August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Valdo

by DvigubaiPiktas - Jam Entry

This is a puzzle game, where all your characters, named Valdos, have separate dimensions/layers. These characters can collide only with their own dimensions/layers and other characters so your Valdos must help each other to solve the level.

Controls:
A - move left
D - move right
TAB - pause
SPACE - jump
Q - previous Valdo
E - next Valdo
W,S - scrolling menu
ENTER - choosing from menu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#75Innovation(Jam)3.56
#92Fun(Jam)3.47
#314Overall(Jam)3.06
#330Mood(Jam)2.81
#346Humor(Jam)2.20
#476Graphics(Jam)2.61
#508Audio(Jam)1.44
#608Theme(Jam)1.00

Comments

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Nice level design, so fun!

munchor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Nice game I love the mechanics and the level design, rated 1/5 on theme because I don't see any reference to 10 Seconds here.

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Awesome game! The concept is great, logical platformers are awesome, but I can't see its relation to the theme :/

choqaae says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Fun game, but i can't see how it is related to the theme

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Good lvl design and fun to play, but where is the theme? :P

Mjiig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Very nice level design, really fun, but I had to stop before I finished the last level because i think the program was memory leaking or something as it kept getting gradually slower. I can't see the reference to the theme though.

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30pm

No connection to the theme as far as I can tell, but still a very fun and interesting puzzle game! A few more sounds would have been nice.

Lo-X says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Really nice concept, I do like puzzle game and yours is really nice and unusual ! Think with three or more dimensions like that isn't so easy and then you get used to it and solve levels.

Level design is good too, it brings fun.

I do not the the theme either in the game :/ It misses audio too

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Great game and very clever. If there is some reference to the theme perhaps you could make it more explicit?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Actually we're participating first time in Ludum Dare. And we can say that this is our first finished game we have made (before we have just been learning how to use libGDX, testing it's features and learning java). So because it's our first participation, we actually didn't care about the theme. Well we got the idea, and thought, that we will implement the theme later, but we didn't have enough time. So the game does not have any refrences to the theme.

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Sweet game. Reminds me of Ibb and Obb. It's missing the theme though, unless I missed something.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38pm

This is awesome!
Even though I don't see any connection to the theme, I still enjoy it a ton. Great idea, cool art, nice mood.

I hope you expand on this soon!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38pm

I managed to play the first few levels, but it started getting laggier and laggier, and then my computer crashed.

Afal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:53pm

the controls were a little irritating

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:07am

Yes, we noticed the lag, it should be the leak of memory, we'll figure it out. What do you mean by irritating?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:34am

Memory leak fixed: haven't disposed some variables.

madk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Why didn't you make W jump? That would have made things so much easier. Also, I didn't catch how the theme was relevant.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Nice, well put together multilayer platformer. Great work, but like others have observed, the theme isn't represented (as far as I can tell, unless it's very distantly connected). Lots of fun though!

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Clever game. Great level design. It's a really nice prototype with a lot of potential.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Cool level design.

gmaker says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:54pm

cool little game! =) i loved it =)

Archerion says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:55pm

No relation to the theme and i found myself fighting your jumping mechanics more than i like.
But i actually had a ton of fun and would definitely play this again.

johntheperson says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Awesome game. Not sure about the theme part, but the game mechanics are very cool.

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Love the mechanics/puzzles :) Will def. play more later Just wish it had 10 seconds in there somewhere lol

Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:54am

One of my favorite games. Great idea. I featured this game in my LD27 compilation video, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/jm5J5gdV81o

Xaychru04 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 6:12pm

I really like the idea, the level design is pretty clever too. I don't see any stuff that relates to the theme, but it was fun...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]