels.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:39am

Oh, and some kind of a minimap would be cool to see enemies behind you and behind corners. It's a shame the game has flaws like this because it'd be a great entry if it were better polished and playtested.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:42am

Wow, very fun and hard game, i like :D

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:42am

I like the old school style of the game. A bit hard to play with only a trackpad :) I will give it another shot with a USB mouse later. Really cool entry!

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Jiggawhat: I know right! the thing is that I had 30 min to playtest and bugfind in this game. Next time I'll try to finish a bit earlier. :) The audio is intentional as this indicates further danger.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Zephyr89: you should've jammed! I took an extra day to spice up my entry and I don't regret it at all.

Hoping to see a post-compo version.

caranha says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Hey there! Sorry for taking so long, here is your video review: http://youtu.be/tnrUkFSehx0

I really liked the overall "style" of this game. But the windows and tiny text annoyed me a little bit. I would click through windows without being able to read them WAY too frequently.

I loved the enemy characters.

Some things that could improve in the game: Animations and death animations for the enemies -- some sort of feedback when the character is attacked from behind.

Also, your packaging is really weird. I downloaded a zip named "windows", and the program itself is named "10 seconds", even if the name of the game is something else. :-P

Thanks for the game, and see you around!

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Wow thanks so much, also why are you saying sorry for. Playing my game?
Jiggawatt: Might give that a go next time?

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Also here is my small tutorial on my game.
http://youtu.be/QMW0FNYrgDg

metranil says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Nice!

hbocao says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:41am

Loved it! I was very tense while playing! I don't if it was the music or the enemies popping every heartbeat. Or both. :P Sick bullet time!

ramoncb says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:22am

I love old-school fps

Nice game, keep working on it!

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:59pm

I was really bad at this but I had a lot of fun nonetheless. It could be expanded, I think, into a really nice full game. I dig the old school atmosphere in particular.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:09am

I have tried your game on a faster computer and I really like it. Is there a way to change the mouse sensitivity?

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Nice little game, but not for my taste

blackotus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:17am

Fun shooter!
It was pretty satisfacting to blow stuff up :)

I clipped through the first level, somehow.

Nice entry!

tigerj says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:21am

Really fun entry. nice work for a comp! Love the art and audio. Controls were tight and felt good.

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:11am

Cool game! In fact, I thought this was a jam entry at first haha!
Having one hit deaths does get hard when enemies can be right around the corner; maybe a radar would help this.
Congrats on your first LD!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]