August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Timeline

by Lancey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Created using Construct 2, Construct 2 is required to view the source file.

I wanted to do something different with the idea of 10 seconds, and debated a character that would repeat 10 seconds worth of actions. This is basically the endpoint of that idea.

Timeline is a platformer where your character's actions are controlled by a 10 second timeline. You can move and adjust the actions on the timeline in order to overcome obstacles. New actions can be collected as items and added to the timeline.

Version 1.01:
- Fixed a bug where the secret exit for Level 9 would always appear.
- Fixed a bug that was causing actions on the timeline to act like they were being hovered over if they were adjacent to another action.
- Fixed a bug where an action you pick up on the timeline sometimes wasn't being sent to the top of the z order.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation4.38
Coolness56%
#6Theme4.38
#39Overall3.91
#110Fun3.56
#300Graphics3.34
#444Mood2.86
#592Humor2.18
#654Audio2.36

Comments

gigitrix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:41am

Very original idea. Just when you think all puzzle platformer concepts have been done new mechanics come along. Not really my genre but this is really well executed (seems difficult though)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42am

This is a great take on a platformer :)

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23am

Nifty. Really liked the graphical style. Could have used an animation for the parachute though! And music.

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:45am

Jesus christ this is such a clever and elegant take on the theme. Amazing work.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06am

Yep, that is totally brilliant. Super cool concept, well executed.

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09am

My favorite so far. First parachute level was tough!

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:10am

Very interesting mechanic.

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:10am

This is a great wee game, awesome use of the theme and great mechanics. Well done!

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:18am

This is very clever! well done, bravo. Took me a while to truly master the timeline, but when I got there this was a lot of fun.

HeroesGrave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43am

Quite nice

It took me a long time to find a game that shows up when I search "Linux", that actually runs on Linux.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:51am

Great idea, I love the concept !

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:07pm

That was really cool, nice use of the theme very clever. Fun game

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Excellent idea, execution working well as well, really enjoy it, thanks :)

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Very creative idea. This would be perfect for a mobile device. I don't understand how I won the second level though. I started walking in mid air and exploded, but still somehow won :D

brgarnet17 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Good game. The game glitched for me on stage 2 I think. Either way, great concept.

Photon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Really neat idea! You should really try to take this farther past the jam. Probably the major complaint for me is the game's pace feels too slow, but otherwise this is really solid.

bnhw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:15pm

I love the concept, but unfortunately found the jumping and timeline management a bit awkward (I'll have to replay when I have access to a mouse instead of a touchpad).

Reading your postmortem, I like the idea of a static timeline (maybe non-repeating, but longer than 10 seconds?) as it could introduce some interesting puzzling (which route to take, how long to wait for, etc.) Also, maybe something like a "climb" action instead of a jump would allow for more leeway with timing?

Perhaps my favourite use of the theme so far!

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Really cool concept and solid controls.

meszka says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Brilliant concept! Timing run-n-jumps is challenging. I accidentally cheated on one level (4 I think) by jumping "into" a wall, not sure how that happened ^^'

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Freaking hard game! It made me rage! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]