August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Labyten

by rejome - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare game!!
How far will you go down the levels?

Requirement: Java 1.6+ installed.
Not tested on linux, but binaries and sources are present.
Tested on Win7 64 and MacOS/X.

Developped using Processing framework.

NB: I am not sure that my compo is valid for 48h contest as I took samples of Eric Skiff music. Sorry for that. (I can't change the "Entry Division" when editing)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#214Audio3.17
#271Fun3.29
#440Theme3.29
#538Overall3.07
#726Mood2.50
#829Humor1.79
#906Innovation2.47
#937Graphics2.23

Comments

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Hey, a few things:

This is a huuuuuge download. Maybe consider dropping some of the music or lowering the quality?

It seems to only work on Win64 right now, any chance of a 32-bit version?

mrcdk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Nice game! huge download but it was worth the wait :D I got to level 65! I've found upgrading the acceleration isn't so clever and it makes the control worse than better.

rejome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:38pm

@mtrc
Hey, I fixed a bug regarding huge music samples (-> reduced music size and consequently the zip size). :)
I also uploaded 32bits version! :D

@mrcdk
Thx :) I share your opinion... Acceleration does not feel like a real bonus... Will do better next time!

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Really sorry tried many times and this kept crashing on level ends - about 50% of the time I finished a level (win32). I've left a rating for your audio though as I like the different tunes!

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Was having fun but it crashed!

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Can't launch on mac os 10.8.2
I run the command in the folder, as the readme says, but it just says that the file is damaged and can't be opened, when i try to launch the file..

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Crashed a few times when switching levels. (Windows 64)
Other than that: Nice first Ludum Dare game! :)

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:25pm

On Mac OS X 10.8 I get the following error:
The file "Star-Full-icon.png" is missing or inaccessible, make sure the URL is valid or that the file has been added to your sketch and is readable.
The file "Star-Empty-icon.png" is missing or inaccessible, make sure the URL is valid or that the file has been added to your sketch and is readable.
The file "heart-icon.png" is missing or inaccessible, make sure the URL is valid or that the file has been added to your sketch and is readable.
The file "heart-broken-icon.png" is missing or inaccessible, make sure the URL is valid or that the file has been added to your sketch and is readable.
==== JavaSound Minim Error ====
==== Error invoking createInput on the file loader object: null

Exception in thread "Animation Thread" java.lang.NullPointerException
at ddf.minim.javasound.JSMinim.getAudioRecordingStream(Unknown Source)
at ddf.minim.Minim.loadFile(Unknown Source)
at Labyten.draw(Labyten.java:130)
at processing.core.PApplet.handleDraw(PApplet.java:2305)
at processing.core.PGraphicsJava2D.requestDraw(PGraphicsJava2D.java:243)
at processing.core.PApplet.run(PApplet.java:2176)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:680)

Hope this helps.

rejome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Thanks for your feedbacks. I was not able to make it work for Mac OS/X so I removed the link. I'll try to fix the crash at level ends.

rejome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I got it, the crashes on windows were due to a corrupt music sample. Fixed!

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:29pm

I think you start off too easy. Ramp up the difficulty quicker. Otherwise, good maze game.

optimality says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Nice music. Having to jump back and forth across square boundaries to rack up cash is a little tedious; would be nice to tone down that aspect of the game.

rejome says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Mac OS/X support is back!

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Maybe I'm missing something here but the Win 64bit folder contains assets and a batch file which does nothing :( I'll check back later ;)

rejome says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43pm

You need to have Java 1.6+ installed, sorry for not having precised the requirement.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Very good game, had me hooked for quite a while. (Are those procedurally generated mazes?)

Just one thing, though - although I can see you've put a lot of work into the music, the rapid flicking between different tracks was a bit offputting. In the end, I ended up just loading all the tracks into a media player and playing them on shuffle instead...

kebabskal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:47pm

This is awesome! Simple and pure. And the music is just killer :) My girlfriend both found ourself humming along. I got to level 102 before I got tired of it.

rejome says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Yes, the mazes are randomly generated (with a "linearity coefficient": each square has 80% chances to be placed next to the previoulsy placed one).

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Took me a little while to figure out what was going on with the scoring - pretty nifty way of adding an element of risk to an old-school maze game, I like how every death is basically your fault for trying to run up the score too fast. Impressive soundtrack too :)

LoneStranger says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:44am

I like it, though I got to the 60s and it was very repetitive, so I just stopped. Maybe increase the level size by more each level but have less of them before adding some new twist?

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Hah, lots of fun! The upgrade system is well done, the music's quite nice, and it's got great atmosphere for a game that's so simple graphically. Great work!

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Nice atmosphere, and the clean graphical style is appealing. Good job!

kristof says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Cool! Works on my mac now. Awesome music. Addicting gameplay. Only minor complaint: The music should not change every time a level starts or ends.

Fififox says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Very simple concept but fun game!
Got to level 87, and still couldn't afford the last 100k$ skills, though. http://i.imgur.com/xb9dthU.png
I like how the music changes often.
Thanks for the Linux 64 version, too!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Nice idea, same remark as above about the music :D

Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Was having a bit fun, but it got way too easy. I think hand-crafted levels would have benefited this game.

loxo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Great idea, especially with the choice between different paths! I like the simple graphics and the music. But I don't like the constant music changes between levels, particularly at the beginning, because the levels are short. So the music changes every few seconds. And I don't like that the level looks different when you have to retry a level.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Good game! It's a bit frustrating when you lose, because you have to start over at the beginning, but I guess that's what was intended.

Exergy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:52pm

This was a very good entry! Enjoyed it much!

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Made it through level 106. It's a super simple game, but fun. Two things to note though. One, you should probably come up with an algorithm to determine the player can actually get to the exit in the given time, as at the last level I was going with max acceleration and speed and was nowhere near the exit by the time the timer ran out, and I was running towards it the entire time.

Second, the music was not written within the 48 hour time period. If you are doing the 48 hour competition, you cannot use music created before hand (this music was from at least May 2013), only publicly available samples for instruments to make music. If you are Eric Skiff, I don the proverbial hat to your composition skills, if not, good choice of music, but you should really change your entry to a jam entry for using music from outside the competition where it is allowed, or remove the music.

The game is fun through.

rejome says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:39am

@Dalbinblue: you're right, I tought using samples from Eric Skiff music was ok, but it looks like I was wrong. I will change to Jam.

bobylito says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:43am

Nice game! Thanks for the MacOS build :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]