August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Korn Land

by GigaBass - Jam Entry

THE GAME IS DONE IN JAVA! DON'T NEED WINDOWS TO PLAY IT! :)

--------- HOW TO PLAY ----------

UNZIP IT TO A FOLDER, DON'T PLAY OFF THE RAR OR IT'LL THROW AN ERROR!
OPEN GDXFKAX.RAR!

-------TOOLS------------

Sounds done on the mic + Audacity.
Graphics all done by pixel, Paint.
Netbeans + LibGDX.

------ COMMENTARY-------

Very, very, very unfinished. I only started about 20 hours after the compo had started, because I had no ideas. When I did start, 95% of the time was spent drawing the corn, carrots, and the rest of the art. I'd say, total, not even 20% of my total work time was on coding!

Was aiming to be a fun bullethell, in which each wave was actually planned, not randomized, with several fun mechanics around the 10 seconds... included googly eyes and the corn, with a huge laser. I had planned a boss that would had some trick to beat, too.
That big popcorn field to the right was supposed to be an interface showing stuff like Lives, current ammo, etc... oh well.
Very sad I didn't do half what I intended to, but at least I submitted it :)

--------- HOW TO PLAY ----------

The gist of the game as it is: You need only to survive the waves. Move with the arrow keys.
To help lessen your chance of dying, you can shoot popcorn with C to destroy enemy bullets alone, not the enemies themselves.
The waves last 10 seconds, followed by 10 second breaks!

You also only get to die 10 times before you lose*

(You can press F1 to toggle hitboxes if you're curious. Corn's hitbox is that way on purpose)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#102Humor(Jam)3.22
#400Graphics(Jam)2.86
#406Audio(Jam)2.44
#439Mood(Jam)2.47
#533Fun(Jam)2.23
#538Theme(Jam)2.41
#587Overall(Jam)2.27
#591Innovation(Jam)1.93

Comments

Phobos001 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:07am

Pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew- Okay, I'll stop.

I know you didn't have a lot of time to make the game, but it's annoying to respawn and have the carrots instantly kill you. It goes with the theme but doesn't do anything really interesting with it. This would be fine if the gameplay was a bit better. :P

Hopefully you'll be able to finish your entry properly next time! :)

GigaBass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:37am

Yeah, I fixed that post-submission because it was realy annoying and sort of game-breaking, gave invulnerability for a short period after respawn.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:18am

Needs some work hope you continue with it. with some polishing it will be a pretty good game still good job for 72 hours

Erhune says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:44am

A bit frustrating (hitboxes should be on by default to understand what's going on, the player shoot could be upped in quantity and size, I think...), but you're forgiven for the awesome death animation :p

(Also, I liked the detail of the corn actually rotating when you move sideways... :p)

syradinegames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:53am

good try. my main critique is I think I died more than 10 times or maybe it just seems like alot of deaths. Felt like I had infinite lives without a life counter to tell me otherwise.

GigaBass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:02am

Yeah, the popcorn field thingy to the right was supposed to have a lives counter, how many popcorn were charged up to shoot, and plenty else that I didn't get too. :(

Jools64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Madness. Carrots everywhere. So little time.

This was a fun game but a little to difficult. A nicer curve would have made things better.

I really liked the graphics, they where really neat. I especially loved the wave text made out of corn.

Great job! Very impressive for the time that you spent on it.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Admittedly the mechanics seem incomplete and need some balancing, but in the end I enjoyed it anyways. It's easy to notice you took your time with the graphics, and I'd be interested to see this in a more polished state if you're planning to improve it. Good job!

Zccc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Very nice and fun xD I think you already know what is wrong with it, but nice job overall. Cool graphics.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Sweet as corn!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:23pm

I'm pretty sure that is actually impossible. Certainly my non-bullethell trained eyes were of no help in keeping track of that.

The KFC bucket is funny.

bassarisse says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:16am

Not working on OSX =/

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:34am

Very nice and enjoyable!

daOyster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:29am

Nice, but what's with the wall of popcorn on the right?

GigaBass says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Why does no one read the descriptions :'(

Was supposed to have slots for interface.

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:34pm

The graphics look a bit like for entry for compo.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:26am

pew sound <3

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:18am

Got an error trying to play it.
http://pastebin.com/Gf25f0Ln

euske says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:33am

I always like games that make me hungry.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:39am

Later waves were hard to avoid. But yeah, nice intro xD

GigaBass says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Tanser, it was supposed to be for Compo. I started like 20h after compo started, and was solo..
No idea how to fix that Pixel, issues with your java version or such.
Yeah Diptoman, they were supposed to be planned individually, but it ended up being a spawnRandom() for each and every wave. No time :( (and bad management of the time I had)

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:00am

hard to avoid anything

Gazok says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:44am

I died. A lot. But it wasn't as bad as you led me to believe, I got a good laugh from the concept :P

reheated says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:18am

Fun and funny. I like the art.

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:44am

Idea is good. Could have been a pretty good game if level design wouldn't have been so unfinished. Wave are too intense and also too short. Also not really fan of that "10 second" pause while there is nothing to do in that game phase.

GigaBass says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:59am

Yeah that was just rushed in. Pause was supposed to have stuff happening

gmaker says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:50pm

AAAAA CARROTS =)) hope u'll finished it =) cute korn =)

pighead10 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Quite a fun game, but it did get a bit frustrating at times due to the one shot death and randomness of the waves.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:40am

It was enjoyable. I kept dying though. Perhaps it's too insanely difficult. Some powerups would be cool!

Wertle says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:26am

I think a timer for the waves would help - I forgot that they were 10 seconds + 10 second breaks so it felt like very strange pacing. Great art, though I couldn't figure out what the wall of popcorn was to represent, I thought perhaps ammo? Good start, hopefully you can finish it up!

X-0r says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:00am

Carrot-hell o.O
I know it's written somewhere that you do have 10 lives, I just missed a counter for that. The corn-artwork is great, and the way the corn recieves an impulse to the direction you fly(?) atm gives a nice feeling of the actual motion of your character. Also, thumbs up for the hitbox-debugmode-thing, made it much easier to understand the game =)

Long live the potato king!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]