August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Battle Switch Arena

by endlosnull - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
W, A, S, D - Move the player
Mouse - Aim
Mouse Button 1 - Fire
Space - Jump

Esc - Quit application
F1 - Reload game

The map generates and degenerates and waves of enemies spawn every 10 seconds.
Avoid the falling walls and enemies.
Shoot enemies for points.

Made in Unity 4.2.0f4.
Tools used, SFXR, Wolfram Tones.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#359Graphics3.23
#470Innovation3.08
#502Audio2.64
#569Overall3.04
#592Fun2.88
#800Mood2.43
#932Humor1.50
#1031Theme2.50
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:03am

Solid title! Love the terrain-mechanics :)

Hologuardian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28am

Pressing the control key allow for rapid-fire attacks, was this intended?

endlosnull says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Rapidfire is intended if you hold down the fire button. Ctrl is just an alternate input for fire.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44am

The terrain is crazy. Decent game. Good job!!

rylgh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28am

Super cool arena generation.

Laguna says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:40am

Nice Game with solid mechanics!

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:50am

Solid, however the flying enemies are too fast to shoot at range and never get closer to you.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:22am

I really really love the terrain graphics :)

IHackedDeath says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:48am

Great, Great game.
Would pay to play this if it was developed properly and if it had coop or an online battle arena style game, something with others would be really cool

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Aw man, instant death on getting randomly splatted? Evil!

Mouse sensitivity is a bit high, but after dropping my DPI settings it was awesome. And those cubes had it coming.

Elrobo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:03am

Looked rad but mouse sensitivity and no inverted option that I could find made it unplayable for me.

biscuitdough says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:06am

Cool effects, likewise fount the mouse sensitivity to be a little high for me, still fairly enjoyable

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:08am

The morphing terrain is pretty sweet! Very well done!

Malactus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:08am

Very Nice.

I like how the arena just changes every ten seconds by random terrain bits falling from the sky, and then morphing into the ground. and on the fly generates.

also the Pews.

Could use some variation in the enemy thought. Ranged maybe? only cubes I saw was just cubes comming up close (to atttack) to be easily killed (Infact, I think the terrain is the enemy here than the cubes)

davidwparker says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:24am

Like the rapid fire. The terrain made me a little confused at first, but I got it eventually. Pretty hard to play on a touch pad.

kazukishida says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:51am

Technically impressive terrain generation (albeit causing some frame drops on my 5 year old laptop, but very understandable), and pretty fun gameplay. It kinda gets monotonous eventually, though, and I ended up looking at how the terrain can form and deform while shooting down the cubes haha! I think this concept can be expanded to become a more robust, fun and hectic shooter!

Travis Irby says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:07am

Very cool look and the changing big blocks is awesome! Real nice job.

blackotus says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:12pm

I really like how the scenery changes itself.

Nice entry!

cwkx says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:36am

Doing a 3D procedural game in 48 hours is insanely tough, and you pulled it off with style - this is awesome! Congrats! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]