August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Guild of Brothers

by kantieno - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first LD game. In Guild of Brothers you switch between 4 different characters every 10 seconds, each offers a different play style. The goal of the game is to get to and beat the boss. After the boss is defeated, you are sent back to the beginning and the difficulty is increased. See how many times you can beat it!
WASD- Move and Double Jump
Right Arrow Key- Attack
Down Arrow Key- Special Attack

I had a problem with uploading my source, but I uploaded anyways, I will get my source loaded ASAP!

!EDIT! Source is now available!

!!EDIT!! I realized I made a small mistake where it would not change to the next level on one level. I updated it to fix this.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#201Theme3.56
#288Graphics3.35
#397Innovation3.18
#548Overall3.06
#592Fun2.88
#620Mood2.64
#693Humor2.00

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26pm

very cool.
liked switching twixt characters
and they were all different enough for it to be interesting
could use more feedback when hitting something/getting hit

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38pm

It was quite enjoyable, really liked the character switching, helps you keep yourself on your toes and switch up your play-style depending on the character.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Really neat game mechanics, I likes them a lot. The frequent changing of the character keeps things interesting!

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Man, this is awesome. The only concern is not so comfort controls and the fact that you need to constantly mash attack button. Tha graphics could have a little bit more work.

pbdiode says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06pm

The biggest thing lacking in this entry is audio -- otherwise, very interesting concept, I'd love to see it fleshed out and polished up!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Solid entry overall. Switching character every 10 seconds was interesting. Couple of things though: The characters didn't have all that many differences, the areas got pretty repetitive with same tiles and monsters, and the camera doesn't scroll with the player properly, it's really hard to see what's coming from the right.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:46am

It's a pretty good idea, and well done, but the lack of audio really hurts this game.

Fun game, anyway.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:53am

Neat idea. Suddenly switching from a ranged to a melee character is an interesting experience. I do wish that there was a timer or something that appeared next to my character when you were about to change, so that I could plan accordingly.

The infinite jump mechanic wasn't immediately obvious, it took me a while to find it.

raoz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:08am

Pretty fun, as many have said, could use some audio

urth says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:21am

Loved it!
You have a winner here.
With some work and polish and multiplayer mode we could be looking at something like Castle Crashers but a platformer.

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:22am

Very clever idea! I had a bit of trouble with the controls, but LOVED the whole hero-changing thing. Definitely potential for this kind of gameplay!

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28am

Interesting idea. The characters could be more specialized and have items to recover the life, or recover with the upgrades.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:21am

Impressive to get an upgrade system complete in this time frame, and great graphics!

kantieno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:58am

Thanks, I do plan on making this into an actual game after I finish my current game. I was hoping to have had audio, several more enemies, and unique specials for each character, but I didn't plan time correctly and ran out of time. So hopefully yall will see a full version of this game coming out in the next few months!

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:09am

like the switching character concept.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:20am

character switching was very cool!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:17am

Solid idea! I like how you can just walk past the tutorial, and it isn't forced on you :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Nice entry for your first LD. :) Liked how colorful it is. And it's always nice when someone adds a shop and upgrades for their game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]