August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10s before the blackout

by marccspro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I am 17 years old and french so sorry if the spelling isn't good :S

This is my first Ludum dare and my first finished game :D

I also started programming 3 month ago in Java than I started using Unity :p But next time I will do the LD using Java :D

I hope you enjoy the game.

Note that it was my first time using sounds in Unity and I didn't figure out how to make it work so sorry for it :(

The game was made using Unity4.

Game controls:
left and right key to move.
space to jump.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#583Graphics2.84
#789Mood2.44
#864Audio1.80
#899Theme2.75
#906Innovation2.47
#1111Fun2.00
#1146Overall2.15
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

JALgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Isn't it possible to create a web version with unity quite easily?

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43pm

When I play this, most of the content doesn't fit on screen for my aspect ratio. Does this need to be played in widescreen?

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Ah, got it - it needs to run in a widescreen resolution.

Nice idea! I liked memorising the layouts, although you can see at night quite well too. A cool idea for a platformer though, fitted with the theme well too.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:29am

The jumping sound effect startled me and part of the screen was chopped off

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Very very odd collisions, but nice art and a nice first submission ;)

Thermite says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:33am

This is a great first effort, and now you know more about unity I'm sure you'll do even better next time. Good work!

Spiridios says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:47am

I think this is a great first game. Some places to improve: If you need a particular resolution, you might want to call that out or limit the selection to resolutions you support. I had to try several windowed modes before I found one that fit inside my older monitor and had the aspect ratio you need. Also, since there was more than enough light in play mode, the lit preview didn't make much sense. I think if you continued work on it, it could make a great puzzle platformer where the lit preview is essential to completing the playthrough.

poohshoes says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:55am

The first screen is chopped off in fullscreen mode. I had trouble moving the character the way that I wanted it. Great idea but I felt that I could just jump around and I would eventually get to the exit anyway.

Nights57 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:56am

The jumping was a bit off, you could slide up and over any obstacle. Like previously mentioned, I also had to do some resolution fiddling to get everything to show properly. That said, the game looked very pretty, and the menus even looked pretty polished. Keep making games!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:16am

Great use of the theme! I could still see everything after the blackout from the green light. I was expecting to have to memorize the level and do it in the dark :P

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:45am

Congrats on finishing your first game! It feels great, doesn't it? I liked the graphics and Splinter Cell-like vibe. You have a good idea, try to polish it. The jump sound was kinda weird. Seemed like the character was in pain lol

koe415 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:09am

Like others have said, the display mode kind of cut off portions of the game unless you select a specific one. Your game has nice graphics and lighting but I felt the main character's movement seemed off. My character would take off when touching some boxes while he would get stuff in others. I guess this is all stuff you could have easily handled with more time. Good submission overall. Congrats on your first completed LD! This was mine first time as well!

marccspro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:19am

Thanks for all the comments and support ! If the graphics are good it's because Unity is pretty good but I didn't took long to do them. For the lights after the blackout, I didn't want the game to be to hard so that is why :)

Mago says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:11pm

besides some resolutions and controls errors very good first submission. Keep making games and see you in next LD

Skye says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:07am

this was cool

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 5:32am

There is a lot of place for improvements but hey we all have to begin with something and there it is ! Good job for a first try, keep it up !

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:48am

Nice job. Seemed a bit too easy since you could still see fairly well in the dark and didn't seem to be able to lose, but still good. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with for the next LD!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]