August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Smasher

by thesunnyk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Something something nature of time, something something relativity. Let's smash some planets together! It is the way of the universe. For some reason you have 10 seconds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#391Innovation3.19
#766Fun2.68
#906Overall2.68
#954Theme2.67
#1056Mood1.75
#1110Graphics1.86
#1477Coolness36%

Comments

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:01pm

I think this could be a really neat core mechanic. It took me a minute or two to find how the smaller balls orbit. but was neat to try and exploit that. Well done.

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Cool mechanic, yeah. I wouldn't mind to see this expanded a bit more.

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:19pm

nice idea, well done

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Agreed, the mechanic was interesting, though the game was too simple, no real graphics or music. Still, it's a great start, for what it's worth it's rather flawlessly programmed.

brodavi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20pm

I like this! Fun mechanic. I would suggest trying to restrict the planets from entering a tight orbit. Makes it too easy to just let them 'spin themselves to death' with each other. I like trying to 'fling' them better. But they are quite small, and it is a challenge!

Komradus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:00pm

I've been wanting to make something like this for ages. It's great to see someone else thinks alike. Well done.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Simple but quite challenging. Good job with the programming. Could have used a decent background and gfx though.

ananasblau says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:11pm

It didn't feel fair, I always have the feeling that the planets should have collided. maybe if you slow time down, zoom in and show me how close they where when they didn't hit each other. That would give me a feedback and give you something to put some more relativity to it. If you do slow down, don't forget to add something like movement vectors or similar to indicate the high speed the planetsI are flying at. I recently played a lot of Solar 2 and I LOVE CRASHING planets :D

and yes, sounds, music, better graphics, c'mon bfxr, greasemonkey's atrk-bu.py and cloudy images instead of filled circles, all things you should get sorted before the compo and have ready in your codebase.

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:36pm

simple game, but incredibly addictive mechanics!
those are the best ones :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:28am

Nice idea with the physics!

alexandervrs says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:18pm

That is a pretty clever game mechanic really. Add some graphics, explosions and powerups (like one that increases gravity range and/or power) and it will be a cool game.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:08pm

cool mechanics. kinda fun once you get the hang of it.

thesunnyk says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:31am

Thanks for the love guys, it's really built up my confidence. I'll try a game for LD28 and hopefully it'll be better.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]