August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tracewire

by Drachlen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tracewire is a game about defusing bombs before the timer runs out.
Your goal is to trace along the wires as quickly as possible.
You have 10 seconds to trace out each wire.

CONTROLS:
Arrow keys to trace along a wire. Spacebar to clear gold nodes.

The game also includes the level editor, which was used to make all the levels. View the readme for more information.

If you're unsure whether you have the .NET framework to run XNA, use the Windows Installer. If you do have the framework, use the Windows zip.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#13Fun4.03
#39Overall3.91
#48Theme3.94
#54Innovation3.91
#118Audio3.41
#122Mood3.44
#131Graphics3.76
#853Humor1.74

Comments

Vaughn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:01am

Definitely not for the faint of heart. Very challenging (especially levels 13/19/20), but some nice production here. Bonus points for level editing!

conix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

Cool game. Graphics are nice and clean, and gameplay is fair and challenging.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:38am

Man, no Linux version

kidder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39am

Woah, fun, challenging, stressful. Great atmosphere and polish.

The Jahn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39am

... this is spectacular. the gameplay is great. music is great. the graphics work well. works perfectly for the theme.

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42am

The snappy sounds and polished pixels gratified me and the arrow typing in ten seconds interested me! If you continue to develop this, have you considered hinting at the keys to press in the first trial?

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56am

Simple, fun gameplay, appealing graphics and sound/music, and even a level editor - great entry overall, already feels quite complete but I'd love to see it developed further.

timothyolt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02am

Runs in WINE! :D

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46am

Nice! I saw you stream this for a bit! really good outcome!

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:48am

This is a cool take on "rhythm" games. You make your own rhythm. Finger patterns are fun :)

netgrind says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:49am

12 Bombs on my first go. That was well wicked. I really enjoyed getting into a button tapping zen.

juaxix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:58pm

I love this game, if you adopt the swipe touch controls you would be able to deploy to mobile devices too, i would love to play there :)

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Really cool concept for bomb defusing! It was a rush to play, great work!

ripatti says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Good entry.
My record is 16 wires after 6-7 tries.
The 14th (or 13th?) is hardest one, I lose here almost always)

Small bug: no music repeat.

Ossi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:41am

That was really fun! Such a simple concept and controls and it starts to get really difficult when you introduce lots of wire slices and alternating gold nodes. Great job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:07pm

The good kind of stress right here! I like that it's difficult but not frustrating and also nicely polished.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:44pm

It give a good sense of lack of time when you start failing. Like the game overall.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:27am

This game stressed me out so much I had to be taken to hospital. I was then diagnosed with an extreme mental disorder which I then had to undertake 3 years of mental rehabilitation in the end, diffusing a bomb reinstated my mentality. Thank you for this life changing experience.

ix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:38am

Very solid entry!

Fervir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:46am

This game is great.
Got my adrenaline going.
Couldn't beat lv 19 though.

Wertle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:53am

Really good pacing and difficulty ramp-up, not just between levels but within each level. Good job!

Thermite says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:12pm

That. Was. Awesome. I love this game.

tamat says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Loved the mechanics! I was missing maybe a countdown sound in the last 3 seconds to make you get more nervous. Great work

moomoo112 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Amazing game, very well put together!

Eelfroth says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:54pm

That is some innovative and fun gameplay! Nice soundtrack, too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]