August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

They Blow Up So Fast

by RoseNinja - Jam Entry

Every 10 seconds, an amazing miracle happens. The balloon you are parenting ages another year. It's a miracle of life!

Bounce the balloon to adulthood using your loving hands until it is a healthy 14 year old balloon.

Click the arrows to select your balloon, and then press the balloon to take it into care.

Move the mouse to control your hands.

Made in 72 Hours for LD27 JAM.

Art Assets, Design and Story by RoseNinja
Programming by JellyCakes

Edit: Fixed the bug where you couldn't exit when you die.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#73Humor(Jam)3.43
#155Fun(Jam)3.27
#157Mood(Jam)3.27
#224Theme(Jam)3.25
#305Graphics(Jam)3.22
#308Overall(Jam)3.08
#409Audio(Jam)2.42
#416Innovation(Jam)2.65

Comments

MrBlade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:50am

Awesome game! Bouncing is a little bit unreliable, and the Y seems to have a maximum, loved that you added sounds. Graphics were very nicely done! The tears at the end were the best to. Keep it up!

Entity2D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:01am

Cute little game, great work!

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Nice little game, but I think it would of been more challenging if you controlled the hands by the arrow keys. Good Game anyway.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Such a simple concept and yet that was mightily cute!

My second balloon made it to 13 years. Until it died. I probably shouldn't have any children. Ever.

Nizan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Oh man, when you drop the balloon...
...right in the feels.

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:43pm

A nice little game!

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Very nice funny game :D My balloon left me alone for one whole year between 11-12 :( But he returned and lived happily ever after :)

Kimidori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32pm

simple but fun game.

Jicken says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:24pm

This game is perfect for the theme.

Ken Ichi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Nice game =] The ballon is enourmous at 15 years xD

ddionisio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Wow, that was a sad ending. I tried again and let go of it. I didn't realize how deep this game is! I enjoyed playing this game! Great use of the theme.

odeckers says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Fun game, graphics and music were really well done. Good work!

loxo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Really nice game! The graphics are great, especially the balloons. Some background music would be nice and it could be more challenging.

Ritzblues783 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Nice way to tie a story behind a keep up theme. I like how the balloon gets progressively larger over time. The art style was good. The ending caught me off guard and made me sad.

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Love the name.

canvapps says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:10pm

An emotional game, great use of the theme! Though it does not have much replayability, it is very nice for 3 days of work and a twist on the bouncing ball genre.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:28pm

I'm willing to do anything just to make these balloons smile!
Good job :)

onzephyr says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:52pm

simple concept . fantastically made.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:29pm

I really like the look of the balloon :)
It's getting a bit hard when the balloon is bigger because we don't really know where are our hands, but it's still a funny game.

netgrind says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:07pm

God that lose screen made me feel a little rough

dylanwolf says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:11am

I like the art (especially the background) and the humor (the game over screen is dark). I also like the game balance--as the balloon gets larger and easier to hit, your hands go out of frame.

As you commented, it really is like the opposite of my game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]