August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

O

by Once Upon a Team - Jam Entry

HOW TO PLAY

Click to move (don't hold too much)

Moving uses up your tentacles, allowing you no more than 10 seconds of interaction

Eat plankton in order to regen

Be careful, ennemies destroy your tentacles too, try to stay alive



ABOUT US

We are two french students, it's our first Ludum Dare and it was a great experience !
We hope you'll have some fun with the game !

Music by Celestial-Sticker (newgrounds.com)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#77Mood(Jam)3.57
#106Audio(Jam)3.44
#162Graphics(Jam)3.74
#282Overall(Jam)3.14
#306Fun(Jam)2.90
#387Humor(Jam)2.00
#434Innovation(Jam)2.59
#484Theme(Jam)2.64

Comments

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Commonly seen concept but still this entry is great. Good job on you first Jam!

mollymus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:43pm

The game has some smooth animations and a nice feeling to it! Good job!:)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Good game! I really like the atmosphere and the gameplay.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46pm

I love the flow of the game very relaxing and really cool atmosphere. Cool work :)

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:47pm

I love the graphics and had fun trying to survive. Very creative little enemy creatures. I had a little trouble understanding when/how I was losing tentacles; it seemed too far out of my control, or random. Overall I enjoyed it.

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Nice graphics but the control/movement is little bit chaotic for me :)

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:52pm

The movement was a bit difficult and I'm not really sure how the theme is conveyed. But the graphics and audio are superb.

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Great work!

robb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:31pm

I wish I could control this game with the keyboard, using my trackpads makes it very tedious. Nice mood and lovely graphics!

SneManden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Very beautiful graphics! Great atmosphere.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Love the concept and the graphics and music are really well done. Nice!

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Oooh. Pretty Jellyfish and lovely ambiance music to go with it. This is kind of relaxing. Like looking into an aquarium.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:09am

Gotta love that music. Great looking game with a nice distinctive style to it, awesome work for your first Ludum Dare.

drkrunk says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:23am

You did really good on the mood, graphics, and audio. Very beautiful game.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Simple and beautiful game *w* !!!! i love the ambient, interesting concept, beautiful music *w* !!! :D WOW

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:49am

loved all of the critters! cute and relaxing game

cwkx says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Lovely visuals and fantastic relaxing ambient music, congrats! :)

Andresh says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:42am

Really nice use of theme. But a feedback for when you get hit and lose control of cell could have a feedback for how long you dont have control.
Since you can exit the screen and return from the other side, it would be nice if when you chose the movement location to have the cell take the shortest route by exiting and returning to the screen.
Great background music. Great job ^^

alts says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:29am

Very pretty game. I never developed an intuition of how much "tentacle" would be used by moving a certain distance, which made some things difficult, but once the aggressive enemies showed up, I pretty much dropped all regen strategies I'd had. Nice work, and congratulations on your first LD.

kidder says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:07am

Very zen and Flow-like. Love the art.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:21pm

such a meditative experience. well done!

Mironix says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:24pm

relaxing and with a unique style, good difficulty and a possible mobile blockbuster.

manuq says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Simple and relaxing :)

EggDestroyer says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:35am

Good job, relaxing, a bit hard to move

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Lovely ambiance.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]