August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hourglass

by DoubleS - Jam Entry

Hourglass is a Bullet Hell game in which you control an embodiment of time itself and try to defend the Hourglass, a container for temporal energy, from the Time Eaters, beings who feed off of it. The catch is you only have ten seconds to do it, and must manipulate the passage of time by retrieving watch-shaped containers of temporal energy. While doing this, you'll have to dodge orbs of different speed and effects.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#143Theme(Jam)3.43
#168Graphics(Jam)3.72
#169Mood(Jam)3.24
#216Fun(Jam)3.09
#220Overall(Jam)3.27
#285Audio(Jam)2.85
#296Innovation(Jam)2.98
#395Humor(Jam)1.99

Comments

Skye says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:10am

Overall it was a very fun game. Gonna bookmark it

Serishmus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:12am

I love how this works with the theme!

Erhune says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:12am

The use of the theme is pretty classic, but the realization of the game is quite good.

The graphics and ticking sounds convey a nice atmosphere.

My main gripe would be the controls: for such tightly controlled movements, there REALLY need to be no inertia in the movements (since the game is made with Unity, I think just switching from Input.GetAxis to Input.GetAxisRaw would improve things *a lot*).

Supercannon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:14am

Interesting idea to slow time, made for a fun game. Good work for 1 weekend.

Diventurer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:14am

Neat. It got very hard after a while though!

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16am

best game i have played so far really nice mood good use of theme. nice one!

4xisblack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20am

I actually liked the inertia; it gives the character a sense of weight. Super Mario Bros had inertia!

DoubleS says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:27am

Added a Kongregate link. Thanks for the comments and the compliments on the art. When DoubleS wakes up (I'm Halfy, who made the art and some other things in the game), I'll ask him about the inertia. - Halfy

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:38am

In anachronic future, time devours you!

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:41am

really well done! love the style, controls and concept :)

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:44am

Great job! Nice graphics. I like simple ideas and interesting implementations. That game is one of it. Well done.

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:47am

Marvelous graphics :D
boring gameplay D:

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:48am

Nice realization of the theme and your ideas. One problem is that the slower moving balls become a nuisance at timescales of 0.2 and below. However your gfx and audio are really polished and so the mood of the game is excellent.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:26am

The ticking clock is a nice touch and the character controls very smoothly.

Tiago says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:31am

Very nice game, good graphics and gameplay, quite polished too! great job!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Lovely graphics! I don't know how many times I had to 'retry' though.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Very professional look and feel.

Capro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Nice visuals and good gameplay, but it's a bit too difficult.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:51pm

The particle effects are great, the UI is great too. I think you could add more gamplay to it, such as more kinds of item or more kinds of bullets behavior, not just randomly shoots them toward center. Good job overall :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Wow this one plays great and a nice graphics too! Thanks!

DoubleS says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:02pm

The difficulty is generally a staple of the Bullet Hell genre. It's difficult, but not impossible: you can survive for far more than one real-time minute.

There might be gameplay changes in the future if we both feel like it, they'll be avaliable on the Kongregate version, so keep an eye on that. During the development I was thinking of adding bullets that had established routes, but didn't get to it because the game already needed a lot of balancing and we were running a bit short on time. Thanks again for the compliments. - Halfy

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Really like the art on this one.

wine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Nice work!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:37pm

good job

Pierrec says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46pm

A fun and pretty game. One remark : I would have like to replay by pressing any key on the keyboard instead of grabing my mouse. It's just a detail, but I think it's important for this kind of short game, especially when they're good enough to make you want to play again

DoubleS says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:51pm

We're probably adding retrying without clicking in the next update for the Kongregate version.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Love the art and the sound. The controls are also very smooth.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:01pm

I love the graphics of this game, really nice. Great use of colors.

My only minor complain is that it needs a small pause before the game starts, something like a "ready, set, go!"

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:04pm

I played the regular web version, I'll check out the kong version later today when I get home. I hope there are some leader boards or scoring on kong because I really like the challenge you have here.

I like the art a lot too!

Good game.

DoubleS says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Yes, there are leaderboards in the Kongregate version. It saves both how many watches you've collected and how much realtime you've endured (they're separate.)

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:00pm

It look like it doesn't work on my old macbook running with mac OS 10.5... :/I'll test it tomorrow with windows 7.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Brilliant stuff, well done.

bitserum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:10am

Liked the idea and looks really good too. Though I found bullets to be either: too large, too random or too many for effective dodging 2 minutes in the game.

DoubleS says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:43am

The Kongregate version has been updated and now has a fairly better Instructions menu.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:04am

A really good idea for a passing-the-time game, no pun intended! A 3 second safe period at the start might make it a little less irritating if I get hit as soon as I start, however. I had fun, simply.

sebb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:04am

Cool game, great take on the theme and the graphics where nice!

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:44am

Really liked it, great gameplay and great graphics!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Pretty fun game, wouldve been cool if the moving things were physics objects that would push you off the edge instead of just killing on impact. Enjoyed it tho, great entry :D

link2x101 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:18am

The bullet-hell of dodging, done with excellent graphics, spot-on controls, and an excellent way of making a 10-second time-frame last very long.

Very fun, for sure, and it was nice to see how some dangers eventually became more annoyance than danger.

If anything, add some light ambient music, quieter than the clock ticking.

Excellent work.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

Neat.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:08am

Very interseting concept and kinda fun! i liked it

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:55am

Gets pretty hectic! Very nice visuals and sounds. Nice work!

truiton says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:19am

I like the mood and the graphics, but the character move a little too slowly :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:45am

Visually very appealing!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Very very fun! Good use of the theme, and fantastic art/mood!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Cool idea! Dodge everything games like these are pretty fun! Graphics looked great and the sound effects were cool too!

fgielow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:49am

I like the way you transform the time trial challenge. Think you could implemented new strategies in the mechanic.
I like the graphics too! Well made =)

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:51am

I is good use of the theme. I thought the controls were a bit hard, but with some practice I started to pick it up.

koe415 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:52am

Great use of the theme and excellent audio design. Having the pickups be different tones really adds a lot to the experience. The controls felt right for movement. Good game guys!

mklee says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:29am

Excellent excellent stuff. Just about everything here works, the visuals are gorgeous, the audio complements the mood, and the game is on the right side of just hard enough to make it a challenge. The time scaling as you get closer to the goal is really inventive. Awesome job! One of the best things I've seen in LD!

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Gorgeous graphics and sound, creating a great atmosphere. The little protagonist was especially cool. I would have appreciated a way of disposing of some of the slower moving balls, but otherwise the game was smooth and fun.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Wow! Very intense! Amazing graphics and the difficulty progression was quite well done. The controls were a bit floaty, though :)

Unept says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Nothing like a little orb-dodging to keep me on my toes. Love the graphics. LOVE the use of the "10 seconds" theme!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:13pm

The gameplay is a bit simple but really good realization.

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Lovely style, lovely gameplay and sounds good. thank you for the game!

Broxxar says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:04am

Great use of theme, a lot of fun

Pol says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:46am

At the beginning I was afraid the game might feel boring, but when the orbs start ovewhelming the whole place it becomes very fun to play ! I liked how you used the theme, too.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:57am

good take on the theme, although the enemies were more threatening than the countdown. hard, but quite balanced, and as a fan of bullet hell shooters this was a fresh spin on the formula.

ign says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:30am

Very nice game mechanics. And i love usable controls.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Simple, fun and polished.

GFM says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Nice game and interesting concept! :)

I really liked how you must slow time to score higher but that makes the game harder.

But only (small) complaint is that it really sucked to go back and forth between mouse and keyboard only to restart the game. The are no problems with the menu (it also forces the player to set focus to your game), but in game it would be better to keep my hands all the time on the keyboard... Perhaps this is just me being picky. xD

klianc09 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Reading the instructions just confused me, but when I started playing it, it made all clear.
Very interesting concept, and the difficulty is just alright.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:32pm

clean graphics, fun game. aesthetically pleasing sound.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Very polished visuals and great use of theme! Gets a little tiring after a while though. :S

DoubleS says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:30pm

GFM, your complaint was already adressed for the Post-Compo Kongregate version (you can now retry by pressing the R button at the retry screen.)

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Pretty fun but I felt like the orbs spawn too close to where you need to be so I had almost no time to react to some of them. Decent use of theme and nice sound effects!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Love the use of the theme. Great bizarre world with a solid controls. Very nice and polished entry. :)

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:08pm

It was so much fun!

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Beautiful graphics. It's difficult to me but I think it's supposed to be. I like the mysterious atmosphere

porglezomp says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Fun, but the instakill balls felt a bit unfun. I never once had trouble with the timer, because the balls would always kill me.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Nice effort and polished. Felt the balls were too big or the space too small, etc. Too hard to really dodge things and not enough reaction time.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:22am

Really liked the graphics. The game play was pretty addicting. Wasn't sure what all the orbs did, they mostly seemed to just kill me and end the game.

infernet89 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:05am

Very well-executed game! Understand wich kind of balls can hit me and wich one make me lose was a trial&error, maybe adding those in the instructions can be better!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Nice idea with timescaling!

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Controls were quite slippy but its pretty and a cool idea

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:24am

Very polished, lovely graphics and simplistic overall.
Very cool game! =D

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Quality type game! Really!!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Very nice!! It seems like you had an idea similar to mine. The game was really challenging and fun but I wish the screen was just a bit larger so I could see the spheres coming with a bit more anticipation. Lovely entry.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Nice mood, nice use of the theme... and pretty good gameplay (I like the inertia!).
Good job!

Sestren says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:33am

This is one of the best uses of the theme I've seen so far. I love that you only get 10 seconds, and all you can do is slow down time to make more of those last few seconds (or milliseconds). Awesome entry!

Sascha says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Nice game! Gameplay is a bit simple, but the graphics and presentation is great!

Kotstulle says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:06am

quite simple game with a beautiful art style! well done :)

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Good game! Nice work with the graphics!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Nice entry, love the different sound for the watch, kinda create a melody :)

Grafter says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Cool game!

Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Pretty, clean graphics! Kind of felt like the hand of a clock going round and round..

ENDESGA says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:35am

very cool :)
I've been coming back to this game to replay it :D very fun!

-ENDESGA

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]