August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Hangman

by HappyBox19 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTES: ENTER THE WORD CORRECTLY USING THE KEYBOARD






SPOILER: ALL WORDS ARE - ["PLAY","CAKE","HANGMAN","PORTAL","LUDUM","DARE","PIZZA","RANDOM"];

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1970Coolness0%

Comments

latte164 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 5:16am

Holy hell thats hard lol

iFred_QC says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 5:54am

You should be able to enter the letters in any order.
You should have more words.
The last letter should already be displayed too.

iFred_QC says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 6:00am

After typing the last letter I need to type another letter to get the win message.
After winning or losing, I have to refresh the page to play again.

HappyBox19 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 8:05am

Sorry about it being a little rushed. I have school in about a day so I wanted it to be done today so I can spend the sunday doing somthing else. I should call it my 12 hr entry. lol

HappyBox19 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 8:06am

Also having to press another letter to get the win message is a bug. I designed it so you have to wait until the counter gets to 0 to find out if you won or not.

01rafael says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 11:16am

To hard for me ))))

JALgames says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Without the spoiler, it was really hard, but when I knew the word, I never lost (thanks to ten-finger-typing). I wish to have a "restart"-button (or is there any and I just didn't saw it?) because it disturbs always having to refresh the browser.

Sherun says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Love the rush it keeps you trying again

Skye says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 2:36am

that was clever. Very clever

Reevezy says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 3:58am

Awesome!

TheHermit says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 4:58am

I had some odd problem getting it to recognize it was typing. I was able to eventually get it to work by clicking away and then back on the flash window, which cost a few seconds.

Given how hard it is, it'd be nice to have a 'Try Again' button that generates a new word.

xhunterko says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 6:30am

No way to understand what was going on at first. Barely read the instructions before I lost for some reason. No in game reset means I have to refresh the page. Text is a little too thin to see it clearly quickly. Hangman out of the way in a corner makes it difficult to keep track of. Not fun.

MediGFX says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 3:21pm

intelligent !

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Good idea :D

Solifuge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:58am

Challenging, and for a text-based game I rather liked the graphics! Thanks for putting this together.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Nice game, good idea and use of theme! I featured it in my LD27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/FJWNdgd85u0

Sestren says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:04am

The concept of speed hangman is a cool idea, but I do wish this was more fleshed out and better executed.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]