August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

GridBall

by Tinard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It´s a puzzle game. You control the boll in the dark. In the beginning you get a chance to memorize (in 10 seconds...) the level and find your way to the green marker...

Control the boll with arrows and jump with space.


This is my first solo Compo and the first time working with unity so fell free to comment! =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#479Audio2.69
#589Graphics2.82
#633Innovation2.85
#686Theme3.03
#792Overall2.82
#848Mood2.33
#879Fun2.52

Comments

Snurf says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Fun and definiately challenging. Well done sir :)

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Pretty fun and challenging!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21pm

I wish that it would reset when you fell off the edge, and that you could skip the memorization. It's quite an interesting idea and pretty well put together.

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:26pm

interesting. maker it faster :3

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35pm

+ 1 to porglezomp requests
nice idea

Tinard says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Thx for the feedback!

I think its i god idea to skip the memorization after your first try!

maybe i will add some more torque in the future.. :)

Sebastian says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:51am

Cool idea! I'm not sure if anyone else is having this problem, but the fonts are rendering as rectangles for me. It would be nice if I could skip the 10 second waiting time when I die.

flarb says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:46pm

SUPER hard. :)

Andrew says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:48pm

I'll agree that it needs a button to fast forward the 10 seconds. Missing jumps near the end is really punishing due to the wait.

keppinakki says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Very challenging!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Very challenging, and nice job for your first go a Unity! I would suggest adding a shadow under the ball, so you can see where you will land. It would make the control much less frustrating :)

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Pretty hard game! :)
A faster reset would be nice.

Nice work!

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Nice simple idea, well implemented. Good job!

dook says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:48pm

This was really hard! Or I just sucked at it :P I could have used a button to just skip the memory timer so I could back to the game sooner after failing.

jujule says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:49pm

I like the interpretation of the theme. But controls are a bit inaccurate and made the game too difficult for me.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Good concept, fun, hard and easy to understand good job!!!

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:20am

The controls kill it. It would be a great game otherwise, but I felt moving the ball was a bigger challenge than memorizing the paths.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:36am

Good 3d game, the ball was slow making the game hard. Still, good job on this :D

Wertle says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:08am

Nice use of the theme! One thing I found was that there was a disconnect between the mechanic of memorizing the path and the "physical" skill of controlling the ball. Because the ball controls were tricky to master, the memorization part became less and less significant over time as my failures were due to sliding off the edge and not picking the wrong path. If you could find a way to tie the mechanics together more strongly I think it would really make this shine. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]