August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Twitchy Thrones

by rpmoura - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Microsoft XNA Framework Redistributable 4.0 required:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Twitchy Thrones is a real-time strategy game where you have to move troops between provinces as fast as you can, since every 10 seconds the population increases across the map. The goal is to conquer the whole map.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#87Overall3.69
#131Fun3.53
#161Humor3.16
#199Theme3.57
#282Mood3.11
#304Innovation3.33
#436Audio2.75
#529Graphics2.93

Comments

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Overall: How on Earth it didn't get any comments yet?! This game is outstanding!

Innovation: we've seen some similar game mechanices before already, but to be honest, I enjoy it better than moving silly swarm of viruses...still just 4/5, though.

Fun: seems that never can be boring. Maybe after 3 walkthroughs in a row - 2 wasn't much for me. ;)

Theme: turn-based game for the "10 seconds" rule...wow, man. Just wow.

Graphics: minimal-style, but perfect for this game. Also, this is the way of minimaldesign where I don't feel that I should give -1 because of simplicity, it fits so perfectly here! Still just 4/5, though. Titlescreen is cool by the way.

Audio: titlescreen sounds (music?) should be played ingame.

Humor: titlescreen sounds (music?) made me laugh.

Mood: BACK TO THE MIDDLE AGE!

optimality says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Fun, and love the "Lefteros" pun :).

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Loved your game, especially the intro ahah ><

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51pm

I really liked this. A simple but clever concept and engaging gameplay. And your theme tune is awesome! :)

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:52pm

This reminds me a bit of Risk and maybe Galcon. I enjoyed it.

ripatti says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22pm

You another very good entry.

Titlescreen music is great! 5 minutes and 2 wrong tries to understand how to play... And then I won 2 times.

AI may be way better. Hint for good strategy (it may by simply implemented if you have enough of programming skill): move all your people to borders of country and spread them almost evenly between provinces for defence. Then accumulate all new people in some inner province. When you will have enough of people, attack some neighbour country and quickly move accumulated people into the province from which you removed people for attack. Repeat for win.

senseidav says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:23pm

In windows xp sp3 it doesn´t work.. any clue?

rpmoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Senseidav, I think this release isn't compatible with Windows XP... Sorry about that!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52pm

The title screen was really promising (and funny), and the gameplay didn't disappoint at all. Great entry!

olafurw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:35pm

A bit confusing, not my style. Cheers! :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Very cool, like a simplified Galcon. Nice job.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:55am

That was incredible. This is easily the best game mechanically that I have played so far. It's like if somebody strapped a turbocharger to Risk. I want a competitive version of this. Make that. PLEASE make that. For tablets. So that people keep trying to click on the same province and drive themselves nuts. That would be terrible and awesome.

But really, I want a multiplayer version.

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:30am

I love the idea of the base mechanic and think it could be really fun with some iteration on the actual interaction. Like, I kept getting mixed up on if I was right clicking or left clicking, but if it were a drag interface I think it would feel more natural and more tactile and gratifying to move the troops around. Something to keep in mind if you decide to keep working on this. Nice work!

Jorqell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Extraordinary.

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:42am

This game is awesome!

jwolf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:46am

Pretty cool and well put together! The end game could be a bit quicker (had conquered everything but had to wait for a while for the last army to whittle down), but that's a fairly minor quibble.

flyingbear says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:57am

That was a lot of fun! My only nitpick would be to have the controls be left-click-and-drag to move troops instead of left-click then right-click.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:01pm

really like it.

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:19pm

This is really compulsive. Galcon is probably my most played iOS game, so really liked this. It's interesting how the tiny difference of a states gives it a narrative, I imagine the battles that take place, the grand mistakes and the victories...

err, yeah. This was cool.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Well done! I like this game :)

lucidlarva says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Very nice. I couldn't stop until I beat it.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Wow, just played this game for an hour! Absolutely awesome game!

It would be nice if one could divide an army. On the other hand not being able to divide an army makes the game more challenging... Not quite sure how I stand on this... :D

I really like the music in the intro screen. :D

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:15pm

good job

Aslai says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:19am

Once I got the hang of the basic strategy, I was in love with the game. It would be more fun if it wasn't as... Twitchy, but otherwise this could be made in to a full game. Maybe conquer Britain, then the UK, then to Europe, then Eurasia, then the entire (eastern) world!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:25am

Music was great on this. Found it a bit confusing to play at first then sort of got the hang of it, kind of like a fast paced version of that battle dice game on XBLIG! Great idea to fit it with the theme too, really good work in 48 hours!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Nice simplified war game. It took me a while to figure out the troops could be on the same space and contesting it. I had all of the enemy troops on one square and it took all long time for the battle to finish. Fun game!

Atridas says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:33pm

I just have no words

zlowrance says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Great game man, seriously good job

hissssssssss says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:41am

I really enjoyed this! It would be nicer if conflicts would resolve a bit faster. I had a large battle tying up the middle of the map for most of the game.

Mekuri says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 6:49am

Great game! I really liked it. Simple, yet strategic enough to be challenging.
One thing though- It would have been nice if the battles gets gradually faster if one of the armies have the advantage. Right now I'm waiting on the last Marvel country to count down from roughy 280, which means close to just 5 minutes of waiting. (I have around 700 units there myself).
Apart from that - This was an awesome game! Good job.

coeoliver says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:52pm

I love it

AlexFili says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:23am

This is strangely addictive. I managed to get an army of 700+ soldiers by the end and wiped the map clean. Overall it's a brilliant idea and so far it's the best Risk type game I've played in quite a while. Great concept, would love to see this fleshed out into something even better!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]