August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Seconds of LASER

by AGDG_REJECT - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Source is included with all downloads!

It is a simple maze game. You are dropped from a helicopter which sticks around for ten seconds and reveals the maze to you, but after that you are on your own.

You can also fire a LASER for ten whole seconds. It doesn't really do anything but it is still super cool!

You win by reaching the green glowing spot towards the bottom.

Controls: Left/Right arrow keys move left and right. Hold up for a whole second to open nearby doors. Hold down to slip down narrow passages. Esc will quit the game.

Press any key to start, or respawn if you die from touching a red thing. If you are still alive, pressing any other key will fire your LASER for as long as you hold it down.

Written in ANSI C, using Allegro 5. Graphics were done in Photoshop and audio done in Audacity, recorded with those white apple headphone/microphones that come with iphones.

License: MIT

---

I hope you like it, but I anticipate that you will find it lacking. Collision is kind of buggy and a few other things aren't quite how I wanted them to be, but it can't be helped. At least it is in right?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#576Graphics2.85
#606Humor2.16
#734Audio2.21
#929Mood2.20
#975Innovation2.35
#985Fun2.35
#1011Overall2.54
#1117Theme2.20
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:59am

OSX Only? Shame. I'd love to give this a shot.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:22am

Okay so really nice little tiny retro-ish pixels but not sure where the 10 seconds comes in? I win in just 37.442 seconds.

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:58am

What are the flags that you compiled with?
I'm really close to getting a linux executable of this for you.

HeroesGrave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12am

More people would use Linux here than OSX.
Just saying...

Looks nice. Shame I can't play it.

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:41am

OS X build instructions (kind of):
allegro 5 was installed in /usr

gcc -Wall -I/usr/include/ -framework AudioToolbox -framework IOKit -framework OpenAL -framework OpenGL -framework Cocoa -lallegro-static -lallegro_main-static -lallegro_image-static -lallegro_audio-static -lallegro_acodec-static -L/usr/lib -o bin/agdg_reject_ld27 src/*.c

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Ahh, the rare mac-only-game. Hope it gets found!

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Damn the screen makes this look so cool if only it wasn't OS/X only! NOOOOOO!

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:59pm

its fun for a maze game but not sure where the theme fits in:)

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Aw, I can't shoot the LASER because I'm on Windows..

megashroom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44am

Sorry man, I tried to compile it but it was waay to crazy.
It looks pretty amazing though. :(

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:01am

Porting to Linux is complete... I hope. I'm still working on a Windows port.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:49am

Lasers! Was pretty amusing!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:50am

I won in 41 seconds? In a 10 second timer?

Lasers increased the fun by a factor of 10. :D

codifeye says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:54am

Looks great, I love the art. Maybe if there was more of an urgency to getting to the goal, like if instead of the laser you had a flare which lit up the maze but could only be lit for 10 seconds or something. Nice job doing a ludum dare in C by the way! :)

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

Kinda disconnected from the theme but still good :)

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:48pm

nice graphics, but as you said yourself, it's kinda buggy so it's hard to walk up or down up in the maze.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:51pm

good art yet need some more cleaning up u know but the gameplay is fun

HeroesGrave says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:41pm

The Linux build isn't working :(

I'm on Arch Linux 64-bit.

foumart says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:22pm

The character moved only half a step with 1 keypress, so I spared my keybooard for awhile and finished in 72 sec.. (ok, shooted with the laser for at least half a minute :D

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Really easy game. Would've been a lot better if harder.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]