August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Zang IV

by itidus21 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Super Zang IV, created for Ludum Dare 27.
There are currently no prequels or sequels.

It was created with GameMaker: Studio Standard Edition version v1.1.1044 (r25902). The source is essentially the gamemaker project files. It is unfortunate that this form of source code is quite opaque.

Play with left mouse click.

Windows 1 Link is what gamemaker calls a single runtime executable.
Windows 2 Link is what gamemaker calls a compressed applications zip.
Mac OS X (likely requires 10.7+) Link port was put together for me after the 48 hours and is a 38mb download made by bundling wine with the program.

WARNINGS
Warning 1: There is some very fast movement in this game, it might not be safe for people prone to visually induced seizures.

Warning 2: This game isn't guaranteed to work for the color-blind although color isn't critical in this game. In the readme files I said it's of no value but what I meant is it isn't critical.

Graphics and program created within GameMaker.
Sounds created with sfxr, and edited with windows sound recorder and windows movie maker and format factory.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#563Humor2.22
#893Audio1.67
#931Innovation2.43
#1070Mood1.65
#1088Theme2.35
#1124Graphics1.83
#1146Fun1.87
#1183Overall1.91
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

RandomM00 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:22am

I have no idea what was going on! O.O

T1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:39am

Hello! First of all, nice character designs! :D The graphics and sounds set up an interesting atmosphere.

The gameplay idea with the phases sounds really interesting, however the current phase is a bit hard to read, the game is quite fast-paced, and you really have to focus on the middle, no time to glance to the corner.

I would recommend to make the phases last a bit longer and perhaps try different cues. Changing the character look/stance based on the phase would be ideal, but other things like different music cues, or changing the grey background to red/blue depending on state would work as well.

If you made the phases longer, it would make the fighting more strategic, now by the time you check the phase and look back to your position the phase might as well have changed and that results in your clicks being random instead of what you want to do.

Also now you can win by click-spamming in the center of the screen most of the time :D

Sorry for the wall of the text, but i wouldn't have written so much if i didn't think the idea has great potential ;)

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:41pm

I agree with T1, the character design and graphics were fun. However, I couldn't really figure out how to play. I was kind of confusing. I like the character that looks like Strong Sad holding a stick.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Kind of baffling.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:24am

I wonder how many people read the readme after uncompressing the game :) Pretty neat game.

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Thanks for the readme file - it helped explain the phases and controls. It's a good idea but a little confusing. If I were making this game I might have combined attacking and defending in one phase so that clicking moves you forward and touching the front of your character to the side or back of the other player scores you a point, and touching a wall subtracts a point.

Top points for innovation, though!

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Nice game concept! Funny graphics, I especially like the snail. We need more snail fighting games! :D

The phases change a bit fast though, one can hardly keep up with what's going on. It would be nice if each phase would last 2 seconds instead of one. (Then a game would have to be longer than 10 seconds, I know.)

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:58pm

funny game u shold out the instructions in the game it self

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Funny game, I liked it. Cool bird character! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GZNeIKxvyg

Gazok says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Even after I read the rules, it seemed arbitrary whether I was damaging them or they were damaging me :/. High marks for trying something new, though.

meszka says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:30pm

The bird is great :) Mechanic is kind of interesting. Instructions should be within the game itself. I didn't read the readme at first and couldn't figure out what was going on.

Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:33am

Quite a funny idea actually. Very original. The execution could be a little better though, it lacked a little feedback - despite reading the readme file, I never really knew what I did and who got a point and why exactly. Still, nice entry. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]