August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BeQuick

by nandor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You control your 'character' using W, S, A, D or the arrow, Q and E rotate the view. The goal is to get to an orange cloud (the red arrow points to it).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#548Theme3.19
#824Mood2.38
#842Fun2.57
#873Audio1.76
#878Innovation2.52
#922Graphics2.25
#945Humor1.47
#1027Overall2.50
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

Nizan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:04am

Nice little idea and fairly well executed though wasn't sure what the end goal was/what the arrow was pointing at?

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:05am

What's the point of the red arrow? Is it simply there to indicate the player character?

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09am

Took me a little while to realize I wasn't playing as the arrow, but I had fun with it once I got my bearings. Quite an unusual style and perspective for this sort of game.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:11am

I was quick :-) Good idea, like it!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12am

I think some instructions would have been good. It took me a while to figure out that I wasn't the arrow. I'm not sure why that is even there. I like the basic idea of the game, although maybe at the moment it relies too much on luck.

nandor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:47am

Sorry, I forgot to write any kind of instructions :D
You control your 'character' using W, S, A, D or the arrow, Q and E rotate the view. The goal is to get to an orange cloud (the red arrow points to it).

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Well done :) Sounds are slightly annoying, and as mentioned before include the controls (edit your submission and add them to the notes section ;) ).

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Cool game, just need more instruction. I like that you can change color. The randomness sometimes kill me ^^

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:08am

It was hard to focus with the yellow smoke chasing me. Also, I thought that it was the goal, since it's shown in the screenshot.

I never did find the orange smoke, but I lasted about 32 seconds once I figured out you can pick up the spheres.

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:39am

Nice one, i just played it a few times to really understand what was the goal !

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:24am

1:29s. It gets stereotypical quickly.. But well done for a web game :-)

nixeldev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Fun game, the arrow was perhaps a little confusing initially, but I enjoyed it

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:39pm

At first, I was expecting to have to colour myself orange somehow (maybe by mixing colours together?) to be able to complete this game - as such, just having a get-to-this-point-to-win cloud doesn't seem to quite fit with the rest of the game as much as it could have done (imo). On the plus side, having to juggle multiple things at once (the chasing-cloud, the timer, the colour-finding) keep this game nice and challenging, without being overwhelming. Well done!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:17am

Nice, but it could use more work!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Not sure if I completely understood this game, I found it sort of confusing... but, I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GZNeIKxvyg

Hayawi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:32pm

that was a good idea to make the target moves

RARoadkill says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:30am

Bit awkward. but fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]