August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds of life

by Hexicube - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrow keys: move player
Mouse: shoot
T: toggle tracers
S: cycle enemy spawn mode
F: toggle fullscreen
1-9: select specific enemy spawn mode

You get 10 seconds of 'life', enemies and bullets drain this when hurting you (by touching you), multiple enemies/bullets touching at once drains quicker, and when your life runs out the game ends!

The goal is to survive the endless amount of enemies (5 per second) for as long as possible, for bragging rights and what-not.

There are 5 types of enemies:
Normal: these follow you
Lunger: these follow you with large quick jumps
Sniper: these stay still and fire at you instead
Dodger: these dodge bullets, using a very basic method
Mine: these are bigger, do not move, and explode into bullets when killed

There are 9 spawn modes:
Normal: 60% normal, 10% others
Less Specials: 80% normal, 5% others
Swarm: only normal
Lungers: only lungers
Bullet Hell: only turrets
Mine Hell: only mines
No Mines: 70% normal, 10% others, no mines
No Bullets: 70% normal, 15% others, no mines or turrets
Super Swarm: only normal, 2x spawn rate

When you kill an enemy, there's a 3% chance it drops a powerup. You can collect the same powerup multiple times to have it last longer than normal as it adds to a timer for it.

There are 5 powerups:
Shield[70%]: Blocks all damage for 2 second
Pierce[10%]: Shots you have fired pierce for 4 seconds
Regen[7%]: Adds 1 second to your time remaining
Homing[10%]: Newly fired shots will home in on enemies for 3 seconds
Wipe-out[3%]: All enemies are killed for 0.4 seconds

The latest game version is V5, shown on the title bar. If you have a lower version, please update to the latest one before rating, as you may lack a feature or two.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#550Fun2.93
#700Overall2.93
#735Graphics2.59
#789Mood2.44
#937Theme2.69
#1027Innovation2.23
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

gbear605 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 4:35pm

After I run it, I get:

JavaVM WARNING: JAWT_GetAWT must be called after loading a JVM
JavaVM WARNING: JAWT_GetAWT must be called after loading a JVM
JavaVM WARNING: JAWT_GetAWT must be called after loading a JVM
Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" java.lang.NullPointerException
at org.lwjgl.opengl.GL11.glGetString(GL11.java:1771)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglGraphics.initiateGLInstances(LwjglGraphics.java:193)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglGraphics.setupDisplay(LwjglGraphics.java:149)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:121)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:113)

Hexicube says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Uh...check that your drivers are up to date? Never seen that problem before and I'm a bit busy right now, you should try googling it.

Hexicube says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Ah, I updated the jar but didn't pack in the images, should be fixed now. See if that helps.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:44am

Hmm, it's not working for Mac OSX, running JRE 7. It flickers 3 times and then nothing.

Hexicube says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:08am

Doesn't sound right, but I have no mac to test it on. Try pressing spacebar to start, if it works then it's related to how macs buffer the video. If not, I don't know.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:12am

Liked it, but wish it was faster and it had audio

disdanes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29am

Lots of interesting gameplay mechanics, and I like that you used the theme (10 seconds) as your life!

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34am

The mechanics are alot of fun, a kind of minature Geometry wars. The theme is kind of lost though since it is only a substitute for life. Definitely fun though and I like the variety of enemies.

Metal Axe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:41am

I like the concept, but I think the game gets impossibly hard too quickly. Or maybe I'm just bad. I think being able to use WASD would be nice here too. Great job! :)

Hexicube says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:07pm

@Herro234 Yeah the theme did get a bit lost, initially the life would drip down and killing enemies restored it but then it would be easy for anyone remotely good.

@MetalAxe If you feel like it gets hard too quick, maybe try the no bullets difficulty. It should be a lot easier then. Also, I did want to add WASD controls, but I wanted to allow changing those controls, so in the end I settled with arrow keys because of other keyboards having other keys where WASD is.

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Ha! I lasted just over a minute at my best.

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Had a great time!
And the graphics are awesome!

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:51pm

I can not start the program :( It looks interesting.
Could you leave me a post when it works better?

Here the error
"Could not find the main class:
.... blabla... DesktopStarter..."

Hexicube says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57pm

@kunzbe You could try downloading it again. Also, you could try making a start.bat file in the same place, editing it with notepad to have "java -jar 'LD27 - 10 Seconds to live.jar'" in it, and running that instead. Apparently using java 6 might fix it too.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Would have been great with audio. Normal mode is really tricky.

daOyster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Liked it, was hoping someone would use time as a life meter kind of. I liked the many different options of modes.

Hexicube says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Just noticed game was compiled for java 7, it is now compiled for java 6.

wrongcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Linux 64-bit: if it doesn't start (liblwjgl won't load) try
$ LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/path/to/your/jre/lib/amd64 java -jar 'LD27 - 10 Seconds of life.jar'

cardboard says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:13am

I got about 40 seconds! I like the concept and the game is fun. Sound of some kind would have been nice to help establish a mood. I think it is a bit too difficult to stay alive for long, but it's still an enjoyable game. :)

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Will post video review.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Pretty nice little game. I liked the "no bullet" mode the best because it felt like I had more control over the game. Though it was too easy in that mode. It would also have been way more fun if there were sound effects in the game

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:29am

As promised, live review link: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2830736

jujule says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:00pm

I like the manic shooter / arena shooter mix but as others said, it gets to hard to quick, especially for a keyboard / mouse combo. That said, I believe that with a less steep learning curve, it would be great !

Hexicube says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:41am

@jujule Yeah, I can see why. I did add a tutorial to explain how to play and what everything is, but maybe the default spawn mode should have been something easier, like no bullet mode for instance.

Hexicube says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:41am

Forgot to mention in previous post, I added a tutorial to the post comp version.

Vaalen says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:05pm

It's a very great and very addictive game. :)

Hexicube says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:50pm

@Vaalen Always nice to hear! :3

gmaker says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:01am

awesome graphics! =) great job!

X-0r says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:18am

Love the customize options, traces, fullscreen(!). Not being limited by screensize, yay =)
It's really a bullet-hell, I ended up collecting one power-up after the other, just to make my shield last longer. Oh well, still died in the end^^

Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:18am

Really nice little game. I loved it. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zzQ8TXQohmI

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]