August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Save the Stars!

by anmorales - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You got 10 seconds to save the stars, destroying Asteroids, UFO's and Black Holes, just by touching them!

Note: I had to change the package name for the google play version, so there are two branches on the github source, both have the same code, but different packages names.

Thanks and Sorry for the inconvenience

Programming:
* Eclipse (IDE).
* LibGDX (Framework).

Art:
* Inkscape (Images)
* bfxr (Sound Effects, http://www.bfxr.net/).
* Otomata (Soundtrack, http://www.earslap.com/projectslab/otomata).
* Audacity (A little of audio editting).

* Source on GitHub: https://github.com/andresme/Save-The-Stars/
* Download Dropbox: https://www.dropbox.com/s/2fnbexyu9uuvk9p/Save_the_Stars.apk
* Download Play Store: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.anmorales.save_the_stars

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#502Audio2.64
#603Theme3.13
#670Mood2.58
#735Graphics2.59
#742Humor1.95
#766Fun2.68
#800Overall2.81
#1051Innovation2.19

Comments

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Pretty cool game. It's a very straightforward game, but it's well executed and the difficulty ramps up quickly enough so that the game doesn't drag for too long.

gre says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Good game and probably awesome for kids.

Drachlen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:18am

Really cool idea, it's a perfect mobile game. I had a lot of fun playing this.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:27am

Very well done. Nice use of theme.

Ninja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:31am

I saved 19 stars!

I didn't play on a phone but I can see it being some decent light entertainment. Nice work!

Supercannon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:19am

Good for a quick pick-me-up game. I'm sure it would have been even better on my phone.

kebabskal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Not very touchpad friendly. But i guess it would work a lot better on a touchscreen device :)

Joxno says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:33am

Pretty sweet, I like it!
although my finger started cramping a little from all the clicking

Toadpud says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:37am

Played it on my HTC One. Really cool! I'll drop a rating on Google Play.

anmorales says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:49am

Thanks for your comments, I'm glad you like it! This is my first ludum dare and I love the idea of getting feedback!!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:09am

I cant believe how many times I clicked the stars accidentally. Somehow this game was just overwhelming it(in a good way!). I had quite a bit of fun though!

Broxxar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:29am

Works well as a mobile game. Would be great for kids.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:51am

Definitely nice idea for a mobile game. Fun!

nixeldev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:23pm

I had fun :) tricky on a laptop with touchpad but I bet its better on mobile :)

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:16am

Saved 31 stars! Nice little game :) Quite simple, and challenging at the same thing. I liked it!

thegrimace says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:18am

Pretty interesting entry. It was difficult to make sure you were only clicking on the bad icons. Maybe varying the speed that good or bad elements moved would create an easily identifiable connection. I hope you submit another game in the next competition!

anmorales says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:09am

@thegrimace I wanted to make more identifiable the "bad" and the "good" but didn't really think of a way of doing it (had not enough time), I believe that the speed should stay like that so that it's more difficult to touch the bad ones, thanks for the feedback! and sure I'll submit another game in the next competition, I hope you rate it and give feedback again! :)

cardboard says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:14am

Nice little game. I started to get really good and then the game crashed on me and reset my phone, haha. I'll play again later to see how well I can do. :)

anmorales says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:18am

Thanks! could you tell me (if you get to play it again ;) ) if the game crashes again, maybe try to pay attention when it happens, it's a really small game and simple, I find it hard that it gets to reset your phone :P

Moosefly says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:48am

A well done little game!

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:20pm

The music is too short, so it's repetitive after a while. Also some explosion/fade away/... animation would be great for destroyed objects. Good job otherwise ;)

tryzor says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:23pm

A nice game ;)

Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:18pm

I really like the graphics. And the music is close to being good, but is a bit too repetative. Although I still think it adds the atmosphere. A simple game, it's not gonna win any points for originality for it's gameplay but it was fun.

Livsk says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Good game mobile and creative. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]