August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

There's A Hook

by Glockenspiel - Jam Entry

You must reach the teleporter to reach the next level sounds simple. But "There's a hook" in this platformer. Basically every ten seconds something random happens that will make the game easier or harder (most likely harder). Featuring 10 levels and an infinite amount of deaths allowed (you'll need them deaths).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#152Innovation(Jam)3.30
#171Theme(Jam)3.37
#199Humor(Jam)2.79
#213Fun(Jam)3.10
#274Audio(Jam)2.89
#300Overall(Jam)3.10
#302Mood(Jam)2.88
#414Graphics(Jam)2.83

Comments

Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:27am

This is a cute game! I like the idea of something random happening, but I didn't like it when it turned upside-down and stayed that way until I finally completed the level (are you sure they last only 10-30s?) You should try adding some good things, like making the coins count double. Nice job in the limited time though!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:42am

XD you had me at the picture of the thing holding a hook.
The random (*insert appropriate whatever here*)s are pretty funny. The upside down switch made me walk right off the edge!
I couldn't beat the level with the teleporter below the player separated by a wall, though. There was no where to jump to..

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Hehe fun game :D

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:38pm

I liked the random event but I think i died 13153 times because a cube randomly diseapeared xD.

infinitedog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:38pm

I really like your game! The idea of improving difficulty using random situations every 10 seconds is great.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Nice weird stuff! I'm curious just how much random stuff there is to have happen.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:49pm

This game is making me craaaayyyyzeeeeaaahhh xD
Awesome :)

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Okay, I gave up because the level just stayed upside down and zoomed in and I could not figure out what to do. That's not fun. I'm guessing it's an event that has a high probability and a 30s duration? IMO, not the best design there (Without a light at the end of the tunnel, I just gave up.) The events themselves could have used some rewarding like Rose said, but at 10 seconds with the minimum duration of 10 seconds, and not a lot of explanation as to what they were (I had 0 idea what was going on) - it just left me confused and unhappy. Other than that, the game is a great little puzzle platformer with a lot of character - I like it.

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:56pm

The game is great until it turns upside down, after which some levels become too frustrating, and you have to wait for ages to turn back to normal.

Glockenspiel says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:39am

[spoiler]
Thanks for all the feedback.
There is only 4 different things that can randomly happen, unfortunately i didn't have enough time to do as much random events as i wanted. As the time of the events are randomized to either 10, 20 or 30 seconds. so if 30 seconds have passed its very high probability that 3 of the 4 events will happen. So that's why some events last longer as once the event is over its very likely that it will be picked again. Basically the game needs more events and a small change of code to fix this. I will be finishing the game in my own time

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:07am

Pretty nice, things got a little difficult when the screen started flipping and zooming making the platforming a bit frustrating. Other than that is pretty well made, i like it. Well done.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Nice game! It would be really cool to see this game expanded with more crazy random things that could happen. The music is nice and the character is amusing. Also, did you play Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon? That title screen background looks awfully familiar. :)

kbm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Pretty cute idea, very creative! Good job! :)

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:37pm

I like this a lot! :) Very well done in almost all aspects!!!!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:05am

I'm liking the entries where something odd happens every ten seconds. Not bad!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Twist is nice, game itself moderately enjoyable.

Starspell says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Mine eyes and ears! That background just burns my eyes when I'm moving through the air. The audio is really harsh and the music is at odds with the sfx.

The platforming is good and the character design is cool. I wish the effects didn't last as long as they did and that the zoom one didn't exist at all - it's not fun to make leaps of faith constantly.

Well done for getting it out there though.

bitserum says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Really nice mechanics and random events. Really messes up with your brain, in a good way.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Very cool mechanics! Loved the audio too!

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:39pm

There need to be more random things happening. The disappearing platforms and the zoomed in view got really annoying, but I guess that was the point of this.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:17pm

not bad, but is frustrating when the screen rotate,to hard to understand what is happening, but i like gameplay. Good work

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:07pm

This is challenging! When all 3 bad effects are activated, dying is just inevitable. Had a lot of fun playing this anyway. And oh, nice soundtrack!

namuol says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:09am

I believe I've fixed PAC-MANy for FireFox if you want to give it a try; thanks!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:45am

Ahaha little crazy game :) Good idea !

Wertle says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:19am

I like the mechanic idea a lot. Randomness as a mechanic is a tricky beast, it's funny and novel at first but if there is no way to get better or learn or improve skill-wise it can get a little tiresome. If there were a way to achieve mastery I think it would be more fun to play longer. Good job!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:46am

Man...I have to get all of the coins!

nthird says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:53am

Really liked the them and there was some great level design at play here. I completely gave up on the one with moving platforms though. Between them phasing in and out of visibility and being reversed and zoomed in it became basically impossible. Some way to undo the changes or some better handling of it (like not making moving blocks phase) would help. I liked it a lot right until I hit that wall where it became impossible though. With some tweaking this could be fantastic.

Jedi says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:39pm

It's really awesome! I ragequit after 73 deaths though :P

The effects need to be less random and more predictable. The "meaner" effects like zooming in need to checked to make sure they aren't in play too often. I swear I spent three minutes on one level upside down, zoomed in, on an invisible moving platform, just waiting for the situation to improve, and when it did, I of course died right away D:

In the last level I quit on, with lots of spikes and back-and-forth-blind-jumping, I felt like the platforming would be plenty hard enough with NO crazy effects in play!

I really enjoyed the music! I felt like the sound effects were just a LITTLE bit too different from the music, like someone else said, but thought the audio as a whole was a 5* experience by jam standards.

This game is brutal but I will probably come back to it. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]