August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

tenSecondsToANotSoCoolExperience

by dudsen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Waking up in a room with a timer of 10 seconds and a note.
There seems no way out of the situation, if there weren't some dislikes about certain game mechanics...

Just walk around and enjoy. Ain't more than that ;)
________________________________________________________

Ok, time was running out. Spend the first day to long on finding good ideas, so I just started and made whatever fitted in the moment.

No Startscreen, No Ending. No Mechanics. But hey, its runs and I learnt a ton.

Use WASD, Space and Mouse for "playing".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#304Graphics3.33
#341Mood3.03
#436Humor2.45
#552Audio2.56
#1030Innovation2.22
#1106Overall2.33
#1119Fun1.97
#1123Theme2.17

Comments

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:53pm

The collision and controls seemed really wonky.

VardGames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55pm

great graphics but what's the objective of the game?

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57pm

The controls are a bit slide-y, and the collisions make it hard to move around, but it's a nice little exploration game :)

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Controls were nnnaiaeneninmg.. you know?
Concept was good but I think it need more work! Sound almost gave me a heart attack.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Nice graphics and sounds, but not a lot to do... Controls indeed feel very strange.

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Great looking environment... and a quintessential Ludum Dare ending! :P

HunLyxxod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:53pm

This is not really a game but the environment is beautiful. Perhaps you should join a team for the next Ludum Dare.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:05pm

That was entertaining - was all psyched up for a Saw-like experience. Thanks for upsetting my expectations! Really liked your animation for getting off the bench - how did you do that? (I have ideas, but exactly...?) Thought the fishing hut was entertaining! Did you use a non-standard fps controller? More! I demand more!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Moody and.... creepy ;) I really like the graphics!

choqaae says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Great graphics, but you move too slow when going uphill

dudsen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:43pm

First of all, thank you guys for all the positive comments. Didn't expect that... especially because this isn't a finished game at all. Don't know what happened to the controls. As #Feysoura said: pretty 'nnnaiaeneninmg' . Sorry. Tweaked the values in the last minutes probably to the wrong numbers. Haha, but hey probably the guy your playing is just still dizzy from some poison or whatever :D

@Reverend Speed: Animation was just simply Keyframes with the build in Animation Editor in Unity. Just altering the orientation of the FPS Cam and setting keyframes (carefully or you run into a gimbal lock). Fast and dirty solution ;)
By the way, saw that you updated your upload as a jam entry. Concept is amazing. Gonna try the new version out in a sec!

And again, thanks to everyone. Feels really good being part of the Ludum Dare compo/crunch - hell. Cool thing to see what all you gays made within 48h. Ok up for more rating now :)

dudsen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:49pm

ok that looks... um unpolite. i meant "guys". not gays :D no offense, no offense , haha

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:21am

Nice weird little game. The player seemed to get stuck alot and it felt like you were skating on ice all the time. But the overall surreal mood was quite nice :)

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Haha man, you got me really scared at the beginning. Turned out to be quite the joke in fact :)

The game is quite huge and I had fun exploring for a while. Although as other reported, the controls were not that good.

vvolis says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:55am

Dont know if the crazy controls were intentional (like I am drugged), but they worked for me. Looks good, but thats about it.

Puck says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:00am

I really liked the fake out at the start! I'm glad to hear you learned a lot, and I'm still learning Unity myself, but I'm sure you're aware there are a number of problems so I'll limit my critique to constructive notes:

#1 - The 48 hour competition requires that all game assets be created during the 48 hour period. As far as I am aware that applies to textures as well. While the graphics are beautiful, much of it looks like standard assets or CG Textures.

#2 - The intro sequence was pretty confusing, and I wasn't sure if I was in control of my character or not. For example, the default jump ability was still usable. In this situation I would recommend not using the FPS camera, and instead apply your animation to a normal static camera that can't be player controlled. Then, when your animation finishes — perhaps check animation.isPlaying() on Update — you can create the FPS controller with Instantiate();

#3 - The physics of the player are pretty frustrating. You should probably reset them to the default values and ensure that you remove any physics materials you might have set.

#4 - The bridge had pretty wonky collision detection because it seemed to be a mesh collider, you should use a box collider instead, and add child GameObjects with colliders for the posts and/or invisible wall to keep the player from falling off. This can be done visually in the editor for ease of use.

I hope these notes help you a little bit and I encourage you to keep learning as much as you can! See you next time around!

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Lovely graphics and atmosphere, just needs a bit more gameplay!

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Great graphics, atmosphere, it's just unfinished with clumsy controls.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Heya ! I liked it, it was kinda scary at first :) It remember me my first tries with unity, so I think you might want to know what are the few things that can improve your creation:
-Add some invisible walls around the playground so nobody can jump off the island
-Make sure to desactivate all character movements during cutscene (except maybe mouse in this case?)
-Remove trees that fly above the terrain
-Try to stick panel to wall
I know it's details but it will really looks more polish, even if it's not finish !
Good start :)

drkrunk says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:17am

This was very interesting. The controls were a little weird and it seemed a bit slow but other than that, very cool idea.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:50pm

I love that shit) I put in my pants when the time has gone!

Dotanukii says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Pretty cool, more environmental restraints not just invisible walls would be cool. with more polish it could be cool

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]