August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Distraction

by andwhatnot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a meditation on necessity, the uses of diversion, and the meaning of life?

There may or may not be a taco somewhere in this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#403Innovation3.17
#453Humor2.42
#538Fun2.94
#688Overall2.94
#772Mood2.46
#942Audio1.42
#944Theme2.68
#955Graphics2.20

Comments

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31am

WHO ARE THESE CUBES AND WHAT DO THEY WANT FROM ME?!?

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15pm

01234560 argh... that parts so frustrating...

grayhaze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:28pm

An enjoyable little platform game. The movement of the cubes sometimes makes it almost impossible to reach the higher goals, but adds to the challenge.

apaneske says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:32pm

The face was a nice addition. Replayed it a couple of times, and was surprised when I was pushed through the floor.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:55pm

This is really great.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:26pm

What happened ? Did I win the game? I have no idea. I had negative seconds!

flyingbear says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33pm

A platformer where the "platforms" slowly track you is surprisingly interesting to play! I liked the surreal turn the game took.

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:33am

The "tracking" platforms is indeed a very cool idea!

Meep says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13am

Fun little game. :) I managed to find the taco!

evilDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:40am

I just keep buying tacos and rainbows.

I don't know what I just played, but I loved it and wished to spend more time with it. MORE PLEASE!

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Fun little plat...former? Unique gameplay. Maybe a little confusing, which only shows how little I understand the meaning of my own life. *sigh* ;)

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I like, how the level changes with every collected "thing" and that everything is moving. I fell through the floor once though and the game runs a bit slow for me.

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:02pm

I'm not sure if I really get it. The take on platforming was cool, though.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:03pm

I'm confused... but I had fun, I think? Haha :D

Jayjay says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:22am

The cubes are friendly at first, but eventually turn foe as you try to get to harder-to-reach ones.

bnhw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:35am

I really liked the concept of the floating staircase building up procedurally, but I managed to get pushed off by the blocks! http://i.imgur.com/KAOd4GY.png

jrose says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:11am

Evil cubes! Challenging and addictive game. I finally mastered it and discovered the meaning of life.

Delca says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:05am

A interesting platformer! I liked moving the character around and just jumping from one cube to another.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:27pm

I love games that go the surreal way and breaks the rules that they set up themselves (this kind of felt like a micro version of Frog Fractions) and this was really great.

Surprisingly, the moving blocks mechanic was very cool, that seemed like it could be expanded and explored a lot!

I actually really want to make games like this, but I never dare pour more than an hour into it, because people just think it is super weird. Maybe one day I'll make something like this for a full weekend :)

Thank you for this great experience :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Oh and btw, I had never heard of In Time before you mentioned it in a comment on my game :D I think it would fit a game story better than a movie.

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:45pm

First stage reminds me a lot of problem attic. I love how gleefully obtuse this is.

cafeine says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:15am

Good! I don't think I've been stalked by cubes before, that was an odd experience :)

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:25am

kinda reminded me of boos from mario. I loved the offbeat gameplay! where can I spent my negative seconds in real life?

lalanl says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:53am

+∞ for tacos. :)

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:05am

I managed to get pushed off the bottom of the screen by an orange block

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:52pm

good job

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Did I just play a platformer game with moving platforms? That worked surprisingly well. Are the positions of the blocks scripted? They seemed so random, but at the same time really helpful.

And I am really confused. Did I win? Did I lose? Does it matter? The game seems to be over though.

pythong says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:18pm

had negative seconds too. no idea what happended?

Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:16am

Didn't understand what I was supposed to do on the second stage...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]