August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Slime Arena

by TomCooper3D - Jam Entry

Level up every 10 seconds!
Fresh wave of baddies every 10 seconds!
allocate skill points into your items for increasing power!
what items will you use?
how will you spec them?
can you even win?
This is our first time entering the Ludum Dare and it was an almost completely sleepless weekend trying to get this thing right. We had some doubts about getting it done, but seeing all the submissions kept us motivated to have something awesome to submit.
thanks all and Enjoy!

Software:

Unity 4.2
visual studio
photoshop
Zbrush
sculptris
topogun
cinema 4d
3d studio max
BFXR

@TomCooper3D @kenruze
---CONTROLS---
WASD...............Movement
mouse..............Aim
left/right click....Pickup/Attack
"Q".................Level up left
"E".................Level up right

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#73Fun(Jam)3.53
#126Overall(Jam)3.48
#235Graphics(Jam)3.48
#236Mood(Jam)3.07
#269Audio(Jam)2.90
#298Innovation(Jam)2.97
#311Theme(Jam)3.03
#328Humor(Jam)2.28

Comments

roaet says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:07am

I wish I had a right click on this maaaacc

EmptyFlash says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:09am

Really solid game. I like being able to have two spells, and the controls are prefect for this style of game.

Skye says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:24am

oh goodness this game is fun

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:32am

Really addictive gameplay. Game looks similar to our game. But I like your implementation very much. Actually, great job!

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:34am

This is really fun! like the graphics and different equips. you got a lot done.

rylgh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:56am

Cool :)
Got to Day 16

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:03am

This is a great entry!

sev_inf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:09am

Wow! Very cool graphics/music and very addictive gameplay!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:09am

Great stuff, there's a whole lot of game here for a weekend's work. Nicely done guys.

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:24am

I like your control scheme in terms of holding ans using items with left and right clicks. I thought walking around could be improved a little. Still solid stuff! great work!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:25am

Solid game. :-)

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:31am

The two-item system is a great way of basically selecting a type of character to play...

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:38am

Very cool polished little game! Beautiful graphics (I love the sword swipe trail). Nice player choices available.

I kinda wish I saw damage numbers popping up when I hit something or health bars maybe? It's hard to tell how effective my weapons are otherwise. (Is my level 4 sword better than my level 6 magic book?)

Overall great work!

epiplon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:42am

THIS GAME IS AWESOME!
Go with a sword and mage skills and you're done.
And I hate those yellow blobs, they run faster than you. I must admit that they are the only that makes it a hard game.

I reached about day 33. What do you think on scoring systems, multiplayer mode and polishing? Can be a true product someday.

yetatore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:44am

Weell!! I like the concept of open beat'em up, the graphics, audio & programing looks fine... But the general bizarre humor that have this game, is the best part of it.
I make a Programmer Fan Art for your game, enjoy:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/26/time-slime-arena-fan-art/

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:59am

Thank you all so much for the kind comments I'm glad you are all liking it so much. We put a lot of hard work into it this means a lot

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:04am

@epiplon we were going to implement a better score system next but we just ran out of time we were lucky to squeeze in score by days lived in at the home stretch. Ill keep posting about any updates to the game that we might add after LD27 on our twitter @tomcooper3d @kenruze

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:51am

A good top-down brawler. I problen on the web version is the loading time.If this wasn't a ludum dare, I would have been frustated and have just left.

Darien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:55am

Pretty fun; looks great. The music is a bit out of place, though, for a game about fighting slimes in a crypt. Also: are the blue blobs immune to sword? I never managed to kill one.

Andrewves says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:21am

Great game, i had to play it a couple times to get the hang of it but had good fun.

grozamorei says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:57am

game is great!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Fun game, great concept. :)

Ghostik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Really nice concept! I enjoyed this one

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:55pm

5/5 on all accounts. loved this game!

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Great job guys! The two controls worked well, as with leveling them up. And having 4 options was cool too for abilities to mix it up. Really impressed!

I know how much work something like this is, so I doubt you had time to add much more. But some suggestions would be maybe health power ups to heal you and maybe another enemy type or like a boss after so many waves.

Fun game! Will you be making the source code available?

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:51pm

What an awesome idea! Very, very fun game.

DoubleS says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Great game! Graphics and audio are great

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:55pm

good job

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:25pm

jeez, that was really neat. would have been cool to know what each item did beforehand, but other then that, fun game.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Good idea but you should look into the balancing. I leveled the book from the very beginning and by level 20 I was basically untouchable. Ended up making it to level 56 because I started moving around too much and getting cocky haha

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:54pm

yeah basically this game is really unbalanced due to the time constraints. we will polish this project more for sure but it would be unfair to keep working on it after LD deadline

fgielow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Nice game play, controls and graphics. Well executed idea.

SayersLabs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Really fun game, and good idea for the theme.

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:56pm

nice idea - a bit too hard for me ;-)

villhest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Excellent!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:37pm

This game told me I was good at it, which made me feel good about myself. 10/10.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:50pm

made it to lvl 5, pretty great.
loved the shadows and style and controls

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:02am

Some good action. Well done!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:22am

The controls were tight, the music was great and the graphics were nice. Very good!

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:55am

Fun little game. The spell is so good I never even used the melee.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:45am

This game is addicting!
Love the effects each weapon has. I'm amazed by the amount of work you guys put in.

Great job on this!

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:31am

Really liked it and very impressive for 3 days. With a bit more work on the graphics it would be awesome!

recursor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Those stinking yellow slimes were the cause of my demise in the end. They were just too fast for me.

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:33pm

"Hoooo come here cute little blob! You want a hug? is that your big brothAAARGGGGGGGH"
*You have died*
:))

ben says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:27pm

I love the simplicity. Perfect feel for the fast addictive gameplay

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Fun game! Good work!

Volute says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Great take on the theme, very well thought

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:10pm

There is a lot of content in this and it's very nicely balanced. A really fun entry with a slick visual style (the background and lighting in particular). Good work!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Really glad I played this one! Love the graphics, weapon options, fighting, etc. etc. Awesome!

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:57pm

I absolutely love the way you're giving me the choice of what to use and to try it out at the same time. And with which mouse button. And fully ingame. Seriously, that's some great integration there that I've never quite seen like this before.

The gameplay itself is fun, but after a few days it degraded (at least for me) mostly to running away - which is a pity!

The graphics are great - I like the dark/night lighting. The character design for the main hero is really cool, and the attack animations (especially the sword) works out really well. Walking animations would've been great, but I guess that's really hard to do if you can walk in any direction while facing any direction...

The controls are perfect. The music is okay, but it think it could fit better. The sound effects work.

All in all, a pretty solid game!

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:33pm

I like how you get to pick your own weapons, and how there's a nice variety to them.

I also like the skull that appears as you lose health. Nice presentation!

Static 64 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:19pm

This has a great style and is really fun to play. I made it to day 10 with a sword and shield. Really fun.

darkshadow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Duo control system is a great innovation, I like how you can mix and match items and all have their uses. Going all mange is quite fun shooting fireballs and the defensive spell is great pushing you away from danger AND freezing the enemy! Graphic and map are nice, music is nice although out of theme with the rest of the setting. If you do a post comp version a walk animation for the guy would be an idea.

schnerble says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Great work! Very cool - it's a nice all-round effort, and I'm glad you finished it :) It does get very hard very quickly, though!

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:06pm

That was a lot of fun!
I didn't see the first time that you can upgrades your objects.
I hate the small yellow ones they are too fast for me.

Neil says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Nice controls, like how you mapped the items to the mouse clicks. Impressive and nicely polished!

graytest says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Fun game. I'll probably play a few more times when I have a real mouse connected to my laptop.

Erhune says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:49am

Very nice concept and realization!

Once you get your magic level 40+ it's quite difficult to die, though :p

MinionStudios says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Excellent and impressive game, full of great features!

bvanschooten says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:24pm

The game feels very complete. The items and the left-right click control scheme work well, although I did get a sore finger from too much clicking at some point. This would be even greater with multiple levels (say, you enter a new room after level 40).

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:03pm

crazy difficult but very fun! and the artstyle is great!

Linusson says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 10:47am

Really hard and fun game. I liked the double weapon/attack system. :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]