August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

S.T.D.

by GrimGary - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first ever game jam or any such thing. In fact, I think this is the first game I've completed ever. The instructions are included inside the game (press F1 or H at any time in the game to bring help up). Enjoy!

Game programmed in BliztMax (using BlIDE) Art done in Corel, all sounds were done in Audacity, and were nothing more than me talking or making noises.

Note: It does support joypad, but my son was using it for most of the weekend so I didn't get to test that. Keyboard controls work just fine though!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#494Humor2.32
#650Graphics2.74
#694Audio2.29
#826Innovation2.61
#943Overall2.63
#953Mood2.15
#997Theme2.58
#1015Fun2.29

Comments

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36am

Did you get your son to play the game? The kids are my official beta testers. Also, congratulations for completing your first game!

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:42am

Thanks! Yeah, we've been competing for high score! Been good times with this!

manabreak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:47am

Congrats on your first LD! Really nice work for a newcomer :)

I have very little to say, to be honest. Solid work, although it gets a bit boring after ten rounds. :)

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:04am

Congrats on your first game!

I'm not sure the level needs to be quite so big, and I think you could start with more elements in in the level, so that restarting didn't feel like going all of the way back. I also like the way the different pieces interact, especially the repulsors. (It would be lovely to have baddies chasing you and have them bounce off to their deaths.)

munchor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Great job for your first completed game! (when I saw STD I thought Sexually Transmitted Diseases by the way)

You need to think about how to entertain the player in the long run too, though.

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46pm

^ S.T.D. was intentional that way lol ;)

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:10pm

:) So nice!

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Quite nice, but I got a bug where the right half of the screen got cut off

The4thCircle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32pm

I like the style and how the genre is consistant but the button tiles are a little hard to hit vertically.

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00am

First let me say that I liked the game. It was enjoyable and I made it to round 10 before I died. I will say that the earlier rounds were really easy and that the level seemed a little too big, but other than that it was a solid game. Great job!

CMahaff says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:57am

Very cool, congrats on your first Ludum Dare Entry!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:31pm

This is your first game? This is really good work! made it to round 6.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:10am

Well done on completing your first game.

That being said, I found that the difficulty ramped up far too slowly, and it was too easy in the beginning. The collision and movement also seemed a bit buggy.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Good first game, was fun but i found it a bit easy maybe.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Congrats on your first game!
The game was good, but the difficulty was ramping up too slowly. You could have introduced the hurting platforms a bit sooner.
But overall, good job! Hope you develop more games :)

Integershift says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Nice game for a first Ludum Entry!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]