August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Second Takeoff

by Taylor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with:
Flashpunk
Flashdevelop
Bosca Ceoil
as3sfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#260Humor2.81
#440Theme3.29
#526Fun2.96
#529Graphics2.93
#569Overall3.04
#579Audio2.50
#580Mood2.70
#971Innovation2.36
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

gamblore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:58am

Arrow keys are great to use in platformers, especially if you have other buttons to hit (like slow down). Found it awkward to hit space and jump to the side all with one hand. Also most platformers jump when you hit the button down, not just if the button is held down. Personally I would have prefered space,x -> jump, shift,z -> slow, arrows -> left and right.

Slowing down time didn't feel necessary on most levels. Except to re-adjust things because the levels do not reset when you die. Found it easier just to die strategically to at a point where the enemies are mostly reset.

Good job though, I played it to the end.

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:12am

Nice game, and in particularly nice puzzles that are reasonable but still challenging to do within the 10 second limit.

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29am

Nice game. I did have the same problem where sometimes when you spawn there is no way to beat the level based on where the enemies are located when you start.

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:34am

Great art, good controls too. The time dilation effect was cool, although it was sometimes hard to know when to use it based on where the enemies were.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35am

Had a lot of potential but just too hard!

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44am

I got kinda bored about ten minutes in, enjoyed it though. Nobody takes the time to make a game about how dangerous whales are ;) aside from that I do think the controls needed a little tweaking I felt like the jumping wasn't very responsive.

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:47am

Hey! Awesome game! Love the straight faced whales! :P

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Fun platformer! Movement feels punchy. And OH NO SPACEWHALES

syawqy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:15pm

good entry, kinda hate the jump mechanism because you automatically jump if you hold space

VagabondEx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Argh, I hate super meat boy :/ Nice work, but for me this is really just another platformer.

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Very challenging for me... nice work!

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:57am

I was pleasantly surprised by the large number of levels and by the very well-balanced difficulty - some levels were tricky, but none were frustrating. Good job!

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:29am

Interesting idea, funny grafix :)

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:59am

Pleaaaaaase do not only set WASD keys for controls, not everyone is using a qwerty keyboard ! Made me hate your game at first.
Passed that it's a nice platformer but I barely did not use the space button. Spacewhales are cools !
Also, music is quite repetitive and could drive me crazy.

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:09am

I agree with the above that WASD-only is not a good control choice, especially for a platformer. It's also a bit odd how the entities don't reset when you die; it means a few wasted deaths while they line up properly for another attempt on the harder levels.

That said, you have a good beginning here. Your music is pretty catchy, and the whales are brilliant.

Taylor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

it should be noted that i am currently working on an update to this game, and a lot of stuff will be fixed, including: controls, better levels, better pacing, more levels, different sprites for current enemies, one new enemy, one new 'helper' (aka a thing that wont kill you), resetting all monsters whenever you die, and other stuff.

ign says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:52pm

I love your intro graphics :) Really hard to play with WASD and jump always little bit late.

Skye says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:05am

Fun. I like the title screen's art style

dlowe says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Cute. I enjoyed it :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]