August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

[gamma]

by torybash - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are given a mission to - you have to fly a spaceship to Mars within 10 seconds.

The only way it is possible, is to get to speeds near the speed of light, to slow down time inside your spaceship.

Controls:
WSD or [Up][Down][Right]

TOOLS USED:
-Unity
-Paint.NET
-bxfr.net
-Audacity
-GarageBand

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#165Theme3.64
#470Mood2.83
#476Fun3.00
#489Overall3.12
#521Innovation3.00
#588Audio2.48
#712Graphics2.63
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

Excellent game! Simple, but well executed. Nice job :)

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50am

Really cool concept. Had fun! Pretty hard though.

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

Great idea of slowing time as you approach the speed of light. Enjoyable!

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53am

Good game! I think it's a good execution of the theme. It's a simple idea, but the game is still pretty fun

Infernal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

awesome game. love high speed!

beaugunderson says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58am

Would love it if the starfield was a little darker--hard to see the asteroids. :)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Simple fun game! I like it!

grayhaze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:50pm

A nice idea and pretty fun. The stars in the background are too big and make it very difficult to see what's going on, so much so that even when I died it wasn't immediately obvious. Good use of sound and powerups.

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Very good game mecanisms. Match the theme perfectly.

truiton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Simple concept but hard to play :)

crazyrems says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Great idea to put science inside games.
Speed of light !
the two last waves are just impossible, I'm not good at saving the world.

fgielow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:00am

the notion of speed here was really well made xD i once trid implementing a game like this (outside jams). pretty hard to go much far in the game, though, or I lack the skills needed.. lol

DuFF says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Enjoyed this one. Nice work.

HopHop says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Amazing idea and overall great game. The difficulty is a bit high, I could never get past the last wave of asteroids. Also the stars in the background are a bit distracting at first.

jwolf says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:14am

Pretty cool! Very nice combination of physics and game mechanics.

cwkx says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:29am

Awesome - not a lot better than a 2D spaceship game in unity ;) -you managed to put in some excellent mechanics, amazing job :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]