August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Final Countdown

by AbelLemmens - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well, that's it, my first Ludum Dare game. I must say I am quite happy with my game. It may look like the art was made by someone who has no experience at all with computer graphics (which was indeed the case), but at least it's a bit of fun.

The game is one of those 'typing games', where you have to type all the words on screen as quickly as possible. I modified it a bit of course so it fit the '10 Seconds' theme.

The jetpack system at your local space center has gone crazy and all the astronauts are soaring through the air! It's your job to help them! Disable the jetpacks of the astronauts by typing the names of the corresponding astronauts. If you have typed in a correct name the computer will automatically disable the corresponding jetpack. Beware of typo's though! Luckily you can reset the console field by pressing BACKSPACE.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#286Humor2.76
#664Graphics2.71
#734Audio2.21
#758Overall2.86
#832Fun2.59
#848Mood2.33
#861Theme2.81
#878Innovation2.52
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:42am

Well, good concept. Smooth graphics :)

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Sound overlaps on continuing runs.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Quite a bit of fun, and as always it's nice to see a different kind of genre represented from the usual ones. I loved the graphics and the sense of humor in particular!

Anachron says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:24am

This would be a great game for learning to type faster! It would have longer appeal if there were more names/words.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Very simple, but pretty fun. The graphics aren't bad: they fulfil their purpose.

My record: 9.

Ossi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Good concept with a funny little story. I like the setup for the UI, using the environment pieces to keep track of the typed words and score. I wish there were more stages with harder words though. Fun game, good job!

h_double says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:19am

I like the concept and the art style! I found the ten second aspect of it more frustrating than fun, especially since there were periods where no new astronauts would show up for a couple of seconds. Also the overlapping rocket roar between games gets pretty annoying :-)

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:31am

Very polished and fun game. My only complaint is the two or three seconds it takes for the cosmonauts to show up.

Tegu says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:41pm

An interesting idea and fast typing games are often pretty fun especially if you know touch typing. Somehow the astronaut spawn rate was very varying as sometimes there was only one guy during the whole 10 second period and sometimes a bunch of them. My maximum score was 10 which is pretty low, but retries didn't often give the opportunity to breach it. Also the overlapping sounds seemed were a bit annoying and probably made the whole game run slowly on my machine (making the window smaller helped though). I had to refresh/reopen it after every round to prevent excessive sound overlapping.

Sheep says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Fun and short. I got till 6. The sound effects were a bit ear-piercing though.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:42pm

nice effort but would be nice if there was more to it

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:20pm

A nice typing game. The typing sound could've been different, though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]