August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lava Race

by Boodog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game where you have to race to the safe room to avoid getting blown up by the VOLCANO. Yes. The VOLCANO. Hahaha, anyways if you die you have to close the game and relaunch it. It's a platformer. There is some nifty music! :D Also, this is my first Ludum Dare! Everything was made in the 48 hours. It is made in pure java.

Sorry that the size is a little large the audio file is a .wav

Controls:
Jump: W, UP arrow key, or SPACE
Left: A, or LEFT arrow key
Right: D or RIGHT arrow key

Known Issues/Things to add after LD:
-Chance jump won't work
-Respawn button (had no time)
-Title screen (had no time)

Tips:
-Jump then go right or left
-Have fun!

MAKE SURE YOU EXTRACT IT, AND LEAVE IT IN THE FOLDER OR IN THE SAME FOLDER AS THE RES!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#83Audio3.51
#508Humor2.29
#606Graphics2.79
#744Theme2.95
#838Mood2.36
#929Fun2.44
#1076Overall2.42
#1114Innovation2.00

Comments

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37am

Cummon man its java! can you please make a Linux Version

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08am

Thank you for porting it to linux, I will tell you my positive impressions first: I like the 8-bit music and the idea of rising lava, it reminds me of when I was little...
As for the bad, the tiles dont tile to well, colision detection is buggy (but who am I to talk) and the lava rises to blockishy, other wise 21x better then my game :)

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18am

weirdly it says that the source file can't load :( will try again later you left a comment on my game

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:20am

The no-restart is not necessarily a dealbreaker for me (as my Jam entry has no reboot after you finish combat), but is a little annoying given the amount of time you spend playing the game. Overall, the sound, graphics and gameplay are certainly redeeming qualities.

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:22am

I reaaaally dig the music. Collision detection and jump physics definitely need work though.

Andrio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35am

I found this blisteringly difficult to control. >:|

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43am

Good idea, but the collision detection is a little clumsy.

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:14am

Gave me a white screen :(

TheRealYeff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Fun game! It's still difficult to jump when you're up against a wall but great idea and game play for a quick job!

Falcon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:31am

Jumping was very buggy, but still a fun game.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38am

Pretty neat game. :)

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:53pm

CHEERFULLY FLEEING LAVA IN JAVA.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Bit of a large download

kebabskal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Doesn't start on OSX 10.8.3. Just a gray window :/

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Thanks for your ratings guys :D Remember to extract it and leave it in a folder with the res folder in there too if you are getting a gray or white window! :D

Canobie says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Despite some hiccups in control and how you have to restart the game every time you die, I liked to concept, art, and graphics. Good work!

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Even though the collision/jump is a bit annoying, it's nice however :)

imef says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Jumping is quite a pain. Other thatn that, nice game. I loved the music!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Nice Game, although as other people said the collision while jumping is quite weird

HauntedSoul says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Cool music! As others mentioned the jumping weirdness is a bit offputting but the music is great and the textures are cool too :) Good job!

cardboard says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:16am

Thanks for sharing this with me! First of all, the music is amazing. Yeah the collision is a bit wonky, but I think it added to the fun and challenge of the game. I had to figure out how the collision works and how to use it to my advantage in order to beat it. The game is a bit short, but it's the Ludum Dare, so that is usual. What is with the hearts though? The lava kills you in one hit, haha. The pixel graphics are charming, but I don't think the lava fits in very well with the other artwork. Overall, nice job!

blay09 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:15am

Nice music.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:37am

This game has a very nice gameplay idea, but sadly i couldn't jump that well which made it kind of annoying cause i died because of it. The artwork is cute.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Awesome music

Solifuge says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:47am

Good work on completing your game entry! As a critique, I think having to let up on movement just to jump is really frustrating and unintuitive; I think allowing the player to jump and move at the same time would help a lot. (PS. the NES remix of the Firefly Theme made me pretty happy. :3)

Sascha says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:52am

The jumping controls were so infuriating... :/

Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:16am

Oh god, those controls. :D But other than that, yeah, it's pretty fun. :P As mentioned before the music is pretty cool as well.

Zanzlanz says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Haha nice work on your first entry, bud! I forgot to comment when I rated, lol, but my feedback is pretty much the same as the above commenters.

I thought it was fun and exciting - 10 seconds felt like 20 when you're sprinting for an exit, haha! The only issue I had was the jumping. It made me rage a few times, hehe. Good job nonetheless <3

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]