August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to Doomsday

by cbear_wallis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

used:
-Lua Love
-Audacity
-Sublime Text 2
-Terry Cavanagh's Bosca Ceoil

The music is a ten second loop so it may get annoying...press 'm' to mute if you want <3

please contact me for bugs, porting, or crashes at graham.p.sullivan@gmail.com or on twitter @cbear_wallis. Thanks for playing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#851Innovation2.56
#864Overall2.73
#1138Theme2.07
#1672Coolness26%

Comments

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:37am

As cool as this mechanic is, there isn't much challenge. I found out you can survive for a really long time by just holding down one of the directional keys, making it fire in all directions.

5outh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Fun game with a nice art style!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:52pm

nice graphics, game turns out to be impossible to beat after some time

mutilator says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:32am

I like the setup of the game, but the way it works I was not really impressed. I did't really see a challenge in it, but it could be fun if it was tweaked some more.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:42am

Interesting game. Do you plan to continue it ?

cbear_wallis says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:58am

I like the aesthetic but I kind of see it as just another thing to find what I'm good at. The idea was never quite there for it which was a big problem.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:44pm

I love the art dude very good game

aldian says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:42am

I really like the retro feel from this. music got a bit repetitive though. try nosoapradio.com (:

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:56am

If you used love, couldn't you have made a .love file? Those can be used on all platforms. I can't play this because it's not available for Mac.

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:12am

The background music was repetitive. The idea is interesting.

cbear_wallis says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:05am

the music is a 10 second loop you can 'm' to mute lol

BlackBulletIV says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:30am

Interesting idea, although the connection to the theme is a bit loose. Although too easy, it was still somewhat entertaining to play, more than can be said for some games.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Nice game, I liked it loads. I just found it sort of relaxing and fun to play. I featured this game in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tvnhwc_j5Mo

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]