August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Re-Curse-Sive

by Dracae - Jam Entry

Re-Curse-Sive is about a hero who is cursed by an ugly and evil witch. The curse shortens our hero's life span to 10 seconds. YOU must guide this character to various amulets that will keep out hero alive.

My first Ludum Dare experience! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#325Audio(Jam)2.73
#328Fun(Jam)2.84
#348Theme(Jam)2.95
#378Mood(Jam)2.67
#423Overall(Jam)2.80
#498Innovation(Jam)2.40
#554Graphics(Jam)2.21
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:50am

Cute game. I had a few issues with this one before I could get playing: playing without skipping the intro loaded the first room without the player in it, but skipping the intro it worked fine. Good stuff besides that.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:11am

Neat use of theme. Had the same problem with the player not loading if I watched the intro.

timothyolt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44am

Same problem, character doesnt load when you play the into. But this was a pretty good game, nice take on the theme.

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:33am

LOL, the intro bit was really cool. Simple to pick up and very fun to play. Question: why a web game appears as a Windows binary? :)

togey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Easy to learn and very fun! Hope you participate in the next Ludum Dare!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Neat game, quite enjoyable. Cute graphics and nice music. Amusing intro, although I had the bug with the player not showing too.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:11am

Interesting game I like the way the character move by rotating ;) The gameplay is nice too!

Dracae says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:39am

Thanks guys! :D

(Being new to Ludum Dare, is it like illiegal to edit your project after the 72 hours?)

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:02pm

nice little oldschool adventure game. decent enough timekiller. great scope management.

gmaker says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:52pm

nice little game! =) good work!

X-0r says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:49am

Minor name-inconsistency :P You called it "Re-Curse-Si[z]e" at your submission^^
Had to chuckle at the intro, cute drawings (especially the witch :P)
I kind of hoped that there would be some goal to reach, such as finding the witch, having some sort of boss-fight and revoking the curse. The way it's now, the game is a bit unforgiving. I liked the way the character "rolls" when moving, and hey, you even do have some sort of randomized room generation, congrats on that!

Not sure, if your question has already be answered, but editing the game after the compo isn't allowed - the only exceptions are fixing minor bugs and porting the game to other platforms. You can release a post-compo version, but you need to notify the players, that they cannot rate the game judging the changes/improvements you made.

Dracae says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:28pm

@X-0r Ok, thanks for telling me about the post-compo stuff, I'm new, so yeah. Maybe I'll update it with a boss, but I don't know. Thank you, and everyone else! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]