August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds To Win

by lopiky1 - Jam Entry

10 Seconds To Win! Collect power-ups to get more time! Finish the game before time runs out, or else!

I made this in 56 hours.
This is my First LD, and my first game.
2 of my friends helped me out with some of the scripting.
The power-ups don't work yet so you have infinity time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#447Audio(Jam)2.18
#460Humor(Jam)1.67
#533Mood(Jam)2.00
#564Fun(Jam)2.10
#586Theme(Jam)1.89
#595Overall(Jam)2.19
#606Innovation(Jam)1.70
#610Graphics(Jam)1.48

Comments

Adjotur says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:57am

There were a few issues with the collision detection when you're falling and you clip into the side of a block, but otherwise it controlled pretty well. I LOVED the music, it fit perfectly with the game.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16am

thank you and i know i'm trying to fix it right now :D cheers

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:58am

disclaimer the music isn't mine when game is 100% done im gonna make my own music heres the music http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BSFy8N-2CDo&list=FLlIKH8wIKe2_sYzNCx3o90g&index=8

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:34am

Man, as much as I like this song, and it never gest old in 8-bit! You neen the rights to the song (currently held by Dragonforce).

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:34am

gets and need respectively.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:36am

Curse you red boxes!

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:37am

@crazi456 :D

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:38am

I assume you'll fix the audio. Right?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:38am

Congrats on your first game! Unfortunately I seem to be hitting a bug where at a random point in the game (it was different every time) my character's jumps would only go half as high and then I wouldn't be able to jump over the enemies anymore, so I'd have to start over. It's pretty fun though and I wish I could play more of it.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55am

Zephyr89@ yes i will when the game is done Steve Cochrane@ thank you i am fix all the bugs right now here just some of the bugs i'm fixing right now
1) the jumping glitch when your close to a enemy
2)the jitter glitch when you hit anything the player jitters around
im also gonna add more levels when i get the add time powerups working :3 cheers

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:07am

im very sorry everyone for the bugs im working very hard to fix :3 cheers

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:15pm

i fixed the jitter glitch does any one want me to update or wait to update until i fix all the bugs and add more levels?

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:55pm

jump glitch fixed now all that left is to add more level and make the add time powerup work cheers mates :D

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:06am

i just found out that i can't add new levels or change the music so ill will upload the bug fixes if you want to see future updates of this game go to my youtube channel http://www.youtube.com/channel/UClIKH8wIKe2_sYzNCx3o90g

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:42am

warning the jump bug is still there but its just doesn't show up as much to get the bug to stop get yourself killed by a enemy this will be fixed in future update everyone have a good day cheers :D

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:51am

oops i mean't to say i have to change the music i uploaded the update because i have fixed the bugs the were ruining the game the music will be changed

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:16am

stuff i fixed
-made my own music
-fixed all the bugs

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:33am

i also made a mac version enjoy :D

Arcana says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:46am

I tried this and I got the jump bug still. Still this is really nice for a first attempt. Too bad there wasn't any artwork and I confess that I thought the music was a little too short so the loop was a little too soon. The level's big though and the jumping and everything gives you a great start of a game.

ramoncb says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:46am

nice game! simple and fun!

maybe the red boxes need to be a little smaller ;-)

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:47am

The game seems really cool and you should definitely finish it later. Make it awesome! :D

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:53am

arcana@ Yeah that stupid bug is annoying XD ive been working for 5 days on the game 2 days trying to fix the bugs when everything is fixed ill make a better version of it and then you can download it from my youtube channel :3 http://www.youtube.com/channel/UClIKH8wIKe2_sYzNCx3o90g/videos

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:54am

Super hamster@ Thank you and im gonna make so good you could play it for hours on end :D

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:56am

ramoncb@ Thank you and yeah i was gonna make them smaller but i wanted them to look like the player XD

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:26am

Too bad it wasn't finished on time. Hope you have luck the next Ludum :]

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:32am

theholychicken@ yes it is to bad it wasn't finish the problem was im not a very good programer ive learned alot about programing from making this game infact i have never programed before XD but anyway if you want to follow this game go to my youtube channel for future update and thanks :D
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UClIKH8wIKe2_sYzNCx3o90g/videos

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:58am

YOU HAVE INFINITY POINTS!! Great work! Keep making games!

manabreak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:42am

Truth be told, this could have used some graphics. I know there's a limited time and all that... And I would've loved to see the theme more involved here. Good effort nonetheless. :)

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:55am

Angrycrow@ lol thanks i didn't know that i had a typo there XD and i will for along long time :D

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:00pm

manabreak@ Thanks and yeah it was ether make the game look good or make the game work XD

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:10pm

"Jump for fun" - Yay! *jumps down* - "Sucker" - Hey! *dies* :D
Really funny, a shame it's not completed.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:07pm

klianc09@ lol I was wondering when someone was gonna find that XD

Zap says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:03pm

~* Congratulations on your first game! *~
I found it really difficult to jump enemies at first, but then I got the hang of it...
Oh, reading through the comments it seems this is a bug - fooled me ha ha
Nice touch to have the menu playable :)
Keep making games!

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:04pm

For a first game - very good job.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Mironix@ Thanks :D. Zap@ yeah there a bug with the collision i need to fix ill make a big update and thanks the menu is inspired by super mario sunshine's main menu :D

Zathalos says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:02am

Haha not bad for your first LD. Needs quite a bit of work but it's getting there. Maybe add some secret rooms to spice up the gameplay and moving enemies. Good try.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:54am

:D

cafeine says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:38am

Very good for a first game! the playable menu is a clever idea. I like your graphics choice of using simple shapes and primary colours, it works nicely.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:59pm

:D

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:37pm

good job

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:38pm

ratalaika@ Thank you :D

tigerj says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:17am

For some reason the music stopped playing after the first level for me. (safari Web)

I like the responsiveness of the controls and I really like the music. For your first jam AND first game it's good that you finished (I know so many who don't).

Keep jamin'!

lopiky1 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:52am

tigerj@ thanks and its not a bug i didn't want to add it in the first level cause its very annoying music XD im gonna make a new music then ill put it in also the game is not done im gonna continue it :D

jomomomo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Had some issues where sometimes I couldn't jump has high as I needed to get over the darn red guys.

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:58am

Jump height sometimes bugs down, causing me to inevitably collide with the red boxes.. Also i do like to take blind jumps in pits :(

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:40pm

not too bad. although, music was a bit tedious.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:55am

For a first game under unity this isnt bad at all! miles better than my first game. keep it up and good jam!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]