August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Seconds

by kevinAlbs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a chef serving a table of 10. They all order seconds. You control the chef's brain in order for him to make the 10 seconds.

Basic gameplay works. I wanted to add sounds but did not have time.

I tested this in Chrome on Windows.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#79Humor3.50
#165Theme3.64
#353Innovation3.25
#439Fun3.06
#529Overall3.08
#680Mood2.57
#819Audio1.96
#1082Graphics1.94

Comments

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43am

Its a very lovely simple game, I would love to see you work on the graphics at a later date :)

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56am

Haha thank you. Yes, the graphics will certainly need to be improved at some point.

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:04am

Love the play on words with the theme. The writing was also great. Actual laughter was produced when I had to 'prepare the duck' but failed, and then I failed to prepare the veggies for the duck, and yet somehow the customer loved his dish because I got enough of the other steps right to make him forget that his plate had no duck or veggies on it.

The actual gameplay part of it was pretty well done (get it?), with a pretty decent difficulty curve and tight, responsive controls, but some of even the later puzzles could be solved by waiting around near the spawn for the green circle to come close. There was at least one instance where it seemed to be impossible to reach the goal in 10 seconds, but with the scoring being as forgiving as it is (who needs food when you've done such a lovely job turning on the stove and heating up the oil?) it didn't bother me much.

Could have desperately used some sound and music, even something really basic would have sufficed (and probably matched the art style as well). Also would have liked to see a list of how many of the customers were satisfied at the end of the game in addition to the points total, to keep the personality that is so strong in the game alive in the endgame.

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08am

@Dooleus Thanks for taking the time to play and review it. I also noticed that many stages could be completed by waiting, so I may change the gameplay to have the green receptor stationary. I also intended on adding sound but did not have time. Thanks for the feedback.

Baknik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21am

Simple, and the controls were satisfying.

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:22am

Obviously, that's why I fail in culinary.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:15am

Genius! Apart from the visuals it's near perfection. The cooking meta-story is brilliant. The game proper got a little monotonous after the first 2-3 levels, though, because you get used to the controls and the red circles aren't much of an obstacle.

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:15am

Interesting game. It works, but it gets repetitive real fast. Maybe there are too many levels for each "second"?

-> Maybe adding a progress bar would make the game seem to be "moving on"?

-> Maybe adding a few more enemies to enhance variety?

Thanks for the game, and here is a video review: http://youtu.be/IlPGVu7RmME

wrongcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Funny. Pretty smooth controls, well done. If there's anything, it would be that the green circle on the pink background is a bit low contrast for me.

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Fun little game :) Very simple game play mechanics, easy to figure out and addictive once you get into it. Very well done! Also love the creative take on the theme :D Very nice indeed!

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Poor duck.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:44pm

This took me by surprised, very satisfying in places and enjoyed playing this. Rated highly. :D

Latcarf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Pretty good, but way too repetitive. Having 100 almost identical levels is too much.

Andrew says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:42pm

By far the best use of the theme I've seen so far. Bonus points for the funny text. Looking forward to the cookbook.

YarharALC says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:58am

I love how it took itself overly seriously on the first round, then takes a hilarious turn from there. By the way, I'm a gay fish apparently.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:15pm

nice little game, not pretentious and that's why it's good. Very nice use of the theme.

Taiters says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:17pm

This game's awesome! I love the "Suggested Music" and some of the messages like "You cut off your hand" etc. And it was also a pretty cool idea. The one thing that bugged me was when the goal would move through walls, which made it pretty hard in later levels. But that's probably me just being lazy.

proc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Do you find it harder to serve food rather than cook it? For myself, putting out the condiments has never been so frustrating. But I at least felt epic with your music suggestion. Smooth controls, good humour.

dkilford says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Solid effort. A controls scheme at the start would have helped initially. Some more variation in levels/level themes or mechanics would have helped keep it exciting for longer.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Very clever on various levels! While I have seen this interpretation of the theme several times, the way you used it alongside the standard "10 seconds timer" was really nice. You could have stopped at "you have ten seconds to get to the green circle", but that extra context gave a great deal of appeal to your game. I also liked the visual representation of time ticking as your "neuron" grew smaller, nice touch. The gameplay itself was really addicting, fast-paced yet you had to think and anticipate since the receptors moved through the walls. Really well made, and funny writing to boot!

Jayjay says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:11am

Very fun to play and fits the theme perfectly, good game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]