August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Sakura

by bluberry - Jam Entry

I wanted to create a relaxing moment, 10 seconds at a time.

Breathe in while clicking and holding onto the lily pad. Breathe out after 10 seconds as you let go. Repeat and relax.

www.bluberrygames.com/10secondsakura

This is my first LD. Thank you for the good feedback. This is more of an experience than a game. It's slow-paced, simple and minimalist, but I hope you still gain something from it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#225Innovation(Jam)3.12
#257Mood(Jam)3.00
#416Audio(Jam)2.38
#460Humor(Jam)1.67
#475Theme(Jam)2.66
#505Graphics(Jam)2.49
#517Overall(Jam)2.56
#571Fun(Jam)2.06
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:23am

simple way.

mutuware says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Remember to breathe out!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Relaxing indeed ;). Very dangerous as well, if you are waiting for the "Breathe out" message.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Not really a game, not really good way to use the theme, but I like the relaxation part, if feels as if it could really work. Focusing on breathing and holding the button..

bluberry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41pm

@PaperBlurt 10 seconds, in the context of a video game, is generally thought to be a short amount of time. So I played with the theme by making the 10 seconds feel slow. You must breathe in and hold your breath for the 10 second duration of each petal's descent.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:52pm

i needed this

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:24am

That was relaxing... :D

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:44am

Well that was good respiration :D

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:55am

The internet has made me a suspicion person. I kept waiting for some scary face to pop up on my screen. Interesting take on the theme

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:33am

Oh so zen :)

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:29pm

I am the Zen Master! Awesome take on the theme!

Solifuge says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:27am

I think I stretched my lungs in ways they haven't been stretched since I played a woodwind instrument. Not really a game, but a pleasant experience. Thanks for putting it together!

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:15am

Haha, was holding my breath for, like, 30 seconds thinking I was supposed to hold until it told me to stop. Nice relaxing concept for LD. Personally think you coulda done more for a Jam, but I also enjoy these little entries that are small but very well done. :)

tigerj says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:39am

well someone is 5 staring innovation tonight.

really awesome concept. refreshing.

Radolov says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:19am

Very relaxing with a cool concept. The game fits well with the theme.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:19pm

not bad, congrats for your first ludum dare.

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:48pm

This is a very unique take on the theme which is cool. The gameplay, art, and sound are relaxing.

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:55pm

I liked that you thought of a game on which you have to interactuate with real actions :)
Simple things are powerful

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Nice relaxing minigames ^^

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Relaxing.. uhp.. breath out! breath out!

01rafael says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:12am

need more than 10 sec to relaxation )

Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I like the idea of the game interacting with the player in a non-standard way, as if it's changing something in the room instead of only the machine.

Because of the simple nature of the game, it probably won't score very high, but don't let that discourage you!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]