August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Grab the Fat Guy

by andre.smariano - Jam Entry

The main objective of this game is to leave the burning building in 10 seconds. Since is a 1 stage game, We created a really hard, but beatable game. (And a little bit funny)

Hope you like it and don't give up so soon.

Don't look at the bugs ahahah

Sometimes, after the game loads, It can get buggy. Just refresh the browser. It is a flash bug that We didnt get yet.

We built everything from scratch =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1906Coolness10%

Comments

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:19am

Crazy idea - very funny! I got the kid to the helicopter, but I didn't make it out alive. The controls are a bit weird though - so that's my excuse!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:52pm

thanks :D
the helicopter isn't the way out...
Sorry about the controls =/

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Had some problems with the collision/level design, but I like the idea. Do you plan to develop it further?

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Thanks. Well, Yes, we do actually, enhancing the gameplay a lot. Most of this issues is because we were learning in to develop to flash in the same time we were developing the game

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Funny game! The controls could be a little less "slippy", though.

Andrew says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:44pm

The collision seems off, I would run and jump through walls. The deceleration on the character could be higher as well.

acro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

weird to control (multi-jump sticking, hammering up to climb, boxes, too-fast acceleration) various quirks, etc, ALL OF WHICH CANNOT DETRACT from the fact that you have a Jack Bauer audioclip counting down and a cute bubble-headed girl and a hapless fat kid dying repeatedly and hilariously on fire or falling to the pavement. I can't believe I just said that, but I cannot stop laughing. Fantastic!

fgielow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Nice idea and concept, but the controls really need a rework.

Antidote says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:03am

Controls weren't responding very well to me. She would slide all over like she's walking on soaped floor :(

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Sorry for being the one to do this to you right now, But i gotta give you some honest advices here:

"We built everything from scratch =)"

As much as i LOVE doing everything from scratch in order to learn or have more control over the functionalities of an engine, doing so on a Ludum Dare, or a Game Jam...

IS JUST, INSANE.

I'm telling you this, because i've been to many Gamejams and Ludum Dares (actually i believe this to be my 4th LD)

I know you (or your team) doesn't have many programmers (or you're all programmers because the facts you presented), but Ludum Dares are not made for "building engines, then coding", they're about building and making games!

On the first Ludum Dare i participated, at the end of it all i was crying on a corner for not being able to do better (for wasting time with engine-coding).

Your game is not bad, not bad at all! But, if you had focused ALL your efforts into the game, using idk (construct2, stencyl, game maker), you would be a lot more satisfied with your "little creature" :)

I hope you don't take me the wrong way here, i'm just trying to save you from some future FRUSTRATION that might come when participating on future Ludum Dares :)

TL;DR: Your game is good, but it could be a lot better if you spent more time coding the game, instead of coding the engine, please don't hate me for this comments kthxbai :3.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:08am

You are absolutely right... When we realized this it was too late!
In the next jam we will use a game engine for sure! Thanks for the advice... We know that the game could be 100% times better if we followed this tips =/ thanks for playing

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]