August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tower Escape

by Serishmus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Edit: Web version added! Finally resolved the issue I was having that was stopping it from being portable.

The Web version should be the easiest to access.

If you download it, Open /bin/index.html in Firefox and it should work.
Updated because previous version was missing a couple files apparently (oops).

Otherwise you might have to go here: http://www.adobe.com/support/flashplayer/downloads.html
and download the Windows Flash Player 11.8 Projector (EXE, 9.72MB).

Sorry I don't have a website set up for this, it was a last minute entry!

Instructions: you have 10 seconds to escape each level.

The source is included in the Windows

Changed to dropbox because Google is silly about making accounts.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#851Innovation2.56
#871Audio1.77
#890Fun2.50
#937Theme2.69
#986Mood2.06
#1075Graphics1.96
#1079Overall2.41
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

rejome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:46pm

I was not able to run it... Did you forgot some files (js) ?

Serishmus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:08am

I added a couple missing files, hopefully it works in firefox now.

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:41am

Google wants me to register, sorry.

ghostonline says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:43am

Opening the game in Chrome results in a black screen. Investigating the swf with the Flash Projector yields the following error: "SecurityError: Error #2148: SWF file file:///[path-to-folder]/towerescape/bin/10seconds.swf cannot access local resource file:///[path-to-folder]/towerescape/assets/levels/1.txt. Only local-with-filesystem and trusted local SWF files may access local resources.". Perhaps you missed a compiler switch?

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:38pm

It's working on Linux/firefox at least for me now. I almost had a heartattack when the "sssh-sssh-sssh" sound came out without any warning... :-)

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Just a grey screen for me, tried opening the html page and the .swf

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:45pm

I thought it was a cool idea. It definitely scared me the first time the building floor exploded. I wished it was a little bit harder. I won my first try and pretty easily.

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:14am

Really awesome style, reminds me of Chip's Challenge!

I think I got really lucky first time round though, I managed to complete it without going in the wrong stairs at all :p .

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:34am

The graphics and music were OK, but the idea was cool. With more obstacles, this would make a great game.

jwolf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:41am

It could use something...more, but it's still pretty fun and an interesting concept!

(Web version worked fine on my end--Win7 and Firefox. These things can be difficult to debug...)

Serishmus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:14am

The web version should work without any problems - let me know if it's inaccessible to anyone.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:25am

It was a little confusing, but good.

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:06am

Straight to the point, I liked the small mazes but it could be a little harder, took me really some seconds to finish it xD

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:58am

Neat idea. More floors would be great.

Linusson says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:03pm

I think I accidently took the shortest route the first time. :D

A good basic idea. More levels / a longer level would have been nice. :)

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I really like he premise of having to hurriedly race downstairs as the building explodes!
It has nice potential to become a bigger project :)

Endurion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Worked fine in IE.

Solved it on my first try. Was kinda scared about the exploding part, the only sound in there :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:47am

Great idea! Good level design! Nice style! I like it!

dook says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Not bad :) A fun idea.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Sweet, but a little short and easy, found a few ways to finish it though, which made it more fun!

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:03pm

The sound effect for the building breaking was a bit harsh.. I liked the approach of using levels as linked mazes, but it wasn't utilised much and the game was fairly easy.. There was no performance issue for me

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Fun game. I wish there was a way to reason where to go rather than just trying different doors. Also more levels would be nice but a great idea! I'd love to play a more polished version of this :) keep up the good work!

jomomomo says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:14pm

I escaped! Nice attempt, though would like to see more randomized levels.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]