August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nut Commander : Squirrels In Fear

by Kidney - Jam Entry

<a href="http://www.chronosapps.com/nutcommander2/">Post-Mortem Build</a>

Nut Commander : Squirrels in Fear!

Try to collect as many nuts as you can while you and your opponent try to blast each others' nuts to smithereens. All crammed into action packed 10 second nut-busting bomb-bursting volleys!

Instructions :

The goal of the game is to score points by having your squirrel collect the nuts that he comes near. You do this by using various attacks to knock the squirrel and the nuts around.

The first 5 seconds (grey countdown) is for you to choose your attacks. Click the attack you want at the bottom, then click in the playing field to place where it will land. Most attacks happen in the same sequence you click them.

The remaining 5 seconds will launch your attacks and blast those nuts!

Your opponent will also be launching attacks simultaneously, and you will see these incoming with the markers that appear when your attacks begin launching.

Weapons :

Bomb : Causes standard explosion in sequence.

Magnet : Causes vacuum pull in sequence.

Timed Mine (Bomb with clock) : Creates a red Timed Bomb cube immediately when attacks start, but does not explode until 3 seconds later.

Proximity Mine (Greenish with red accent) : Creates a Proximity Mine immediately, which will gain power and explode when a nut comes near. Try to put these far away so they gain power!

EMP (Yellow antenna tower) : Creates a super powerful vacuum in sequence. This attack does not appear in the first sets.

Nuke (Red bomb) : Creates a super powerful explosion in sequence. This attack does not appear in the first sets.

Have fun and happy nutting!

Lead Developer / Programmer : Derek Mastromonaco
Programmer / Physics : John Wiacek
Programmer / Music : Shawn Anderson
Artist : Kelly Wald

(Disclaimer : There is currently only 1 level in the game, and the high score table and victory screen didn't quite make the deadline. Nut Commander will grab you regardless!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#273Humor(Jam)2.47
#342Innovation(Jam)2.87
#350Audio(Jam)2.62
#449Graphics(Jam)2.70
#475Mood(Jam)2.36
#504Theme(Jam)2.58
#526Overall(Jam)2.54
#564Fun(Jam)2.10

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32pm

This game is very wild and a bit busy for me. Its hard to really see whats going on. However, I featured it in my compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you want to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8Polnsp4F8

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:20am

ahahaha this is insane but I love it. It's oddly polished in that there's a lot of attention to detail, even if all those details basically clash. The playscreen itself is kinda muted which detracts from the overall experience, might as well have gone bright colors, or even flashing colors on that.

tlasol says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:21am

Its really hard to see whats going on.

Kidney says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:00am

@folmerkelly
Haha, thanks glad you like it! The general end idea was to have a frantic theme to everything, but we didn't get in the particle effects for explosions and shockwaves that would have helped the playscreen be more exciting and engaging. :)

Kidney says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:03am

-- sorry for double comment, clicked too soon...

@tlasol
There is a 'squirrel' model that begins near the middle top of the screen which is basically the goal you knock the nuts towards. It really needs an arrow or highlight or something to make it visible, I am sorry, hope this helps!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:27am

Really chaotic! Nice physics!

carlsommer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Fun idea, but very hard to keep track of what's going on. (Use a stronger contrast color for the floor.) The music is good and it helps set the mood and pace very well. The physics seemed to be very good as well.

Kidney says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:34pm

I'm hoping the lack of ANY effects, particles, sounds, etc when the attacks launch (they currently just do the physics effect they are) is a lot of what makes what is going on hard to follow. This is coupled with some attacks launching at second "0" after the countdown, so they do not even have the secondary launch marker (nuke spin) before they explode. Leaving you seeing nothing but it's effect on the nuts atm.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:01am

Very creative and chaotic! Nice entry.

koe415 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:07am

Very chaotic! A lot of things happening on the screen at once kind of makes it difficult to follow at times but there's a certain fun factor in the mayhem that follows lining up your attacks and seeing everything go flying. I would definitely think about highlighting or emphasizing what the player should be paying attention to somehow. And a heads up, I think I managed to kill/knock my squirrel out of the level on my second try! Threw me off for a bit haha. Regardless, I like it a lot. And high scores? Pssssh that's what these comments are for! Anyone top my 16281??

Kidney says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:33am

That's quite an impressive score for the way that level is! I think I had somewhere in the 17ks once, but who knows what build that was :P

I'm hoping to get a lot of the polish in and a full set of levels this weekend (fingers crossed....). But I'll be sure to make a more prominent post if I do.

Zathalos says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:06am

Wow crazy. I didn't understand how I was getting points. Everything was kind of all over the place. But, it was pretty fun after I got the hang of it. Good job.

tigerj says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Music is great! I like the gameplay too! very wild!

add some sound effects when you develop it further

Kidney says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:18am

POST MORTEM : http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/30/nut-commander-post-mortem/

UPDATED RELEASE : http://www.chronosapps.com/nutcommander2/

xrm0 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Chaotic!

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:45am

Almost never found the squirrel, which made the game a bit difficult to figure out. After I got that it wasn't too bad though.

Kidney says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:43am

Agreed, I have tried to correct this in the updated release.

Have you played that one? http://www.chronosapps.com/nutcommander2/

Let me know if he is still too hard to find ^^

zkenshin says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Enjoyed the art. Well done. :)

psychomonster says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:33pm

What? To fast for my eyes ;)

fferro234 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:40am

I'm amazed that all that stuff moving around didn't crash my computer. I have no idea what was going on, but the music is very nice.

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Much more dynamic than the usual LD game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]