August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Unacrystal

by EggPlant <3 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

BIG NOTE: The HTML5 version is prone to some odd visual bugs and sound-related issues (Thanks GM:Studio). I'd recommend the runnable Windows version if you have issues (Works fine on Mac/Linux under Wine also :) ) If you really must use the Web version, run under a Chromium-based browser (i.e. chrome) and look over any music-related issues. :(

Unacrystal is a Boss-Rush-style Shoot Em Up. The aim of the game is to destroy The Unacrystal (the blue gem) before it destroys the universe. The arm time is conveniently 10 seconds.

Each time you destroy the crystal, it causes a distortion in time, sending you back and fighting an enemy ship in a slightly alternate reality (i.e. one where they made a stronger ship :P ).

The aim of the game is to attempt to destroy every version of these crystals until it fails to mess with time (7 stages total).

This game is retro-hard, so it's likely only a small percentage of people will be able to beat the final stage. Anyone who does, please come forward; and I shall knight thee~ <3

CONTROLS:
<Arrows Keys> Move
<X> Shoot (Hold for Auto/Rapid Fire)
<C> Shield
<Z> Shield Reflect (uses 100% shield energy)

Software Used:

Game Maker: Studio
Famitracker (For sound effect generation)
Audacity
Jazz++
SynthFont
Graphics Gale

UPDATE: Contrary to the message you receive upon beating the game; I have officially beaten this fully several times. >:D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#88Fun3.61
#219Audio3.15
#256Overall3.39
#353Theme3.37
#425Graphics3.10
#479Mood2.82
#645Humor2.08
#826Innovation2.61

Comments

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:38am

Controls are good, but I didn't end up using the shield reflect because it takes so much energy. Couldn't beat stage 3, I was focused on the core and so when I had it almost destroyed, I was still dodging the bottom gun and missing some of my shots.

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:20am

It had a good flow to it.

Tym0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26am

looks really cool but sadly not playable because on german keyboards z and y is swapped in place.

chabuduo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43am

wow amazing stuff. i couldnt get too far though, its pretty unforgiving.

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15am

I love shmups and boss rushes. I love the reflect mechanic and the 10 second limit gives you a real urgency!

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:32am

It's not the style of game I usually play, but it was definitely interesting and fun. Liked the simple controls, picked it right now. Lots of games are hard to even figure out, but this one - there was no question, it was go time from the start.

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36am

The movement is really smooth and the game is overall fun. Is there any way to skip stage 0?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15am

That was fun, I like it.

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09am

Really fun, got to stage 4.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Good concept. I love the music too.

proc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:40am

You reached: Stage 0. Great I died in the tutorial without a shot fired at me or me moving. just slap the z and c keys if you want to join my special hall of fame.

I enjoyed that even if I was rubbish. That time limit leaves my usual shmup play style of "let me survive, forget highscores" in the dust.

netguy204 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:05am

Very enjoyable. Played the game for a while and chatted with the author on IRC. Simple, fun, turns all the right audio/visual feedback nobs that arcade games use to make you feel happy. Well done.

Phobos001 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:25am

Very fun, and interesting idea! Haven't beaten the game yet, but that's probably because I never used the shields xD

Also, enemy bullets can go through the enemy ship. Was this intentional from a gameplay perspective, or is it an oversight? :P

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:29am

You got me hooked. I will not write an in-depth review for this game. I just won't. Your game is hard, but addictive. I will master that bullet deflect thingy.

Nice job on this one. Rating pending.

GigaBass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Very fun game! Challening, but fun! Good music and tight controls. Will beat this sometime soon :)

Dew says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Interesting aproach!

Don't be mad with browsers they aren't made for games (yet)

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Good shooter game :)

Fireblend says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:02am

Good job! Kinda addicting, although it took me a while to figure it out.

anmorales says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:03am

I like it, it was fun to play! Great job!

Elrobo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:29am

I enjoyed this, my only real nitpick is that the shield deflect circle is deceptive for how big of an area it reflects. I stopped relying on it for head on stuff and just juked and shot mostly.

canvapps says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:47pm

game has a nice flow, I like how you managed to get the arcade game effect.
good work!

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:45am

A good game, but surprisingly frustrating that you can't move backwards diagonally. You can move forwards diagonally, but not back, and that kept tripping me up.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Very hard, like the description said, but also fun. I like how each level adds an additional piece, so you have to keep changing your strategy.

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:59am

Pretty fun game. :)

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Liked this one a lot. Unfortunately 10 seconds was not enough time for stage three for I could not beat it.

manuq says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 2:59am

This one is a joy to play.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]