August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Core 10

by Towanime - Jam Entry

Core 10 is a stategy game where you get to protect the ultimate core of life using different kinds of shields, the more shields you set the more level and AP you get!

--------------
How to play
--------------
You begin the game with an unprotected Core, it is up to you which side protect first. Move the shield type selecion with A or D then click the empty slot on the screen.
______________
A word on AP, every time you set a shield you will lose AP for that turn, you will need to wait to the next one in order to recover all of your spent points.
______________
Velocity matters, this an important part of the game, the enemy will be able to attack you for the same amount of seconds you spent on your turn! That means if you wait the whole 10 seconds on your turn then the enemy will get 10 seconds to attack you (Ouch!) Press the space bar to finish your turn as soon as you set your shields and take advantage of the rules.

To summarize, the keys are:
A: Move left on the shield selection area
D: Move right on the shield selection area
Space: Finish your turn (Remember the sooner you finish your turn the better!)
P: Pause the game
R(While the game is paused): Restart the game
Click on an empty slot to set the selected shield type

----------------
About Us
----------------
This was our first Ludum Dare experience and it was very good! We've learned a lot, and definetely will take part in the next one. We are two people working on the code and assets, we are also Missing Dragonfly Studio (Yes, another indie game developer team) we are currently working on an amazing game called Beat Beat Shooter that combines rhythm and shoot 'em up mechanics, this a short break but it was worth it.

-----------------
About the Music
-----------------
Our dear friend Kevin Balke (a.k.a V-axys) gave us permission to use the great track you heard in the game, for more details check the in-game credits!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#23Fun(Jam)3.80
#63Innovation(Jam)3.60
#63Theme(Jam)3.65
#69Overall(Jam)3.70
#87Audio(Jam)3.53
#138Mood(Jam)3.35
#189Graphics(Jam)3.65
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

Pacaco says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:37am

Well done, the game is great! I like the concept and the graphics fit together perfectly. Grats!

vladimirdlc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:16pm

This was interesting, nice music and I found the gameplay really creative, the strategy component in the game is a good touch.

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Nice visuals & music.
Top-bottom-left-right are unfair. No new places to spawn defense :-(

Could be a nice touch-device game ;-)

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:22am

took a second to get used to what to do. stress level sure does rise as the game goes on!

cwkx says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:42pm

This was great, took a while to get into but I loved it once it started expanding. Awesome retro style.

Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:46pm

This game is fun! Cool concept! love the strategy involved on placing shields and protect the core, also love the graphics! :D great job bro! :D

jwolf says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:02am

Very neat concept and good presentation. Seems difficult to recover from a mistake...although the end may be slow in coming, even if you see where it'll be. Mechanics had some interesting trade-offs.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:24am

this was a really fun game -- great job

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:32am

Very cool entry, the turrets that target corners felt very unfair later on because there was no way to protect against them. I'd totally play a full game of this with different types of levels though.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 3:26am

Amazing work! The shaders are beautiful. The sounds and music was VERY well done. I love the idea for the game, and it was done really well. Is it possible to beat it? Whenever I got to turn 20 or so, the ships would just over power me. I thought it was a bit annoying when a shield dies you can't fill put another one in that spot again, although it was realistic. The GUI was great! I love your take on the theme. I don't think this game was very well fitted to the theme seeing as the turn based angle seems rushed, I don't know maybe that was just me. Anyway, it was very good and I think that if you wanted to you could easily sell this with a little more polish. Keep it up! 9.5/10

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]