August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Jimmy The Knight

by torvik88 - Jam Entry

First jam for me and among the firsts in game programming too. My friend, the other programmer, is at his second jam and it was his idea to get together and do this. We were joined by another two designers, one of them who unfortunately didn't finish what was needed of him (the sprites for player and enemys) so i ended with the task of doing them.

There was much slacking/cursing/working but in the end we pulled it off. I found the event quite fun and can't wait for the next one.

We used FlashDevelop, CitrusEngine,TexturePackerm,Gimp.For sounds we took samples from http://www.freesfx.co.uk/, soundtrack generated with autotracker.py .

Characters from wulax on opengameart and hetboss from http://www.dumbmanex.com/bynd_freestuff.html



Team:

Vlad Rusu - Programmer

Victor Radutiu - Programmer/Designer

Alex Coman - Designer

Radu Ciortea - Designer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#162Graphics(Jam)3.74
#168Fun(Jam)3.24
#226Audio(Jam)3.00
#226Overall(Jam)3.26
#262Humor(Jam)2.50
#290Mood(Jam)2.91
#396Innovation(Jam)2.71
#413Theme(Jam)2.85

Comments

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:22am

Love the artwork and the fast paced gameplay.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:27am

Really nice game! I love the top down dungeon explorers. I wish there was some way to see how much health I have left. The grid the player walks on is different than the tiles on the floor, which was a little confusing.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:21pm

JAMES THE KNIGHT IS MY NIGHTLY SLEEP-AID

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:28pm

That snail! :)

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Very nice! Knight is a bit off the grid and causes you to get stuck in doors at times, but very nice idea!

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Nice game. I would have liked to see some feedback on when I got hit. Nice visuals and music!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Cool job guys. It needed juuuust a little larger attack radius, but the zelda-style dungeon is well done!

Red Mike says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Fails to load for me. White screen, right-clicking brings up Flash context menu. Running Flash 11.8.500.115 in Chrome.

Good to see fellow country-men as well. :)

Zekyon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Good game for kill time, congrats

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:22pm

A lot of fun, but I couldn't always understand why I had died. Great sprites though, really well done there.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Nice art. Bit difficult, but love it :)

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Some indication of the player's health would have been nice because it felt a bit like I was being taken back to the menu for no reason (I assume I was being beaten by the skeletons?!) Great graphics, and overall a good effort.

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Thanks for the feedback mates. The problem was that one of our artist didn't do the sprites so i had to do them (first time attempt and pretty crappy too), but the point of the game is to be hard as nails but not impossible. That is why you don't see the life of the player. You win or loose the game u get thrown back in the menu...a kind of silly cold joke.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Enjoyable entry, nice audio (:

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Link doesn't seem to be working, can't play the game.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58pm

A fun little top-down flight; Very very fast scrolling. I kept finding myself in rooms I'd already cleared. There was no heath score that I could spot?

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Can't see it, only a white page. I'm using Mac and Chrome : /

OneL3gend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Very good idea, only the mving through the doors could have been smoother, and an ending screen would have been nice

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46pm

>>> Apparently the hosting is crap so it takes a while to load the game :((( <<<

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:16pm

good take, a bit too hard, but definitely good!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:49pm

The castle looks fantastically cool! The graphics and sound are very beautiful!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08pm

I love this style of game. and you just made it so good.

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:41pm

nice game, only thing id suggest is come kind of health indicator because i was dying but i couldnt tell when i taking damage, how close the enemy had to be so i couldnt learn to survive longer etc

also, how the hell do you kill that boss xD gameplay was fun and interesting i liked the procedural nature of the levels =D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Love the fast pace of the game and the graphics are really nice too.

flavio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:29pm

I like the use of the theme and the speed of the game.
I was confused about dying as we have no life clues

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:44am

Great artwork, interesting gameplay. Really wish I could see my health somewhere, it's weird fighting something and just instantly going back to the main screen. Since I can't see any health bar its hard to tell how careful to be, which is important when its a raise against the clock. Other than that and the little line artifact on the top and bottom doors of rooms I thought it was an interesting simplification of the classic Zelda dungeon set up.

ramoncb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:50am

I like the feeling of nonlinearity and something procedural, very addictive!

I just think that perhaps the gameplay is too fast

but really love the idea, good work!

Snky says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Hey, It's a pretty cool idea, I love the way the doors open, and you actually see the character going through it without any fade or hidden transitions also glad to see the Citrus Engine being used, I've just started using it myself.

I could do with some help for Citrus, I'd love it if some programmers from your team could assist me with a couple small problems.

Steam: pr_jas | Skype/Web/Ludum#27: www.Snky.tk

Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:05am

on the difficult side with great graphics, good game guys!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]