August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Approaching Ten

by Reverend Speed - Jam Entry

EDIT #03 - STUFF YOUR EYES WITH POSTMORTEM TRANSFAT! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/29/postmortem-for-approaching-ten/

EDIT #02 - So 'Approaching Ten' is done, in a fashion. Hunt the secret messages...! Ehh, would have preferred to do much more for my first Ludum Dare, but there's always LD28. =)

EDIT #01! CANCEL THAT! I'M GOIN' JAM! HOOAH!

ORIGINAL MESSAGE:

Unfinished.

Gahh. Well, basic functionality achieved, but this was a slow one. Design took a ludicrously long time to come together, delaying everything else (which otherwise connected up quite nicely).

Not much to see here - walk around, find one or two cubes to rotate but that's about it.

We'll chalk this down to practice, I think. Some interesting gimmicks which might be worthwhile in a larger project at some point.

Source available on request! And now - I'm going to sleep! =)

Looking forward to the next Ludum Dare! This was fun!

--RoB

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#151Graphics(Jam)3.78
#231Mood(Jam)3.09
#332Innovation(Jam)2.88
#470Humor(Jam)1.60
#492Audio(Jam)1.65
#526Overall(Jam)2.54
#571Theme(Jam)2.15
#588Fun(Jam)1.91

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Nice demo guys, its a bit confusing but I can see how this could have came together

dudsen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Ah, i see... Nice idea though. Hoping to see the jam result!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50am

Thanks folks. Tired out of my mind. This is the work of one guy, though, worth mentioning that. =)

Judgening tomorrow! (So tired)

--Rev

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Good start for the beautiful game, not only for the contest!

Ritzblues783 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Great looking graphics and style. I liked that you attempted a multi-view game. I would have liked more responsive hot spots.

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:02pm

there's no much to rate here. Nice mood.

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:40pm

I wish there was more to do, I love the idea of seeing things from multiple angles. The art style and mood is wonderful, huge potential if core mechanics were added on.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:43pm

I'm confused. What am I doing? I pressed spacebar and tried clicking the red dots and what not. Eventually some green messages appeared on every frame.

Yell0w says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:29pm

The look of this game is awesome, the same visual style but with only one or maybe two windows would be nice.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:53pm

@Lidfrid & Mental Atrophy:

Unfortunately, I managed to get everything in here but the gameplay - probably a lesson could be learned from this. If you've managed to get the green messages, that's it - there's nothing more to find. Sorry!

@iiechapman & Ritzblues783: Believe me, I wish there was more here too. Glad you liked the look of the game, though. Will take note about hotspots onboard!

@Alexander: Thanks Alex! If there's enough interest, I'll try and finish this. There isn't much more to do, tbh - most of the art content required is done now.

Thanks for trying the game, folks! Anybody spot the connection to the 10-Second theme?

--Rev

NachoDA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:56pm

I like this kind of games with interesting perspectives. Good art style!

dudsen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:01pm

I really like the concept of implemented small worlds, because these are often more detailed. I'd replace the 10 seconds switch behavior with user controlled switching and add more details/puzzles with the characters helping each other or something. Anyways, invested work is never lost. As you said, this will be at least helpful in future projects!

Gabriel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Hey, really cool entry! Obviously it's a tech demo as stated in the game, but somehow this really has some good mood! There's definitely some Hitchcock feeling, either something like "looking from the outside at the lives of these people living their lives, completely unaware of the big picture of life", or then "I can see they are up to something dark, but I can't really tell what". Like, what's that guy doing on the roof in the middle of the night? Someone surely got murdered somewhere in this building! hahaha
Also, for some reason the low polygon 3D with smoke and light effects combined with this kind of setting really reminded me of the mood in the original Deus Ex. Super nostalgic!

Finish this one, buddy! And let me know, I'd definitely play it! :D

Congratulations!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Many thanks to Yellow, NachoDA, dudsen and Gabriel! I'm up for criticism, but the compliments definitely make me feel the time wasn't wasted. =D

@Yellow & dudsen - The number of Windows and the timer were dictated by the theme. I think if I continue this I'll probably ditch the timer (or find some way to retain it, but not in it's present form) ... but I rather like the window layout. I was intending on making the vertical window act as a close-up or new angle on items in the world - perhaps changing position when the player rolled over a hotspot or performed an action.

@NachoDA - Thanks for the compliment, right back atcha! =)

@Gabriel - I dig all your comments! Think you might have enjoyed the little story that went along with the project. Re. graphics, loved the look of Super Fair Trial Show, so high praise from you! Thanks!

--Rev

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:10pm

i liked the graphics

Gabriel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Hey Reverend, no worries, this was all honest feedback, I really enjoyed the mood you created! Also thanks for the comments on Super Fair Trial Show! I'd definitely appreciate if you could provide some more details on what is going wrong - like what's your OS, GPU and what exactly is the error! I'll be working on a more stable version today as apparently more people have run into this kind of problem :(

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:43am

Unity web player isn't available for Linux. You can export a standalone for Linux, though. If you do so, please drop me a note and I'll play & rate your game (@tinyworlds).

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Wow, this looks cool. You expect something great to happen... Well, maybe next time!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:51am

Despite being unfinished, I find the art really nice. Very atmospheric. 3D art and lighting looks great!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:00am

My apologies to the Linux players out there! I had been under the impression that the webplayer would work for Linux machines and having been corrected on this point by Rick Hoppmann have swiftly crafted a player just for you! Sorry 'bout the delay. =[

@Rick - thanks dude! Will be in touch!

@Martin_Monosys - It's pretty! Pff, all this gameplay stuff is overrated, anyhow. It'll never catch on. =) Thanks for the comment, appreciated.

@ddionisio - Thank you for your compliments! I do think there's something worthwhile exploring in this project post LD.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:33am

@Reverend Speed Thank you for providing a Linux binary. You may want to install Linux (Mint) next to Windows - it's very easy to do so.

On the 'game'. The art style is interesting. I like especially the gloomy lightening.

However, you approached the game creation process in the wrong way in my opinion - I implemented the core mechanics first and then did create proper artwork (remember: I created my game in 4,8 hours).

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:12pm

I dun rote a Postmorterem! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/29/postmortem-for-approaching-ten/ EXPERIENCE IT WITH YOUR EYES!

@Rick Hoppmann - Rather like Ubuntu, actually. Don't have it on my machine at the moment, though.

Regards approach, I agree with you in principle. Sadly, this project was mostly delayed by my lack of enthusiasm for the idea I'd chosen - mai own fault entaierly.

Well, next time. We can only hope. =)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:42am

The lack of gameplay, audio, and theme is a real shame, but I was amazed by the environment you constructed.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:03pm

@BlackBulletIV - Thank you. I'll cop to the lack of gameplay and audio, but I think I got fairly close to the theme. The screens and control shift every 3.333 seconds, so completely cycling through the characters takes something very close to ten seconds.

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:47pm

A very good touch demo! I hope you'll continue it and do a great game.

gmaker says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:58pm

good job!! i liked graphics!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Thanks Nezzhil! Just seen your project and LOVED it - a similar attempt to fill a little scene with life and story (except you succeeded!).

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:39pm

looks really promising, the idea, perspective and visual style is great! please finish it!

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:54pm

This looks like it could have some great potential, as it is, I have no idea what's going on!

Jayjay says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:56am

Nice start! It'd be cool to see a full game out of this idea.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]